MINUTES BEEVILLE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT FEBRUARY 20, 2007

A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BEEVILLE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES WAS CALLED TO ORDER IN THE BOARD ROOM OF THE ADMINISTRATION OFFICES AT 6:00 P.M. BY PRESIDENT NICK CARDENAS. OTHER MEMBERS PRESENT WERE TIM FITCH, LAURA FISCHER, VELMA ELIZALDE, AND JOHN FISH. OTHERS PRESENT WERE SUPERINTENDENT, DR. JOHN HARDWICK; DEPUTY SUPERINTENDENT, ERASMO RODRIGUEZ; EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR FOR FINANCE, LINDA O'CONNELL; DIRECTOR FOR SPECIAL ED AND SPECIAL PROGRAMS, CINDY CLENDENNEN; MEMBERS OF THE STAFF, FACULTY, AND GUESTS.

TOM BEASLEY ARRIVED AT 6:05 P.M. ART GAMEZ WAS ABSENT.

MORENO JUNIOR HIGH STUDENTS CONDUCTED THE PRESENTATION OF COLORS/PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE AND PRAYER.

THE BOARD RECOGNIZED THE 2007 TEXAS ALL-STATE MIXED CHOIR AND THE 2006 FOOTBALL BI-DISTRICT CHAMPIONS.

NICK CARDENAS WELCOMED THE VISITORS AND ASKED FOR COMMENTS. NO COMMENTS WERE MADE.

CINDY CLENDENNEN AND MARTHA MALEY GAVE A PRESENTATION ON THE PEP PROGRAM.

LAURA FISCHER MADE THE MOTION TO APPROVE ITEMS "A, B, AND D" ON THE CONSENT AGENDA. THE MOTION WAS SECONDED BY TIM FITCH AND CARRIED BY UNANIMOUS VOTE. THE FOLLOWING ITEMS WERE APPROVED:

- A. JANUARY 16, 2007 REGULAR BOARD MEETING MINUTES; JANUARY 23, 2007 AND FEBRUARY 8, 2007 SPECIAL BOARD MEETING MINUTES
- B. JANUARY 2007 MONTHLY EXPENDITURES
- D. TAX SALE PROPERTY

AFTER DISCUSSION, LAURA FISCHER MADE THE MOTION TO APPROVE ITEM "C-PROPERTY INSURANCE RENEWAL" ON THE CONSENT AGENDA. THE MOTION WAS SECONDED BY VELMA ELIZALDE AND CARRIED BY UNANIMOUS VOTE.

AFTER FURTHER DISCUSSION, LAURA FISCHER MADE THE MOTION TO APPROVE ITEM "E- UPDATE 79" ON THE CONSENT AGENDA. THE MOTION WAS SECONDED BY VELMA ELIZALDE AND CARRIED BY UNANIMOUS VOTE.

LINDA O'CONNELL PRESENTED THE BUSINESS OFFICE REPORT.

ERASMO RODRIGUEZ PRESENTED THE FOOD SERVICE REPORT.

LRC PRINCIPAL DEEDEE BERNAL INFORMED THE BOARD ON THE TEXAS EDUCATOR EXCELLENCE GRANT REGARDING HER CAMPUS.

DR. HARDWICK DISCUSSED THE CAMPUS MID-TERM INSTRUCTIONAL NEEDS AND GAVE AN UPDATE ON THE MASTER PLAN IMPLEMENTATION.

TIM FITCH MADE THE MOTION TO APPROVE AUTHORIZATION TO SELL SURPLUS PROPERTY DURING THE FFA AUCTION/GARAGE SALE. THE MOTION WAS SECONDED BY VELMA ELIZALDE AND CARRIED BY UNANIMOUS VOTE.

LAURA FISCHER MADE THE MOTION TO RESERVE THE FUNDS DETERMINED BY THE FINANCIAL AUDIT TO HELP ADDRESS POTENTIAL BUDGET CHALLENGES FOR 2007-2008 INCLUDING STAFF RAISES. THE MOTION WAS SECONDED BY JOHN FISH AND CARRIED BY UNANIMOUS VOTE.

LAURA FISCHER MADE THE MOTION THAT A TRUSTEE ELECTION BE CALLED FOR SATURDAY, MAY 12, 2007, FOR THE PURPOSE OF ELECTING ONE (1) TRUSTEE BY A PLURALITY OF VOTES FROM SUB-DISTRICT I, AND ELECTING ONE (1) TRUSTEE BY PLURALITY OF VOTES FROM SUB-DISTRICT II OF THE BEEVILLE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT. THE MOTION WAS SECONDED BY TOM BEASLEY AND CARRIED BY UNANIMOUS VOTE.

TIM FITCH MADE THE MOTION THAT THE ORDER OF ELECTION CONTAIN THE FOLLOWING:

- A. SUB-DISTRICT I WILL CONSIST OF ALL OR PART OF BEE COUNTY VOTING PRECINCT NUMBERS 1, 3, 8, 16, AND 18;
- B. SUB-DISTRICT II WILL CONSIST OF ALL OR PART OF BEE COUNTY VOTING PRECINCT NUMBERS 6, 9, 10, 13, 17, AND 19;
- C. THE POLLING LOCATIONS FOR EARLY VOTING WILL BE OPEN MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY FROM 8:00 A.M. TO 4:30 P.M.;
- D. THE BALLOT POSITION DRAWING WILL BE MARCH 13, 2007.

