MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTHWEST TEXAS JUNIOR COLLEGE

September 19, 2013

The Board of Trustees of Southwest Texas Junior College met in regular session September 19, 2013 in the Bluebonnet Room of the Matthews Student Center. The Board President, Rodolfo R. Flores, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were:

Rodolfo R. Flores, President Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Vice-President Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary Maria Elena Lara Victor Lopez Tony Moreno, and Anita Shackelford

Also present was Dr. Hector Gonzales, President of the College.

The minutes of the August 15, 2013 regular meeting and the August 29 and September 5, 2013 special called board meetings were read and approved as presented by Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Board.

Board President Flores welcomed guests at the meeting which included college personnel Dr. Blaine Bennett, Joe Barker, Willie Edwards, Wade Carpenter, Barbara Blair, Karen Baen, Anne Tarski, Ismael Martinez, Gilbert S. Bermea, Dr. Mark Underwood, Jesus J. Martinez, Luis Fernandez, Xaviera Haynes, Reagan King, Rachel Hinman, Dick Whipple, Bob Zaiglin, Steven Evans, Oscar Garcia, Derek Sandoval, Margot Mata and Trish Driskill. Also in attendance was Dr. Paul Sorrels from Sul Ross State University.

Audience to Patrons: None

A motion was made by Tony T. Moreno and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to approve the unaudited financial statement as of August 31, 2013 as presented by Anne Tarski, Vice-President of Finance. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

President's Report given by Dr. Hector Gonzales. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to adopt the tax rate of \$0.13 per \$100 valuation. Motion carried unanimously.

There were no Del Rio Project change orders.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to approve the renewal of the Sul Ross lease agreements. Motion carried unanimously.

A review of the Quarterly Investment Report was given by Anne Tarski, Vice-President of Finance. A motion was made by Dr. Harry O. Watkins and seconded by Anita Shackelford to accept the quarterly investment report. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A review of the Investment Policy was given by Anne Tarski, Vice-President of Finance. A motion was made by Tony T. Moreno and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to accept the investment policy. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

The discussion on the Crystal City and Eagle Pass Projects did not take place due to the architect being ill.

Reports:

- A. Enrollment Update as presented by Dr. Blaine Bennett, Vice-President of Student Services.
- B. Del Rio Project Update as presented by Joe Barker, Vice-President of Administrative Services.
- C. Wildlife Program Update as presented by Robert Zaiglin, Wildlife Instructor.

Today's meeting was closed in memory of Mary Beth Monroe.

With no further business or action items to discuss, Anita Shackelford made the motion to adjourn. Dr. Harry O. Watkins seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously at 8:05 p.m.

Rodolfo R. Flores, President of the Board	
	Dr. Antonio H. Divoro, Socretary of the Roard
	Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Board