MINGUS UINON HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT

1801 East Fir, Cottonwood, AZ 86326

GOVERNING BOARD MINUTES OF MEETING

Mingus Union High School Cafeteria Thursday, April 28, 2016 5:30 PM

Governing Board:

Mrs. Anita Glazar, President Dr. Robb Williams, Clerk Mr. James Ledbetter Mr. Anthony Lozano

Absent - Mrs. Brenda Zenan

Also Present:

Dr. Paul Tighe, Superintendent Mrs. Jennifer Chilton, Principal Mr. Allen Mitchell, Assistant Principal Mrs. Brandi Bateman, Board Secretary

I. Dinner and Networking

Governing board members ate dinner and had informal table discussions with dinner

II. Welcome and Introductions

Yavapai County Superintendent Tim Carter invited each board president to introduce his/her board members.

Beaver Creek School District Governing Board and Superintendent

Jackie Harshman, President Karen DuFresne, Clerk Joette Burke, Member Jeannette Estes, Member Diana Foltz, Member Karin Ward, Superintendent

Camp Verde Unified School District Governing District and Superintendent

Helen Freeman, President
Kitty McDowell, Member
Tim Roth, Member
Christine Schneider, Member
Robert Simbric, Member
Dr. Dennis Goodwin, Superintendent

Clarkdale-Jerome School District Governing Board and Superintendent

Jill Zaske, President
Dale Williams, Clerk
Laurie Lozano, Member
Michael Gordon, Member
Rebecca O'Banion, Member
Scott Jacobsen, Superintendent

Cottonwood-Oak Creek School District Governing Board and Superintendent

Jason Finger, President Janice Rollins, Vice-President JoAnne Cook, Member Dr. Marv Lamer, Member Mary Valenzuela, Member Barb U'Ren, Superintendent

Mingus Union High School District Governing Board and Superintendent

Anita Glazar, President Dr. Robb Williams, Clerk James Ledbetter, Member Anthony Lozano, Member Brenda Zenan, Member Dr. Paul Tighe, Superintendent

Sedona-Oak Creek Unified School District Governing Board and Superintendent

Tommy Stovall, President Karen McClelland, Vice-President John Miller, Member Zachary Richardson, Member Roberta Surber, Member David Lykins, Superintendent

Valley Academy For Career & Technology Education Governing Board and Superintendent

Steve Dockray, President
Dan Brown, Member
Charlene Day, Member
Steve Pike, Member
Leland Wieweck, Member
Lisa Aragon, Interim Superintendent

III. Opening

III. 1. Call to Order

Governing board presidents will call their respective governing boards to order.

Joette Burke, Beaver Creek School District

Helen Freeman, Camp Verde Unified School District*

Rebecca O'Banion, Clarkdale-Jerome School District

Jason Finger, Cottonwood-Oak Creek School District*

Anita Glazar, Mingus Union High School District

Tommy Stovall, Sedona-Oak Creek Unified School District*

Steve Dockray, Valley Academy For Career & Technology Education*

* Districts did not call to order as no quorum was present

III. 2. Pledge of Allegiance

Yavapai County Superintendent Tim Carter will lead the Pledge of Allegiance.

IV. Information and Discussion Items

(Matters about which the Boards may engage in discussion but will take no action during the meeting)

IV. 1. Calendar and Professional Development

Cottonwood-Oak Creek ESD Superintedent Barbara U'Ren shared information about the regional professional development that was made possible through calendar alignment.

IV. 2. Teacher Recruitment

Sedona-Oak Creek Joint USD Superintendent David Lykins and retired Clarkdale-Jerome ESD Superintendent Kathleen Fleenor shared information about recent Verde Valley teacher

recruitment efforts in Michigan.

IV. 3. Legislative Update and Impact

Yavapai County Superintendent Tim Carter shared information from the 2016 legislative session and areas of impact to school districts, including information related to Proposition 123 and current year funding for districts.

V. Meeting Wrap Up

Mingus Union HSD Superintendent Dr. Paul Tighe concluded the meeting and elicited feedback for future joint meetings. The general reaction was positive and to continue at least annual joint meetings.

VI. Adjournment

Each board president adjourned his/her respective board.

Each board president adjourned his/her respective board.
The meeting was adjourned at 7:38 PM.
Mrs. Anita Glazar
Mr. James Ledbetter
Mr. Anthony Lozano
Dr. Robb Williams