MINUTES OF A SPECIAL BOARD MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION SCHOOL DISTRICT 152, COOK COUNTY, ILLINOIS, HELD ON WEDNESDAY, MAY 29, 2013 AT THE ADMIINSTRATIVE CENTER – 16001 Lincoln Harvey, Illinois 60426

The Special Board Meeting of the Board of Education was called to order by the President, Janet Rogers, at 5:10 P.M. on Wednesday, May 29, 2013. **CALL TO ORDER**

The following were present:

PRESENT: Ms. G. Johnson, B. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins, Mr. Robinson, Ms. Rogers **ROLL CALL**

ABSENT: Mr. Rogers, Dr. McCaskill

Other School Officials in attendance were:

PRESENT: Dr. Kevin J. Nohelty Assistant Superintendent of Business Operations & Human Relations Dr. Denean Adams, Superintendent Dr. Sophia Jones-Redmond Director of Special Services Johnnetta Miller Director of Teaching and Learning

Attorney Izzo present

Everyone stood for the Pledge of Allegiance.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

A motion was made by Ms. G. Johnson and seconded by Ms. Hawkins to approve the Agenda. Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins, Ms. B. Johnson, Mr. Robinson, Ms. Rogers

NAY: NONE

- ABSENT: Dr. McCaskill, Mr. Rogers
- 5 ayes, 2 absent Motion carried.

AGENDA APPROVED

A motion was made by Ms. Hawkins and and seconded by Ms. G. Johnson to go into executive Session at 5:12 P.M. to discuss Pending, employment, threatened or imminent litigation, performance or discipline of specific employee(s) dismissal, notice to remedy and collective negotiating matters. Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. B. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins, Mr. Rogers, Mr. Robinson, Mr. Rogers NAY: NONE ABSENT: Mr. Rogers, Dr. McCaskill

5 ayes, 2 absent – Motion carried.

Board Member, Tyrone Rogers entered Closed Session at 5:24 p.m.

A motion was made by Ms. Hawkins seconded by Mr. Rogers to return from executive Session at 7:24 P.M. Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. B. Johnson, Mr. Rogers, Ms. Hawkins, Mr. Robinson, Ms. Rogers NAY: None

ABSENT: Dr. McCaskill 6 ayes, 1 absent – Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Ms. B. Johnson to reject ALL asphalt Bids for Brooks Middle School Parking Lot. Roll call vote. AYE: Mr. Rogers, Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. B. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins, Mr. Robinson, Ms. Rogers NAY: NONE ABSENT: Dr. McCaskill 6 ayes, 1 absent – Motion carried.

GO INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION APPROVED

RETURN FROM EXECUTIVE SESSION APPROVED

REJECT ALL ASPHALT BIIDS APPROVED

A motion was made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Mr. Robinson to to put the Asphalt Bid back out for Brooks Middle School Parking Lot. Roll call vote. AYE: Mr. Rogers, Ms. G. Johnson,

Ms. B. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins, Mr. Robinson, Ms. Rogers NAY: NONE ABSENT: Dr. McCaskill 6 ayes, 1 absent – Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Ms. G. Johnson to approve the Facility Request for Cemcon to use Maya Angelou School. Roll call vote.

AYE: Mr. Rogers, Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. B. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins, Mr. Robinson, Ms. Rogers NAY: NONE ABSENT: Dr. McCaskill

6 ayes, 1 absent – Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Ms. G. Johnson to approve the Resolution for the Notice to Remedy for Teacher "A". Roll call vote.

AYE: Mr. Rogers, Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. B. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins, Mr. Robinson, Ms. Rogers
NAY: Mr. Robinson
ABSENT: Dr. McCaskill
5 ayes, 1 nay, 1 absent – Motion carried.

A motion was made by Ms. G. Johnson and seconded by Ms. G. Johnson to approve the School Maintenance Project Grant 2013. Rollcall vote. AYE: Mr. Rogers, Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. B. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins, Mr. Robinson, Ms. Rogers NAY: NONE ABSENT: Dr. McCaskill 6 ayes, 1 absent – Motion carried.

PUT BID BACK OUT FOR BROOKS MIDDLE SCHOOL PARKING LOT

CEMCON FACILITY REQUEST APPROVED

NOTICE TO REMEMDY FOR TEACHER "A" APPROVED

SCHOOL MAINTENANCE PROJECT GRANT 2013 APPROVED A motion was made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Ms. B. Johnson to the Recall(s) for Summer School only: Denise Brown; Valerie Sales; Pamela Porter; Adriana Carabajal; Desiree Cathey; Patricia Cook; Portia Webster; Candance Dortch; Georithya Hudson and Beverly Murray. Roll call vote.

AYE: Mr. Rogers, Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. B. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins, Mr. Robinson, Ms. Rogers NAY: NONE ABSENT: Dr. McCaskill

6 ayes, 1 absent – Motion carried.

President Rogers stated that the next Regular Board Meeting will be held Monday, June 17, 2013 at the Administrative Center

A motion was made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Ms. G. Johnson to adjourn at 7:30 p.m. Roll call vote. AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins, Ms. B. Johnson, Mr. Rogers, Mr. Robinson, Ms. Rogers NAY: NONE ABSENT: Dr. McCaskill 6 ayes, 1 absent – Motion carried. SUMMER SCHOOL RECALL(S) APPROVED

NEXT BOARD MEETING JUNE 17, 2013

ADJOURNMENT

Respectfully submitted, Secretary

Approved President