

MEETING DATE: November 15, 2021

AGENDA ITEM: Consider Approval of Resolution Electing Candidate(s) for the Board of

Directors of the Parker County Appraisal District

PRESENTER: Earl Husfeld, Chief Financial Officer

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

- Every two (2) years, members of the Parker County Appraisal District (PCAD) Board of Directors are elected. The next two-year term begins January 1, 2022.
- The PCAD Board of Directors is comprised of five (5) members who govern the appraisal district by establishing policies and procedures for the PCAD's organization and operation.
- On October 18, 2021, the Board of Trustees nominated one (1) individual for the PCAD Board of Directors.
- Nominations for the PCAD Board of Directors has closed and an official ballot with candidates/nominees is enclosed for your review.
- Aledo ISD has 995 votes allocated based on the size of our taxing district as compared to others in the PCAD.

FISCAL INFORMATION:

None

ATTACHMENTS:

Letter from Parker County Appraisal District Regarding Selection of Appraisal District Directors for 2022-2023, Official Ballot, Voting Entitlement, and Resolution Electing Candidate(s) for the Parker County Appraisal District Board of Directors, Parker County, Texas

ADMINISTRATIVE RECOMMENDATION:

The Administration has no specific recommendation related to this item. Trustees, if they chose to do so, may cast Aledo ISD's votes.

PARKER COUNTY APPRAISAL DISTRICT

1108 Santa Fe Drive

Weatherford, Texas 76086

TELEPHONE: 817-596-0077

FAX: 817-613-8096

EMAIL: parkercad@parkercad.org

October 29, 2021

TO: Taxing Unit Presiding Officers & Administrators

SUBJECT: Selection of Appraisal District Directors for 2022-2023

Nominations for the Parker County Appraisal District Directors is completed and closed. All nominations have been submitted by written resolution and the nominee's names are included on the enclosed ballot.

The next step in the selection process is for voting units to cast their votes for the nominees. Section 6.03 (k) of the Texas Property Tax Code, except as provided by Subsection (k-1)* requires each voting tax unit to vote in an open meeting, record its vote by written resolution, and submit the resolution to the Chief Appraiser by **December 15, 2021**, <u>unless the taxing unit is entitled to at least five percent of the total votes</u>.

*Section 6.03 (k-1) of the Texas Property Tax Code requires taxing units entitled to <u>at least five</u> <u>percent</u> of the total votes must determine its vote by resolution adopted at the <u>first or second</u> <u>open meeting</u> after the Chief Appraiser delivers the ballot.

Special procedural requirements (Section 6.03 (k-1)) apply to the following taxing units:

- ALEDO ISD
- AZLE ISD
- SPRINGTOWN ISD

- WEATHERFORD ISD
- PARKER COUNTY
- WEATHERFORD COLLEGE

A taxing unit may cast its votes for one candidate or distribute the votes among any number of candidates. A voting tax unit may only cast votes for persons nominated and named on the ballot. There is no provision for write-in candidates. The Chief Appraiser may not count votes cast for a name not listed on the official ballot. The five candidates receiving the highest number of votes will be declared the winners.

Enclosed is the official ballot, the number of votes allocated to each taxing unit, and a sample resolution for recording the votes.

Please add this important action to your first or second open meeting agenda.

Sincerely,

Rick Armstrong Chief Appraiser

PARKER COUNTY APPRAISAL DISTRICT

SELECTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

2022-2023

OFFICIAL BALLOT

CANDIDATES

RICHARD BARRET

JERRY DURANT

STEVE HARRIS

JOHN HINTON

CODY LANE

STERLING NARON

PARKER COUNTY APPRAISAL DISTRICT

SELECTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

2022-2023

VOTING ENTITLEMENT

Taxing Unit	Number of Votes
Aledo ISD	995
Azle ISD	290
Brock ISD	210
Garner ISD	40
Granbury ISD	20
Lipan ISD	15
Millsap ISD	110
Mineral Wells ISD	5
Peaster ISD	105
Perrin-Whitt ISD	15
Poolville ISD	35
Springtown ISD	280
Weatherford ISD	1190
City of Aledo	30
City of Azle	25
City of Fort Worth	25
City of Millsap	0
City of Mineral Wells	10
City of Reno	15
City of Sanctuary	0
City of Springtown	20
City of Weatherford	245
City of Willow Park	55
Parker County	945
Weatherford College	320

BOARD OF TRUSTEES: ALEDO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

Resolution No. 11152021-1

RESOLUTION ELECTING CANDIDATE(S) FOR THE PARKER COUNTY APPRAISAL DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS, PARKER COUNTY, TEXAS

Be it remembered that at a regular meeting of the Aledo Independent School District Board of Trustees, a political subdivision of the State of Texas, held on the 15th day of November 2021, said meeting having been duly called in accordance with the laws of the State of Texas and the rules and regulations adopted by the Aledo Independent School District Board of Trustees, and a quorum having been present at said meeting, upon motion duly made and seconded, the following resolution was adopted, to wit:

WHEREAS, an election is to be held whereby all taxing units of Parker County, Texas entitled to vote will cast ballots for the election of the Board of Directors for the Parker County Appraisal District of Parker County, Texas for a period of two (2) years beginning January 1, 2022; and

WHEREAS, the Aledo Independent School District Board of Trustees of Parker County, is a taxing unit in said county and is entitled to cast votes in said election; and

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the Aledo Independent School District Board of Trustees that the votes of said taxing unit be cast as follows:

CANDIDATE	VOTES CAST

BE IT HEREBY FURTHER RESOLVED, that the vote as stated above be certified to the Chief Appraiser of the Parker County Appraisal District, Parker County, Texas.

Passed this 15 th day of November, 2021.		
ATTEST:	Name: Hoyt Harris Title: Board President	
Name: Forrest Collins Title: Board Secretary		