DRAFT

Minutes of the April 3, 2023 – School Board Workshop

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a workshop session on April 3, 2023 at 5:30 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by Vice President Anthony Hill.

Members present: David Caviness, President (arrived 6:09 p.m.); Anthony Hill, Vice President; Nichole Bentley, Secretary; Leigh Walker; Manish Sethi; and Jobby Mathew

Dr. Neena Biswas was absent.

A quorum was present.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant; Diana Sircar, Dr. Angie Brooks, Kristen Eichel, Dr. Dennis Womack, Angela Brown, Naveen Boppana; Greg Alexander, Kelly Mires and Rory Butkovich

Notice of this meeting was posted on March 31, 2023 at 3:00 p.m.

OPEN FORUM

No individuals addressed the Board of Trustees in Open Forum section of the meeting.

At 5:31 p.m., Vice President Hill declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under Texas Government Code, Section 551.074 - Personnel.

Vice President Hill declared the Board in Open Session at 5:47 p.m.

Nichole Bentley made a motion to authorize Dr. Brad Hunt, Coppell ISD Superintendent, or his designee, to submit a written complaint to the State Board of Educator Certification with a finding that good cause did not exist pursuant to section 21.210(c)(2) for Robert Hunter to abandon his employment contract with the district. The motion was seconded by Manish Sethi and passed 5-0.

A motion to approve the employment of professional personnel as recommended by the Superintendent was made by Manish Sethi and seconded by Leigh Walker. The motion passed 5-0.

WORK SESSION

Superintendent Brad Hunt provided an update on the Community Based Accountability System (CBAS). Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) representative Zachary Hobbs presented on the findings of a Salary Study. Prior to the final session the Board took a 5 minute recess and President Caviness call the meeting back into session at 7:34 p.m. Diana Sircar, Chief Financial Officer, completed the work session with a discussion regarding the 2023-2024 budget.

ADJOURNMENT

DRAFT

Manish Sethi made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Jobby Mathew seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0. The meeting was adjourned at 8:27 p.m.

David Caviness, Board President

Nichole Bentley, Secretary