1052

Regular Board Meeting Minutes May 21, 2018

The regular board meeting was called to order by President Joanna Horton at 7:04 pm.

Board members present:	Chris Taliaferro, Brian Fraser, Nancy Duggan, Melissa Schick, Joy Williams, Jeremy Hatcher, Joanna Horton
Board members absent:	None
Administrators attending:	James Sanders, Chad Collins, Cindy Wiedemann, Gail Crow, Grant Miller, Candy Nelson, Heather Jestis, Kandy Shirey, Jeff Cleveland, Erik Scott, Christian Reed

The Board of Trustees honored the following students: Jack Bussey and Dekelis Jones, State Qualifiers in track.

Sheryl Copeland, cheerleader sponsor, spoke in open forum.

Diane Coursey, secretary and notary, administered the oath of office to the newly elected members, Jeremy Hatcher and Nancy Duggan.

Nominations were made for the office of President. Jeremy Hatcher nominated Joanna Horton. No other names were given. Joanna Horton was named President by acclamation. (7-0)

Nominations were made for the office of Vice President. Nancy Duggan nominated Jeremy Hatcher. No other names were given. Jeremy Hatcher was named Vice President by acclamation. (7-0)

Nominations were made for the office of Secretary. Melissa Schick nominated Joy Williams. No other names were given. Joy Williams was named Secretary by acclamation. (7-0)

Duggan made a motion to approve the consent agenda items. Hatcher seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Hatcher made a motion to approve the revisions to Board Policy DNA (Local) regarding teacher performance appraisals. Fraser seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Duggan made a motion to approve the revisions to Board Policy EIC (Local) regarding academic achievement. Williams seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Hatcher made a motion to spend up to \$50,000 to remove the carpet and re-tile the elementary school. Duggan seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Cindy Wiedemann, chief financial officer, and James Sanders, superintendent, discussed the information items with the board.

The board was called into executive session on May 21, 2018 by President Joanna Horton according to Section 551.074 of the Texas Open Meeting Act at 7:57 pm to discuss personnel, safety, and property.

The board returned to open session at 8:50 pm.

Duggan made a motion to approve the revisions to Board Policy CKC (Local) regarding safety, risk management and emergency planning which will include authorization for the superintendent to develop a school guardian plan. Taliaferro seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Taliaferro made a motion to appropriate \$100,000 for the Safety improvements. Schick seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Adjourned – 8:53 pm

Joanna Horton, Board President

Joy Williams, Board Secretary