Regular Meeting

Monday, May 12, 2025 6:00 PM

Early Childhood Entrance Foyer, Enter Door #1, 120 South Hawthorn Street, Royalton, MN 56373

Jon Andres: Present
Lucas Boyd: Present
Randy Hackett: Present
Rian Hofstad: Present
Ellie Holm: Present
Maria Traut: Present

Present: 6.

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Pledge to Flag
- 3. Roll Call
- 4. Board Chair Comments

Discussion: Chair Hofstad summarized the closed session from the previous meeting by sharing that negotiation strategy was discussed. In attendance in the closed session were: Heidi Hagen via Google Meet, Dr Kristine Wehrkamp Herman, David Lemm, Mandy Sadlo, Rian Hofstad, Ellie Holm, Lucas Boyd, Jon Andres, Randy Hackett, and Maria Traut.

5. Approval of Agenda

Approval of Agenda. This motion, made by Ellie Holm and seconded by Randy Hackett, Passed.

Voting Summary: Yea: 6, Nay: 0

6. Appreciation, Recognition and Presentations

- Royalton PTO for Playground Donation
- Teachers of Excellence
- Pillars of Excellence
- Students of Character
- Spring Students of the Month
- NHS Club Update
- Art Presentation

7. Recognition of Citizens for Input Purposes

8. Reports/News

- 8.a. Board Committee Report
- 8.b. Superintendent Report
- 8.c. Business Manager Report
- 8.d. Principal Report
- 8.e. Activities Director

9. Consent Agenda Approval

Approval of All Items on Consent Agenda. This motion, made by Ellie Holm and seconded by Lucas Boyd, Passed.

Voting Summary: Yea: 6, Nay: 0

- 9.a. Approval of Regular Board Meeting Minutes
- 9.b. Claims, Accounts and Financial
- 9.c. Approval of Resignation/Termination
- 9.d. Approval of New Hires

10. Discussion/Information/Action Items

10.a. Vote for Board Co-Chairs

Motion to approve Rian Hofstad and Ellie Holm as Co-chairs. This motion, made by Rian Hofstad and seconded by Lucas Boyd, Passed.

Voting Summary: Yea: 6, Nay: 0

10.b. Resolution of Board Co-Chairs

Motion to approve the resolution to have the option for Co-Chairs or Chair/Vice Chair. This motion, made by Maria Traut and seconded by Jon Andres, Passed.

Voting Detail:

Andres: Yea
Boyd: Yea
Hackett: Yea
Hofstad: Yea
Holm: Yea
Traut: Yea

Voting Summary: Yea: 6, Nay: 0

10.c. IOwA Resolution

Action(s):

Motion to approve Dr Kristine Wehrkamp Herman as IOwA. This motion, made by Randy Hackett and seconded by Rian Hofstad, Passed.

Voting Detail:

Andres: Yea
Boyd: Yea
Hackett: Yea
Hofstad: Yea
Holm: Yea
Traut: Yea

Voting Summary: Yea: 6, Nay: 0

- 10.d. FY26 Budget Presentation
- 10.e. Summer School Update
- 10.f. MOU with REM Regarding ECFE Teachers

Action(s):

Motion to approve ECFE MOU. This motion, made by Maria Traut and seconded by Jon Andres, Passed.

Voting Summary: Yea: 6, Nay: 0

10.g. Revisit SRO Discussion

Discussion: Work session set for Thursday, May 29th at 6pm for further discussion

10.h. Approval of Donations by Resolution

Action(s):

Motion to approve Donations by Resolution. This motion, made by Maria Traut and seconded by Ellie Holm, Passed.

Voting Detail:

Andres: Yea
Boyd: Yea
Hackett: Yea
Hofstad: Yea
Holm: Yea
Traut: Yea

Voting Summary: Yea: 6, Nay: 0

10.i. Policy Reading

10.i.1. First Policy Readings

- 10.i.2. Second Policy Reading
- 10.i.3. Second and Final Policy Reading

Motion to approve Policy 704. This motion, made by Maria Traut and seconded by Jon Andres, Passed.

Voting Summary: Yea: 6, Nay: 0

10.i.4. Approval of Third Policy Reading

Motion to approve Policy 522. This motion, made by Rian Hofstad and seconded by Randy Hackett, Passed.

Voting Summary: Yea: 6, Nay: 0

11. Upcoming Meeting Schedule

Corrections made to the dates on the agenda to:

May 21, 2025, Policy Committee at 2pm

May 28, 2025 , Finance Committee at 12pm

$12.\,\mathrm{Closed}$ Meeting to discuss Negotiation Strategies as permitted by Minn. Statute 13D.03

Action(s):

Motion to close the open meeting at 7:36 PM. This motion, made by Randy Hackett and seconded by Lucas Boyd, Passed.

=Voting Summary: Yea: 6, Nay: 0

With Subsidiary Motions:

Motion to open the closed meeting at 7:47 PM. This motion, made by Randy Hackett and seconded by Rian Hofstad, Passed.

Voting Summary: Yea: 6, Nay: 0

Motion to close the closed meeting at 8:27 PM. This motion, made by Maria Traut and seconded by Lucas Boyd, Passed.

Voting Summary: Yea: 6, Nay: 0

Motion to open the open meeting at 8:27 PM. This motion, made by Ellie Holm and seconded by Rian Hofstad, Passed.

Voting Summary: Yea: 6, Nay: 0

13. Adjournment

Action(s):

The meeting was adjourned at 8:28 PM. This motion, made by Ellie Holm and seconded by Jon Andres, Passed.

Voting Summary: Yea: 6, Nay: 0