Minutes of the May 24, 2021 - Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on May 24, 2021, at 6:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President Nichole Bentley.

Members present: Nichole Bentley, President; Leigh Walker, Vice President; Manish Sethi, Secretary; Anthony Hill; David Caviness (7:30 pm); Tracy Fisher and Dr. Neena Biswas.

A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on May 21, 2021 at 3:00 p.m.

NEW BUSINESS

On May 10, 2021, the Coppell ISD Board of Trustees adopted an Order Declaring Results of the Trustee General Election held on May 1, 2021. A Certificate of Election was issued to the newly elected trustees at that time.

Carol Snowden, Notary Public, administered the Officer's Statement and Oath of Office to the newly elected Board members: Nichole Bentley (Place 6) and Tracy Fisher (Place 7)

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant; Diana Sircar; Dr. Greg Axelson; Dr. Angie Applegate; Kristen Streeter; Kit Pehl, Gerry Miller; Dr. Deana Dynis; Angela Brown; James Hollaway; Adam Bennett and Amanda Simpson

At 6:05 p.m. President Bentley called the Board into Closed Session as authorized under Texas Government Code, Section 551.071 - Private Consultation with Board Attorney and Section 551.074 - Personnel Matters

President Bentley declared the Board in Open Session at 7:15 p.m.

Leigh Walker made a motion to approve Joseph Smith as the Principal of New Tech High @ Coppell as recommended by the superintendent. The motion was seconded by Anthony Hill and the motion passed 6-0.

DISTRICT HIGHLIGHTS

Superintendent Hunt provided the following District Highlights in Coppell ISD:

- Celebrating Asian/Pacific American Heritage Monday
- Coppell Student Media Yearbook and Sidekick National Recognition
- Cottonwood Creek, Richard J. Lee, Mockingbird and Town Center Elementary Designated as Project ADAM Heart Safe Schools

- School Nurse Day May 12, 2021
- CHS and New Tech Graduation
- Cowboys Baseball Team Playoff Run (Point of Privilege)

AWARDS

• Teachers of the Year

Nichole Bentley gave the invocation and led the Pledge.

OPEN FORUM

No one requested to address the Board during the Open Forum section of the agenda.

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS – SUPERINTENDENT

- 2021-2022 Back to School Updates Dr. Brad Hunt (Superintendent)
- Athletics and Fine Arts Update Kit Pehl (Athletic Director) and Gerry Miller (Coordinator of Fine Arts)
- Business Partnerships and Revenue Generation Angela Brown (Executive Director of Communications and Community Engagement)

CONSENT

David Caviness made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve the minutes of regular meeting held on April 26, 2021 and workshops held on May 3, 2021 and May 10, 2021
- 2. Approve Monthly Budget Amendments for May 2021
- 3. Approve Financial Report for April 2021
- 4. Approve the Resolution for Schools and Libraries Universal Services (E-Rate) for 2021-2022. This resolution authorizes filing of the Form 471 applications for funding year 2021-2022 and the payment of the applicant's share upon approval of funding and receipt of services
- 5. Award the RFP for Milk and Juice to the recommended supplier and the Groceries, Staples, and Disposable items to the recommended supplier for the Prospering Pals Food Purchasing Cooperative, and its Member Districts
- 6. Approve to rescind the Resolution previously passed by the Board on December 14, 2020 regarding continuation of certain emergency paid sick leave and expanded family and medical leave provisions of the Families First Coronavirus Response Act ("FFCRA") for eligible employees effective June 30, 2021
- 7. Approve an amendment to the 2020-2021 district pay plan to include the Performance Pay: Teacher Incentive Allotment (TIA). For any funds received by Coppell ISD for a designated teacher under the Teacher

Incentive Allotment (TIA), 90 percent will be paid to the designated teacher. The remaining 10 percent will be used for administrative expenses. Should the district receive funding for a designated teacher who has resigned or retired, the district will forward payment to the resigned or retired teacher as soon as practical

- 8. Approve Memorandum of Understanding regarding Dallas County Juvenile Justice Alternative Education Program (DCJJAEP)
- 9. Approve the employment of new professional personnel as recommended by the Superintendent

Manish Sethi seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

<u>ACTION</u>

Tracy Fisher made a motion to approve to submit a TEA waiver for CPR Instruction for the 2020-2021 school year. Anthony Hill seconded the motion and the motion passed 7-0.

The Board discussed continuing to provide a 3-minute allotment for speakers during Open Forum. The discussion also included continuing the procedure of allowing emailed written community comments during Open Session with re-evaluation in August.

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS – BOARD OF TRUSTEES

- Board Workshop Recap Nichole Bentley
- District Education Improvement Committee (DEIC), Coppell Chamber Committee, School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) Anthony Hill
- Return to School Task Force Update David Caviness
- A&M Commerce School Virtual Spring Workshop Manish Sethi
- Coppell Education Foundation Leigh Walker
- Legislative Update Tracy Fisher

At 10:47 p.m., President Bentley declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under Texas Government Code, Section 551.074 - Personnel Matters

President Bentley declared the Board in Open Session at 10:52 p.m.

President Bentley conducted the election of officers for the Board of Trustees.

David Caviness nominated to elect Nichole Bentley to the office of President of the Board of Trustee. The nomination was seconded by Anthony Hill and no other nominations were made. Nichole Bentley was elected to the office of President by a vote of 7-0.

Anthony Hill nominated to elect Leigh Walker to the office of Vice President of the Board of Trustees. The nomination was seconded by Manish Sethi and no other nominations were made. Leigh Walker was elected to the office of Vice President by a vote of 7-0.

Tracy Fisher nominated to elect Manish Sethi to the office of Secretary of the Board of Trustees. Anthony Hill seconded the nomination and no other nominations were made. Manish Sethi was elected to the office of Secretary by a vote of 7-0.

ADJOURNMENT

Manish Sethi made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

The meeting adjourned at 10:54 p.m.

Nichole Bentley, Board President

Manish Sethi, Secretary