AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, 7:00 P.M., February 15, 2005, with the following members:

Renda Berryhill Absent: Dr. Bill Rutherford Present:

> Butch Foreman Carol Gregg Floy Hinson Randy Rives Doyle Woodall

School Officials: Wendell Sollis, Bruce Revell, Raymond Starnes, Hector Mendez,

Dr. Donnie Norwood, David Finley, Wendy Hines, Gay Jenkins,

Randy Talley, Gilbert Vasquez, Robert Hand

Others: Chuck Isner, Fay Batch, Wayne Erwin, John Conel, Tommy

Harrison, Kenney Ross, Nancy Clark, Pam Harper, Becky Espino, Ron Davis, Arfeen Siddigui, Terrie Reed, Amy Harvey, Marsha Dry, Debbie Young, David Dixon, Dana Wiest, James & Nancy Halfacre, Steve Tercero, Diana Olson, Vicki Leach, Deniece Hazard, Sandra Stanley, Laura Haaland, Janette Miller, Cindy Harbour, Susan Alvis, Kevin Starnes, Dougles Anaya, Susie Haynes, Mike Atkins,

Ann Suiter, Geneva Holland, Nelda Guerra

18972 Meeting Called to Order: Randy Rives, Board President, called the

Board Meeting to order.

Pledges of Allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags: The <u>18973</u>

pledges of Allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags were led by

Pease Elementary School student, Austin Tavarez.

18974 **Invocation:** Floy B. Hinson, Board member gave the invocation.

18975 **Special Presentations:** The following special presentations were made:

#### All State Band/Choir/Orchestra –

The following All State Band/Choir/Orchestra Students were recognized:

#### PHS Band

Kayla Pugh Kristen Lane Angelica Justianno Ashley Howe

Kamille Garcia Bryant Unruh Aaron Gonzales

### PHS Choir

Ami Halfacre
Tatem Brown
Becky Vore
Stephanie Leddon
Bryan Foreman
Brett Talley
Austin Neal

### PHS Orchestra

Don Everette

### OHS Band

Armando Ortiz Corey Moersch

### **OHS Choir**

Luis Gonzales Melissa Lemon

### Nimitz Band

Kristen Looney Chase Reefschneider

### American Heart Distinguished Service Award -

Cory Wilkerson, a 6<sup>th</sup> grade student at Elementary Magnet School at Reagan was recognized for having received the American Heart Association Distinguished Service Award.

#### PTA Reflections Presentations -

The following students were honored with medals, as winners of the PTA Cultural Arts Contest - "A Different Kind of Hero."

