DRAFT

Minutes of the June 22, 2017 - Special School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a special session on June 22, 2017, at 7:01 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building, 200 S. Denton Tap Road, Coppell, Texas. The meeting was called to order by President Tracy Fisher.

Members present: Tracy Fisher, President; Judy Barbo, Vice President; Leigh Walker - Secretary; Thom Hulme; and David Caviness

A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on June 15, 2017, at 4:00 p.m.

At 7:01 p.m., President Fisher declared the Board in Closed Session, as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.071 – Consultation with Attorney, and Section 551.074 – Personnel Matters

Legal Counsel present: Chad Timmons (Abernathy, Roeder, Boyd & Hullett)

President Fisher declared the Board in Open Session at 10:13 p.m.

Staff present: Kay Ryon, Administrative Assistant; and Kristen Streeter, Executive Director of Human Resources

Judy Barbo made a motion to ratify and adopt posting of vacancy for Superintendent of Schools position on Coppell ISD website, in accordance with Board Policy BJB, on June 14, 2017. Leigh Walker seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

David Caviness moved that the interview process for Superintendent of Schools begin the week of June 26, 2017. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

A motion was made by Leigh Walker and seconded by Thom Hulme to name Wilburn O. Echols, Jr. as Interim Superintendent and authorize Sid Grant to negotiate an Interim Superintendent contract with Mr. Echols, with contract starting on July 1, 2017. The motion carried 6-0.

Anthony Hill made a motion to accept the new hires as recommended by the Superintendent. The motion was seconded by Judy Barbo. The motion carried 6-0.

A motion to adjourn the meeting wa The motion carried 6-0.	s made by Leigh Walker and seconded by I	David Caviness.
The meeting adjourned at 10:20 p.m.		
	Tracy Fisher, Board President	
	Leigh Walker, Secretary	