THE MOTION WAS SECONDED BY JOHN FISH AND CARRIED BY UNANIMOUS VOTE.

VELMA ELIZALDE MADE THE MOTION THAT THE DESIGNATED POLLING PLACE FOR SUB-DISTRICT I BE THE LECTURE HALL AT A.C. JONES HIGH SCHOOL, 1900 NORTH ADAMS. THE POLLING PLACE FOR SUB-DISTRICT II WILL BE THE LIBRARY AT MORENO JUNIOR HIGH SCHOOL, 301 NORTH MINNESOTA. THE POLLING PLACE FOR EARLY VOTING FOR SUB-DISTRICT I WILL BE THE RECEPTION AREA OF THE BEEVILLE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT ADMINISTRATION BUILDING, 2400 NORTH ST. MARY'S STREET AND FOR SUB-DISTRICT II THE EARLY VOTING POLLING PLACE WILL BE THE LIBRARY OF THE MORENO JUNIOR HIGH SCHOOL, 301 NORTH MINNESOTA. THE MOTION WAS SECONDED BY NICK CARDENAS AND CARRIED BY UNANIMOUS VOTE.

TOM BEASLEY MADE THE MOTION THAT THE JUDGES AND ASSISTANT JUDGES AT THE DESIGNATED POLLING PLACES BE APPROVED AS FOLLOWS:

SUB-DISTRICT I A.C. JONES HIGH SCHOOL

*MR. ROBERT FLORES --- JUDGE MRS. KAY MIX --- ASSISTANT JUDGE

*OFFICIALS CONDUCTING ELECTION AT SUB-DISTRICT I
WILL SERVE AS THE EARLY VOTING BALLOT BOARD

SUB-DISTRICT II MORENO JUNIOR HIGH SCHOOL

MR. JOHN MARK SILVA --- JUDGE MR. JOE GOMEZ --- ASSISTANT JUDGE

EARLY VOTING BEEVILLE I.S.D. ADMINISTRATIVE BUILDING MORENO JUNIOR HIGH SCHOOL

MRS. CAMILLA LOPEZ --- EARLY VOTING CLERK
MRS. JANIE VASQUEZ --- DEPUTY EARLY VOTING CLERK SUB-DISTRICT I
MRS. RITA SAN MIGUEL --- DEPUTY EARLY VOTING CLERK- SUB DISTRICT II

THE MOTION WAS SECONDED BY VELMA ELIZALDE AND CARRIED BY UNANIMOUS VOTE.

JOHN FISH MADE THE MOTION THAT EACH ELECTION JUDGE BE AUTHORIZED TO ENGAGE CLERKS UP TO A MAXIMUM OF SIX (6) FOR EACH POLLING PLACE AT THE RATE OF \$8.00 PER HOUR AND THAT EARLY VOTING BE CONDUCTED WITH DESIGNATED ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF SERVING AS EARLY VOTING CLERKS. THE MOTION WAS SECONDED BY LAURA FISCHER AND CARRIED BY UNANIMOUS VOTE.

NICK CARDENAS ANNOUNCED THE ACCUMULATIVE TRAINING HOURS FOR EACH BOARD MEMBER.

CLOSED SESSION AS AUTHORIZED BY TEXAS OPEN MEETINGS ACT, TEXAS GOVERNMENT CODE SECTIONS 551.071, 551.074, AND 551.082 TO CONSIDER AND DISCUSS PURCHASE, EXCHANGE, LEASE, OR VALUE OF REAL PROPERTY; EMPLOYMENT OF PERSONNEL; AND PERSONNEL.

OPEN MEETING TO CONSIDER ACTION, DECISION, OR VOTE WITH REGARD TO CONSIDER AND DISCUSS PURCHASE, EXCHANGE, LEASE, OR VALUE OF REAL PROPERTY; EMPLOYMENT OF PERSONNEL; AND PERSONNEL.

LAURA FISCHER MADE THE MOTION TO APPROVE THE SUPERINTENDENT'S RECOMMENDATION TO AWARD NEW TWO-YEAR CONTRACTS TO ADMINISTRATORS AS LISTED ON THE PERSONNEL ACTION SHEET. THE MOTION WAS SECONDED BY VELMA ELIZALDE AND CARRIED BY UNANIMOUS VOTE.

THERE BEING NO FURTHER BUSINESS TO DISCUSS, THE MEETING ADJOURNED AT 8:53 P.M.

SECRETARY	-	PRESIDENT	

BEEVILLE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

PERSONNEL ACTION

FEBRUARY 20, 2007

CONTRACTS

The Superintendent recommends the following receive a new two year Administrator Term Contract:

CST	DIRECTORS	PRINCIPALS	ASST. PRINCIPALS
Mary C. Clendennen	Cynthia Flores	Belinda Aguirre	Deborah Del Bosque
Nancy Jones	Terry Greenup	Alcario Alvarado	Paul H. Looney
Linda O'Connell	Chris Soza	Joni Barber	Diann Petrus
Erasmo Rodriguez**		Dee Dee Bernal	Patrick Seals
		Jean Blankenship	Annette Sanchez
		Sarah Jaure	Robin Sellman
		Joe D. Reyes	
		Martina Villarreal	

^{**}Erasmo Rodriguez is with JR3