#### <u>Literature Primary</u>

1<sup>st</sup> - Alyssa T. Spickema – Reagan Magnet

2<sup>nd</sup> - Noah E. Sager – Burnet Elementary

3<sup>rd</sup> - Linhdsay K. Helferich – Reagan Magnet

3<sup>rd</sup> - Alex Plunk – Reagan Magnet

### **Literature Intermediate**

1<sup>st</sup> - Brett C. Martin – Ireland Magnet

2<sup>nd</sup> - Elizabeth G. McDonald – Ireland Magnet

3<sup>rd</sup> - Xavier A. Jones – Burnet Elementary

## **Literature Middle**

1<sup>st</sup> - Jennifer J. Minjarez – Ireland Magnet

2<sup>nd</sup> - James B. Vickery - Ireland Magnet

3<sup>rd</sup> - Stephen Joe – San Jacinto Elementary

## **Musical Primary**

1<sup>st</sup> - Joseph S. Vore – Reagan Magnet

### **Musical Intermediate**

1<sup>st</sup> - Adam C. Vore – Reagan Magnet

# **Photography Primary**

1<sup>st</sup> - Isabella C. Galindo – Ireland Magnet

# **Photography Intermediate**

1<sup>st</sup> - Luke R. Anderson – Reagan Magnet

2<sup>nd</sup> - Andrew Crain - Reagan Magnet

3<sup>rd</sup> - Brett C. Martin – Ireland Magnet

## **Photography Middle**

1<sup>st</sup> - Taylor B. Moorefeild – Ireland Magnet

2<sup>nd</sup> - Kelsie L. Kelly – LB Johnson Elementary

3<sup>rd</sup> - Mariela Gonzales - Ireland Magnet

# **Visual Arts Primary**

1<sup>st</sup> - Kianna L. Barrera – Ireland Magnet

2<sup>nd</sup> - Avery A. Steen – Reagan Magnet

3<sup>rd</sup> - Tyler R. Johnson – LB Johnson Elementary

3<sup>rd</sup> – Abigail Furst – LB Johnson Elementary

4<sup>th</sup> – Brittany Ann Posey – LB Johnson Elementary

### **Visual Arts Intermediate**

1<sup>st</sup> - Bailee L. Cook – Ireland Magnet

2<sup>nd</sup> - Matthew J. DeLao – Ireland Magnet

3<sup>rd</sup> - Andrew Crain – Reagan Magnet

4<sup>th</sup> - Sarah Saddiqui- LB Johnson Elementary

#### **Visual Arts Middle**

1<sup>st</sup> - Stephani Gomez – Ireland Magnet

2<sup>nd</sup> - Caleb York – Ireland Magnet

3<sup>rd</sup> - Catlyn R. Roberson – Ireland Magnet

## Career Center - Imagine America Scholarship -

The following Career Center students were recognized for having received a \$1,000 scholarship from Imagine America:

Omar Hinojos – Health Student Steve Currie – Computer Aide Design Student

- **Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law:** Randy Rives, Board President, verified that the provisions of Texas Government Code Section 551.001 had been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- **Approval of Consent Agenda:** Moved by Hinson, second by Gregg that the following Consent Agenda be approved:
  - 1. Superintendent's Agenda
  - 2. Minutes of Meetings
    - a. January 18, 2005 Special
    - b. January 18, 2005 Regular
    - c. February 3, 2005 Special
    - d. February 8, 2005 Special
  - 3. Bills for Payment
  - 4. School Construction Report
  - 5. Approval of Additional Teacher Appraiser

Motion unanimously approved.

- <u>18978</u> <u>Citizen's Request to Address the Board</u>: George Rice addressed the Board of Trustees with regard to Democracy.
- <u>Approval of 2<sup>nd</sup> Semester District-Wide Class Size Waiver</u>: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Berryhill to approve the 2<sup>nd</sup> Semester District-wide Class Size Waiver and District Compliance Plan as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>Discussion of Adoption of State Textbooks</u>: Nancy Clark, Director of Elementary Curriculum, presented to the Board a review of the textbooks adoption process and a list of recommended textbooks for 2005-2006.

This item will be presented for approval at the next Regular Board meeting.

- <u>Discussion of 2005-2006 School Calendar</u>: Hector Mendez, Assistant Superintendent, presented for discussion the 2005-2006 School Calendar. This item will be presented for approval at the next Regular Board meeting.
- **Board of Trustees Continuing Education Credit Hours:** Randy Rives, Board President, presented a list of Board members' continuing education credit hours.
- Closed Meeting- Personnel Matters Section 551.074 of the Texas
  Government Code (Discussion of Term Contract Issues/Renewals
  and/or extensions for Administrative and Professional Support
  Employees and Routine Personnel Report) [Board will deliberate the
  appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties,
  discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]: Randy
  Rives, Board President, convened the Board of Trustees in Executive
  Session at 8:02 p.m.

Randy Rives, Board President, stated the Board ended its closed or executive session at 8:46 p.m.

Approval or Giving Notice of Proposed Non-Renewal of Contract Issues/Renewals and/or Extensions for all Administrative and Professional Support Employees: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Berryhill to approve the contract issues/renewals and/or extensions for all administrative and professional support employees for one year, as presented in Option II.

Motion unanimously approved.

**Approval of Routine Personnel Report:** Moved by Gregg, seconded by Hinson to approve the Routine Personnel Report as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

**<u>Adjournment</u>**: Randy Rives, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 8:47 p.m.

Board President Board Secretary

Randy Rives

Carol Gregg