Board Recognition Feb. 13, 2024

Counseling Teams at Four Schools Earn Statewide Award for 13th Straight Year

Counseling teams from four schools were recipients of the Texas School Counselor Association's (TSCA) CREST Award, which annually recognizes the top counselors in the state.

Counselors at Shultz Elementary, Sam Houston Elementary, Rodriguez Middle School and Strickland Middle School received the prestigious honor — marking the 13th consecutive year that at least one Denton ISD campus has received a CREST award. The CREST Award was introduced by the Texas School Counselor Association in 2005 to recognize excellence in school counseling.

CREST stands for Counselors Reinforcing Excellence for Students in Texas and is a program focusing on 10 areas where school counselors have the greatest impact on the achievements, career aspirations, personal gains and social aspects of students' lives. The program helps counselors evaluate their current counseling guidelines and techniques while also promoting their services to students and parents.

The Rodriguez Middle School counseling staff consists of Stephani Mohon, Paige Darrah and Michael Rooney. Strickland Middle School's counseling staff consists of Kelli Hauser, Jennifer Brim and Mandy Barton. Sam Houston Elementary's counseling staff consists of Lacy Fraser, and Shultz Elementary's counseling staff consists of Amelia Torres.

The principal of Rodriguez Middle School is Carly Rogers, and Jeff Panter is the principal of Strickland Middle School. Tiffany Gonzalez is the principal of Sam Houston Elementary.

Community Spotlight

Each year, the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) honors businesses, organizations and individuals for their support and exceptional advocacy of public schools. This statewide honor, as part of "Stand Up for Texas Public Schools," recognizes local businesses and community organizations that partner with school districts, making a difference in the lives of public-school students.

Denton Vote Group is a local organization dedicated to promoting non-partisan voter registration and civic engagement. In addition, Denton Vote Group is also instrumental in helping educate the community about candidates, deadlines and where to vote.

Over the past year, Denton Vote Group has volunteered at each of Denton ISD's high school campuses, helping 18-year-old seniors at the LaGrone Academy, as well as Denton, Ryan, Braswell and Guyer High Schools register to vote while promoting civic engagement. In addition, Denton Vote Group also volunteered at both of Denton ISD's Back-to-School Fairs and the district's new hire event, providing information and voter registration assistance.

For the unique way Denton Vote Group has assisted our district, and for going above and beyond to assist our students and staff, we wish to thank Denton Vote Group for their continued support.

Members of Denton Vote Group in attendance to receive this recognition are Gary Massey, Mike Yager, Dicla Monterroso and Louise Griffith.

Board Spotlight

Michelle Duesman, an eighth-grade teacher at McMath Middle School, has been chosen as the Texas Council for the Social Studies (TXCSS) Outstanding Middle School Teacher of the Year.

Ms. Duesman was one of only six teachers statewide that received a recognition from TXCSS. The Outstanding Teacher of the Year award is given in recognition of active participation in local, state and national social studies councils, as well as outstanding social studies teaching at the elementary, middle and high school levels.

In addition to being a department head and instructional coach at McMath, Ms. Duesman is also an active member on the TXCSS curriculum writing team and supports social studies teachers at the school, district and state level.

Michelle Duesman will be in attendance to receive this recognition. The principal of McMath Middle School is Brett Moore.