

GOVERNING BOARD AGENDA ITEM AMPHITHEATER UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 10

DATE OF MEETING: APRIL 8, 2014

TITLE: Recognition of National Merit Finalists

BACKGROUND:

Each year, students across the country compete to become National Merit Scholarship Finalists. Of the 1.5 million entrants, some 50,000 with the highest PSAT/NMSQT® (Pre-Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test) Selection Index scores (critical reading + mathematics + writing skills scores) qualify for recognition in the National Merit® Scholarship Program. Fifteen thousand of those students are notified by mail that they are Semifinalists. They then advance to Finalist standing.

All winners of Merit Scholarship® awards are chosen from the Finalist group, based on their abilities, skills, and accomplishments – without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference. A variety of information is available for National Merit Scholarship selectors to evaluate: the Finalist's academic record, information about the school's curricula and grading system, test scores, the high school official's written recommendation, information about the student's activities and leadership, and the Finalist's own essay National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) notifies approximately 8,300 Finalists that they have been selected to receive a Merit Scholarship® award. Merit Scholarship awards are of three types:

National Merit® \$2500 Scholarships Every Finalist competes for these single payment scholarships, which are awarded on a state representational basis. Winners are selected without consideration of family financial circumstances, college choice, or major and career plans.

Corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards Corporate sponsors designate their awards for children of their employees or members, for residents of a community where a company has operations, or for Finalists with career plans the sponsor wishes to encourage. These scholarships may either be renewable for four years of undergraduate study or one-time awards.

College-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards Officials of each sponsor college select winners of their awards from Finalists who have been accepted for admission and have informed NMSC that the sponsor college or university is their first choice. These awards are renewable for up to four years of undergraduate study. Merit Scholarship awards are supported by some 440 independent sponsors and by NMSC's own funds. Sponsor organizations include corporations and businesses, company foundations, professional associations, and colleges and universities.

Amphitheater Public Schools is proud to announce eight Finalists in the National Merit Scholarship program. They are: Julia Finfrock, Leo Hamerlynck, Scott Mahan, and Haley Petersen from IRHS; and, Evan Cramb, Rebecca Gosla, Abagail O'Conner, and Jacob Stockton from CDO.

We are very proud of their accomplishments!

RECOMMENDATION:

The administration recommends that the Board recognize and honor our eight National Merit Finalists.

INITIATED BY: mindy Bleke

Mindy Blake, Director of Community Relations

Date: March 31, 2014

Patrick nelson

Patrick Nelson, Superintendent