MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR BOARD MEETING FEBRUARY 13, 2012

PLEDGE AND INVOCATION

The Wylie Independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, February 13, 2012, at 6:30 p.m. in the School Board Room. The pledge of allegiance was recited and the invocation was given by Steve Keenum.

Board members present were: Ray Templeton, Darrell Moore, Steve Keenum, Jeff Rogers, Becky Rentz, and Terry Merck. Don Poindexter was absent.

School personnel present were: Joey Light, Tony Spradlin, Craig Bessent, Brad McVay, Shauni Vaughn, Phil Boone, Paul Jensen, Nick Pruitt, Mike Kerley, Nadine Davis, Mitch Davis, Debbie Lambert, Carol Smith, and Desiree Clardy.

Guests present were: See sign-in sheet.

SPECIAL PRESENTATION

The board honored WHS student, Greg Boyle, who has been named a National Merit Scholar.

The board had a "note burning" to celebrate the district's final bond payment to retire all current debt. Several past school board presidents and superintendents attended the ceremony.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the January 9, 2012 meeting were read. They were approved as presented.

CONSENT AGENDA

A motion to approve the consent agenda was made by Jeff Rogers and seconded by Darrell Moore.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

CALL SCHOOL BOARD ELECTION & APPROVE CONTRACT CITY OF ABILENE

Steve Keenum made a motion to call the school board election on May 12, 2012 and approve the contract with Taylor County WITH TAYLOR COUNTY Elections Office and City of Abilene to **ELECTIONS OFFICE &** conduct joint election. Two places will up for election: Place #6 -Poindexter, and Place #7- Becky Rentz. Terry Merck seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES FEBRUARY 13, 2012 PAGE TWO

CONSIDER APPROVAL OF SUBMISSION OF 2008-09 & 2009-10 AMENDED AUDITS

A motion was made by Jeff Rogers to resubmit the financial statements for the 2008-09 and 2009-10 school years. Per TEA's recommendation, we reclassified the ARRA funds to utility costs across two years (2008-09 and 2009-10). Steve Keenum seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

Other items which were discussed but no action taken by the Board included: principal's reports on campus activities, Board planning session-February 23, 2012, 2012-13 school calendar update, March School Board Meeting, Title IV Safe & Drug Free School Compliance report, and construction update.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Board went into executive session under the authority of Article 6242-17, Section 2, Revised Civil Statutes of Texas and Education Code 16.176 from 8:10 P.M. to 8:46 P.M. to discuss personnel recommendations and administrator's evaluations.

PERSONNEL RECOMMENDATIONS

Terry Merck made a motion to extend the contracts of Cynde Wadley, Tony Spradlin, Hugh Sandifer, Terry Hagler, Carol Smith, Lisa Salmon, Craig Bessent, Tommy Vaughn, Paul Jensen, Debbie Lambert, Brad McVay, Mike Kerley, Shauni Vaughn, Mitch Davis, and Phil Boone, until June 30, 2014 as recommended by the superintendent. Jeff Rogers seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

OFFICIAL ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to discuss, motion was made by Steve Keenum and seconded by Terry Merck to adjourn. Official time was 8:47 P.M.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

Date

President

Secretary