# GENEVA COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER 304 227 NORTH FOURTH STREET, GENEVA, ILLINOIS RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS OF A SPECIAL SESSION OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION

The Board of Education of Community Unit School District Number 304 met in a special session on Monday, May 6, 2013, at 6:00 p.m. at Williamsburg Elementary School, 1812 Williamsburg Avenue, Geneva, Illinois.

### 1. CALL TO ORDER

- 1.1 Roll Call
- 1.2 Welcome
- 1.3 Pledge
- 1.4 Reminder to sign attendance sheet

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by President Grosso.

Board members present: President Mark Grosso, Mike McCormick, Vice President Kelly Nowak, Policy Committee Chair Mary Stith, Finance Committee Chair Bill Wilson. Late: None. Absent: Matt Henry, Tim Moran.

The President welcomed everyone and led them in the Pledge.

District administrators present: Dr. Kent Mutchler, Superintendent

Others present: Matt Lamb, Julie Lamb, Dave Lamb, Leslie Juby, Connie Wilson, Evan Anast, Sophia Anast, Tom Anderson.

#### 2. PUBLIC COMMENTS

None.

### 3. BOARD OF EDUCATION REORGANIZATION

3.1 Accept Kane County Clerk's Abstract of Votes for the April 9, 2013, Election of Members for the Board of Education

The Abstract of Votes reported that votes for members of the Board of Education for Geneva Community Unit School District 304 were are follows: Mark Grosso 2455; David Joseph Lamb 1916; William R. Wilson, 1519; Daniel J. Garrett, 1501; Robert L. Cabeen 1126; Jeffrey K. DiOrio 1408; Fred A. Dresser 1374; Leslie N. Juby 1609.

Motion by Stith, second by McCormick, to accept the abstract of votes for the April 9, 2013 Election of members for the board of education, as presented. On roll call, Ayes, five (5), McCormick, Nowak, Stith, Wilson, Grosso. Nays, none (0). Motion carried unanimously.

Mark Grosso, Leslie Juby, Dave Lamb and Bill Wilson having received the highest number of votes will fill the four, four-year terms that were up for election.

## 3.2 Oath of Office and Seating of New Board Members

The Vice President administered the Oath of Office to newly elected members Grosso, Juby, Lamb, and Wilson. Following the oath, the newly elected members were welcomed and took their places at the Board table.

### 3.3 Election of Officers

Current President Grosso appointed Vice President Nowak to serve as the president pro tempore until the board elects a permanent president.

The president pro tempore explained the process for nominations and voting. Any member can make a nomination, including self-nominations. Nominations do not require a second. Election of an officer requires a majority of those voting. Voting occurs during an open meeting and must not be by secret ballot. Voting can be by a show of hands, or a voice vote in which each member has an opportunity to vote "yes" or "no" for the nominated candidate. If two or more members are nominated for an office, the member receiving a majority of the votes cast is

elected. She asked if the members wanted a show of hands or a roll call voice vote. It was the unanimous consensus of the members to use a roll call voice vote.

For the office of president, Wilson nominated Grosso. There were no other nominations. On roll call, Ayes, seven (7), Juby, Lamb, McCormick, Nowak, Stith, Wilson, Grosso. Nays, none (0). Grosso was unanimously elected to serve as president and assumed the position and continued the election process for the remaining offices of the board.

For the office of vice president, Grosso nominated Nowak. There were no other nominations. On roll call, Ayes, seven (7), Lamb, McCormick, Nowak, Stith, Wilson, Juby, Grosso. Nays, none (0). Nowak was unanimously elected to serve as vice president.

The President noted that traditionally, the Superintendent has served as Secretary to the Board and the Assistant Superintendent of Business Services has served as Treasurer.

For the office of secretary, Nowak nominated Superintendent Mutchler. There were no other nominations. On roll call, Ayes, seven (7), McCormick, Nowak, Stith, Wilson, Juby, Lamb, Grosso. Nays, none (0). Superintendent Mutchler was unanimously elected to serve as the board secretary.

For the office of treasurer, Stith nominated Assistant Superintendent Oberg. There were no other nominations. On roll call, Ayes, seven (7), Nowak, Stith, Wilson, Juby, Lamb, McCormick, Grosso. Nays, none (0). Assistant Superintendent Oberg was unanimously elected to serve as treasurer.

### 3.4 Adopt 2013-2014 Board Meeting Calendar

Motion by Wilson, second by Nowak, to adopt the preliminary 2013-2014 meeting calendar draft, as presented. On roll call, Ayes, seven (7), Stith, Wilson, Juby, Lamb, McCormick, Nowak, Grosso. Nays, none (0). Motion carried unanimously.

It was noted that the meeting calendar may be amended to add or change meeting dates as appropriate and that board members should keep Monday nights open to accommodate changes or the need for special meetings.

### 3.5 Review Committee & Liaison Assignments

The list of board liaison and committee assignments was reviewed and updated as follows: Joint PTO Council - Nowak & Stith; PTO - All; Geneva Academic Foundation - Lamb & Stith; Geneva All-sports Boosters - Lamb & Nowak; GHS Theater Boosters - McCormick & Stith; Geneva Music Boosters - Lamb; GEARS - McCormick & Nowak; K-12 Discipline Committee - Grosso & McCormick; Geneva Coalition for Youth - Stith; PRIDE - Nowak & Stith; FOX Valley Career Center Vocational Representative - Wilson; Legislative/IASB Liaison - Nowak (voting delegate); IASB Kishwaukee Governing Board Representative - Nowak & Stith; Superintendent's Boundary Task Force - Grosso & Wilson; Superintendent's Communications Task Force - Nowak & Stith; Superintendent's Facilities Task Force - Grosso & McCormick; Financial Advisory Committee - Lamb, Nowak & Wilson; Policy Committee - Juby, McCormick & Stith; REMS Grant Advisory Board - Grosso.

### 4. ADJOURNMENT

At 6:22 p.m., motion by Wilson, second by Juby, and with unanimous consent, the meeting was adjourned.

APPROVED	PRESIDENT
SECRETARY	RECORDING SECRETARY