

# GOVERNING BOARD AGENDA ITEM AMPHITHEATER UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 10

# DATE OF MEETING: September 8, 2020

### TITLE: Resolution Declaring September 24, 2020 as "Legendary Teacher Day"

### **BACKGROUND:**

In 2014, Tucson Mayor Jonathan Rothschild invited local school district Governing Boards to set apart a day in September to celebrate "Legendary Teacher Day." Other governments have followed this lead and Legendary Teacher Day is now recognized nationally each year on the fourth Thursday in September.

This year, Legendary Teacher Day will be observed on Thursday, September 24, 2020. The attached Resolution serves to set that day apart here in our District.

#### **RECOMMENDATION:**

It is the recommendation of the Administration that the Governing Board approve the attached Resolution.

## **INITIATED BY:**

Michelle H. Tong, J.D., Associate to the Superintendent and General Counsel

Date: September 1, 2020

Todd A. Jaeger, J/D., Superintendent

# A RESOLUTION OF THE GOVERNING BOARD OF AMPHITHEATER UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 10 OF PIMA COUNTY, ARIZONA, RECOGNIZING LEGENDARY TEACHERS

WHEREAS, we have all had special teachers that made a significant difference in our lives – teachers we call "legendary;" and

**WHEREAS**, those teachers possessed and consistently demonstrated a specialized set of skills, allowing them to transform their deep content knowledge into life-changing student learning; and

WHEREAS, those teachers made classrooms safe and fun by creating a caring family culture; and

WHEREAS, those teachers expected you to exceed your own expectations; and

**WHEREAS**, we often do not fully understand and recognize the profound influence teachers have on our future until later in life; and

WHEREAS, it is important to take time to fully recognize the special teachers in our lives;

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** by the Amphitheater Unified School District No. 10 Governing Board that the District hereby set apart Thursday, September 24, 2020 as "Legendary Teacher Day" in the District.

**PASSED AND ADOPTED** by the Governing Board this 8<sup>th</sup> day of September 2020.

**Governing Board Members:** 

Deanna M. Day, M.Ed. President Vicki Cox Golder Vice President

Scott K. Baker, Ph.D.

Matthew A. Kopec

Susan Zibrat