DRAFT

Minutes of the May 23, 2022 - Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on May 23, 2022, at 5:30 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President Nichole Bentley.

Members present: Nichole Bentley, President; Leigh Walker, Vice President; Manish Sethi, Secretary; Anthony Hill; David Caviness; Tracy Fisher and Dr. Neena Biswas.

A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on May 20, 2022 at 3:00 p.m.

NEW BUSINESS

On May 16, 2022, the Coppell ISD Board of Trustees adopted an Order Declaring Results of the Trustee General Election held on May 7, 2022. A Certificate of Election was issued to the newly elected trustees at that time.

Carol Snowden, Notary Public, administered the Officer's Statement and Oath of Office to the newly elected Board members: Leigh Walker (Place 1), Manish Sethi (Place 2) and Anthony Hill (Place 3)

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant; Diana Sircar; Dr. Dennis Womack; Dr. Angie Brooks; Kristen Eichel; Dr. Deana Dynis; Angela Brown; Robyn Webb; James Hollaway; Naveen Boppana; Rachael Freeman and Amanda Simpson

Dr. Neena Biswas gave the invocation and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Superintendent Dr. Brad Hunt exercised a point of privilege to address the recent death of an elementary student and the safety & security issues being address at CISD campuses.

OPEN FORUM

The following community members requested to address the Board during the Open Forum section of the agenda:

Julia Albright – Hope & Gratitude Kaylea Schultz – Appreciation to CHS Nancy Martin – Bullying & Child Safety & Admin/Teacher Response Dan Koller – Transitional Pathways

DRAFT

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS - SUPERINTENDENT

 ESSER & Summer School Instructional Plans – Dr. Deana Dynis (Executive Director for Teaching & Learning) and Robyn Webb (Director of Accountability, Assessment, and Federal Programs)

David Caviness made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve the minutes of regular meeting held on April 25, 2022 and workshop held on May 16, 2022
- 2. Approve Monthly Budget Amendments for May 2022
- 3. Approve Financial Report for April 2022
- 4. Approve the Resolution for Schools and Libraries Universal Services (E-Rate) for 2022-2023. This resolution authorizes filing of the Form 471 applications for funding year 2022-2023 and the payment of the applicant's share upon approval of funding and receipt of services
- 5. Approve the RFP for Instructional Materials
- 6. Approve the employment of new professional personnel as recommended by the Superintendent

Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

ACTION

A motion to postpone discussions and the recommended revisions to the Board Operation Procedures to the June board meeting was made by Dr. Neena Biswas. The motion was seconded by Tracy Fisher and motion failed 2-5. Voting in opposition was Nichole Bentley, Leigh Walker, Manish Sethi, Anthony Hill, and David Caviness.

Tracy Fisher motioned to approve the addition of three training components for New Board Member Training listed on page 7 of the Board Operating Procedures. Anthony Hill seconded the motion and the motion passed 6-1. Trustee Biswas voted in opposition.

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS – BOARD OF TRUSTEES

- May 16 Board Workshop Recap Nichole Bentley
- Leadership TASB Manish Sethi
- School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) and Board Gives Back Event Leigh Walker
- TASB Quarterly Risk Management Fund Board Meeting and Coppell Chamber of Commerce Education Committee – Anthony Hill

At 7:27 p.m., President Bentley declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under Texas Government Code, Section 551.071 – Consult with Board Attorney, Section 551.072 – Real Property and Section 551.074 - Personnel Matters

DRAFT

President Bentley declared the Board in Open Session at 10:45 p.m.

A motion was made by Manish Sethi that the Board of Trustees approve the following resolution authorizing the sale of real property consisting of 20 acres, more or less. Trustee Sethi read the resolution into record. The motion was seconded by Nichole Bentley and passed 7-0.

President Bentley conducted the election of officers for the Board of Trustees.

Dr. Neena Biswas nominated herself to the office of President of the Board of Trustee. Leigh Walker nominated David Caviness to the office of President of the Board of Trustees. The vote for Trustee Biswas was 1-6. The vote for Trustee Caviness was 6-1. Trustee David Caviness was elected to the office of President.

Tracy Fisher nominated to elect Nichole Bentley to the office of Vice President of the Board of Trustees. Leigh Walker nominated Manish Sethi to the Office of Vice President. The vote for Nichole Bentley was 2-5. The vote for Manish Sethi was 4-2. Trustee Biswas abstained from the vote. Trustee Manish Sethi was elected to the office of Vice President.

Tracy Fisher nominated to elect Nichole Bentley to the office of Secretary of the Board of Trustees. No other nominations were made. Nichole Bentley was elected to the office of Secretary by a vote of 6-0. Trustee Biswas abstained from the vote.

ADJOURNMENT

David Caviness made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Tracy Fisher seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0. Trustee Biswas did not vote.

The meeting adjourned at 10:53 p.m.

David Caviness, Board President
Nichole Bentley, Secretary