

## North Slope Borough School District Board of Education Archie K. Brower Conference Room, Central Office Utqiagʻvik, AK

Unapproved Minutes Special Meeting December 16, 2021 1:00 p.m.

**CALL TO ORDER AND MOMENT OF SILENCE:** Robyn Burke, Presiding Chair, called the Board of Education Special Meeting to order at 1:08 p.m. at the Archie K. Brower Conference Room in Central Office and on ZOOM Video Communications.

**FLAG SALUTE:** The Pledge of Allegiance was led by the Board of Education.

## **ROLL CALL:**

Nora Jane Burns – Present via Telephonically Madeline Hickman – Present via VTC Frieda Nageak– Present Qaiyaan Harcharek- Present via Telephonically Charles D. Brower – Present via Telephonically Robyn Burke – Present via VTC Nancy Rock – Present via Telephonically

**APPROVAL OF AGENDA:** Charles Brower MOVED to APPROVE the Agenda. Qaiyaan Harcharek SECONDED the motion. Question called for UNANIMOUS CONSENT. No Objections. The motion carried UNANIMOUSLY

**RECOGNITION OF VISITORS:** District staff and community members were present.

**EXECUTIVE SESSION** at 1:13PM – 2:22 PM.

Qaiyaan Harcharek MOVED to go into EXECUTIVE SESSION for the purposes of discussing financial considerations allowed under matters, the immediate knowledge of which would clearly have an adverse effect upon the finances of the school district at 1:13 PM. Charles Brower SECONDED the motion. Question called for UNANIMOUS CONSENT. No Objections. The motion carried UNANIMOUSLY.

The Board invited Chief Financial Officer Fadil Limani, Superintendent Richard Carlson, newly appointed Chief School Administrator David Vadiveloo, and Board Secretary Chelsie Overby.

Frieda Nageak MOVED to go out of EXECUTIVE SESSION at 2:22 PM. Charles Brower SECONDED the motion. Question called for UNANIMOUS CONSENT. No Objections. The motion carried UNANIMOUSLY.

CHIEF SCHOOL ADMINISTRATOR CONTRACT is presented by Chelsie Overby, Board Secretary. This follows NSBSD Board Policy 2121, Superintendent's Contract, and A.S.14.14.130. The Board of Education appointed David Vadiveloo as the Chief School Administrator at the December 14, 2021 Regular Meeting for employment beginning April 4, 2022 through June 30, 2022 and renewed through June 30, 2025. The Association of Alaska School Boards (AASB) facilitated the NSBSD Board of Education's Superintendent search. This search began in September 2021. The Board selected two finalists on November 15, 2021 and interviewed the candidates on December 3, 2021. A virtual town hall facilitated by AASB was held December 8, 2021 for deliberation by the Board of Education on December 14, 2021.

Page 2 Board Minutes December 16, 2021 Special Meeting

Charles Brower MOVED to go into EXECUTIVE SESSION at 2:35 PM to review the Chief School Administrator Contract. Madeline Hickman SECONDED the motion. Question called for UNANIMOUS CONSENT. No Objections. The motion carried UNANIMOUSLY.

Robyn Burke MOVED to go out of EXECUTIVE SESSION at 2:49 PM. Frieda Nageak SECONDED the motion. Question called for UNANIMOUS CONSENT. No Objections. The motion carried UNANIMOUSLY.

Robyn Burke MOVED that the NSBSD Board of Education RATIFY the contract for David Vadiveloo for the position of Chief School Administrator on the terms and conditions set out in the contract dated December 16, 2021. Frieda Nageak SECONDED the motion. Question called for UNANIMOUS CONSENT. No Objections. The motion carried UNANIMOUSLY.

**PUBLIC COMMENTS:** No comments were heard at this time.

**SCHOOL BOARD COMMENTS:** Board members thanked the Board, Superintendent Rich Carlson for his work in the District, congratulated Mr. Vadiveloo on his appointment, and importance of collaboration.

**DATE & TIME OF NEXT MEETING**: Thursday, January 13, 2022 Regular Meeting in Utqiagvik, AK at the Archie K. Brower Conference Room / ZOOM Video Communications. Work sessions are held at 9:00 AM. Regular meetings are scheduled to begin at 1:00 PM.

**ADJOURNED AT 3:17 P.M.** Robyn Burke MOVED to ADJOURN. Madeline Hickman SECONDED the motion. The meeting stands adjourned.

Chelsie Overby, Board Secretary
Nancy Rock, Board President
Robyn Burke, Board Clerk

Date

Respectfully submitted for the January 13, 2022 Regular Meeting: