

# **Board of Education**

Minutes The Board of Education

A Called School Board Meeting of the Board of Education of Fort Smith Public Schools was held Monday, June 20, 2022, beginning at 5:30 PM in the Service Center, Bldg. B, Auditorium, 3205 Jenny Lind, P.O. Box 1948, Fort Smith, AR 72901.

# CALL TO ORDER

Ms. Richardson, vice-president, called the meeting to order. Other board members present were: Mr. Dalton Person, Ms. Dee Blackwell, Mr. Matt Blaylock, Mr. Davin Chitwood, Ms. Sandy Dixon and Mr. Phil Whiteaker. District administrators present included: Dr. Terry Morawski, Superintendent; Mr. Martin Mahan, Deputy Superintendent; Dr. Chris Davis, Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources and Campus Support; Mr. Charles Warren, Chief Financial Officer; Dr. Michael Farrell, Supervisor of Student Services; Mr. Vance Gregory, Executive Director of Technology; Ms. Zena Featherston Marshall, Executive Director of Communication and Community Partnerships; Ms. Nadine Brooks, Office Manager to the Superintendent; Ms. Leslie Phelps, Administrative Assistant to the Superintendent and Mr. Marshall Ney, Attorney, Friday, Eldredge and Clark.

# SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT

Dr. Morawski reported that school board members were elected on May 24, 2022 and election results were certified by Sebastian County. He also reported that all Board members have taken their oath of office, separately from this Board meeting.

Dr. Morawski stated this election year was unique, in that all incumbent Board Members as well as new candidates were required to run for a position that ultimately will result in five-year terms. Dr. Morawski also noted that this year's election puts the District in line with state standards for school boards with five zones and two at large positions. In future elections, board members will serve five-year terms.

Dr. Morawski stated that to evenly distribute service terms, the Board members would randomly draw for a lot between two to five years. Dr. Morawski reported that per the law, no more than two Board Members could run in any given year.

Dr. Morawski noted that the District's attorney, Mr. Marshall Ney, was present should any board members have questions about the process to follow.

Dr. Morawski concluded his report by stating that the next Board meeting would be Monday, June 27, 2022.

Minutes June 20, 2022 Page 2

## DRAWING OF BOARD MEMBERS TERMS

Dr. Morawski restated that the terms for each Board member ranges from two years to five years. Each Board member randomly selected an envelope that had a card with term years inside. After each member selected their envelope, each read aloud their term that was selected. Mr. Phil Whiteaker; 4 year term, Mr. Dalton Person; 5 year term, Ms. Sandy Dixon, 2 year term; Ms. Talicia Richardson, 4 year term; Ms. Dee Blackwell, 2 year term; Mr. Davin Chitwood, 3 year term, and Mr. Matt Blaylock, 3 year term.

Dr. Morawski noted that these results will be documented in the minutes.

## **ELECTION OF BOARD OFFICERS**

Dr. Morawski reported that the election of officers can be nominated as a slate or individually.

Ms. Richardson asked for nominations from board members.

Mr. Blaylock presented a slate of officers consisting of Ms. Blackwell, President; Ms. Richardson, Vice-President, and Mr. Person, Secretary.

Ms. Richardson made a motion, seconded by Ms. Blackwell, that the slate as nominated move forward.

Mr. Person asked what the secretary position entails. Dr. Morawski stated it was primarily for signatures on documents. Mr. Warren added it was primarily signers on signature cards, bond issues as signature of record, and resolutions. Ms. Blackwell also stated it is proofing and signing the minutes from the meetings.

With no further discussion, the vote passed 7/0.

### **DESIGNATION OF DISBURSING OFFICERS**

Dr. Morawski stated that typically the President and Vice-President have been designated as the primary and alternate Board Disbursing Officers.

Mr. Warren stated the Disbursement Officer is primarily used on the vendor and payroll direct deposits.

Mr. Person made a motion, seconded by Mr. Blaylock, designating Ms. Blackwell as Primary Board Disbursing Officer and Ms. Richardson as Alternate Board Disbursing Officer to serve until the next annual election.

With no further discussion, the vote passed 7/0.

Ms. Blackwell made a motion, seconded by Mr. Blaylock, to adopt the resolution designating Ms. Blackwell as primary Board Disbursing Officer and Ms. Richardson as Alternate Board Disbursing Officer. The vote passed 7/0.

Minutes June 20, 2022 Page 3

### **BOARD MEMBERS FORUM**

Ms. Richardson asked if information pertaining to the Peak recent flooding could be provided.

Dr. Morawski stated an update will be presented at the June 27, 2022 meeting. The engineer will also be present to provide information.

Mr. Blaylock welcomed the new board members.

#### ADJOURN

There was no further business and the meeting was adjourned at 5:46.

Dee Blackwell, President

Dalton Person, Secretary