BOARD OF EDUCATION MINUTES

Regular Meeting Tuesday, May 13, 2025 5:33 pm NES Library/Zoom

Member Tahbone called the meeting to order at 5:33 pm Tuesday, May 23, 2025 with a quorum present.

Member Tahbone led the Pledge of Allegiance in Inupiaq.

Member Tahbone read the Nome Public Schools Mission Statement.

School Board Members Present:

Darlene Trigg (excused) Marjorie Tahbone Jon Gregg

Nancy Mendenhall (excused) Sigvanna Tapqaq

Student Representative, Lyndsay Johnson

Others in attendance included:

Jamie Burgess Alisha Papineau Genevieve Hollins (via Zoom)

Mary Donaldson (via Zoom) Karen Dixon (via Zoom) Nicholas Settle

Jim Shreve Jennifer Shreve Sarah Kingstrom

Lauren Kingstrom Jonathan Duarte Teriscovkya Smith

Angela Hansen Elizabeth Korenek-Johnson Taylor Gorn
Tony Gorn Colton Gorn Tricia Shambach
Luke Hansen Yusuf Rida Holly Harlow

Finn Gregg

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Member Tapqaq moved to approve the agenda with the removal of I.2. Approval of Fuel Purchase for FY26. Discussion followed.

The motion carried by a roll call vote with the following results:

Darlene Trigg: (excused) Marjorie Tahbone: yes Jon Gregg: yes

Nancy Mendenhall: (excused) Sigvanna Tapqaq: yes

Lyndsay Johnson (Advisory Vote): yes

CONSENT AGENDA

Member Tapqaq moved to approve the minutes from Regular Meeting: April 8, 2025; the minutes from Special Meeting: April 29, 2025; the April 2025 disbursements; the April 2025 Gifts, Grants and Bequests; the April 2025 personnel report; the job descriptions; and the out of state travel requests. Discussion followed. Correction made to the Regular Meeting: April 8, 2025 on Member Tahbone's comment correcting "Nome Eskimo Community" to "King Island Native Community".

The motion carried by a roll call vote with the following results:

Darlene Trigg: (excused) Marjorie Tahbone: yes Jon Gregg: yes

Nancy Mendenhall: (excused) Sigvanna Tapqaq: yes

Lyndsay Johnson (Advisory Vote): yes

CORRESPONDENCE

Correspondence included was the ASAA coach certification protecting students from abuse letter; 2025 SPED determination notice; FY25 NPSD final closeout; state chief letter; update on ESEA federal programs appropriations; and unsafe school choice option DCL.

INTRODUCTIONS OF GUESTS AND VISITORS

NONE

STUDENTS OF THE MONTH

NBMHS Teacher, Holly Harlow and NBMHS Principal, Teriscovkya Smith announced Lauren Kingstrom as Salutatorian; and Taylor Gorn, Finn Gregg, and Luke Hansen as Valedictorians for the class of 2025.

OPPORTUNITY FOR PUBLIC COMMENT ON AGENDA/NON-AGENDA ITEMS

SPED Consultant, Tricia Shambach shared accomplishments with SPED students; and applauded teachers and support staff.

SUPERINTENDENT REPORT

Superintendent Burgess reported. The report is attached to the original of these minutes. Discussion followed.

INFORMATION AND REPORTS

Student Representative Lyndsay Johnson reported. The report is attached to the original of these minutes.

NES Principal, Nicholas Settle reported. The report is attached to the original of these minutes. Discussion followed.

ACSA Principal, Lisa Leeper reported. The report is attached to the original of these minutes. Discussion followed.

NBMHS Principal, Teriscovkya Smith reported. The report is attached to the original of these minutes. Discussion followed.

Director of SPED, Mary Donaldson reported. The report is attached to the original of these minutes. Discussion followed.

Director of Technology, Jim Shreve reported. The report is attached to the original of these minutes. Discussion followed.

Director of Facilities, Jonathan Duarte reported. The report is attached to the original of these minutes. Discussion followed.

Director of Federal Programs, Karen Dixon reported. The report is attached to the original of these minutes. Discussion followed.

CFO, Genevieve Hollins reported. The report is attached to the original of these minutes.

SECOND PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY

NONE

ACTION ITEMS

Member Gregg moved to approve extending the current five-year Strategic Plan into the 2025 – 2026 school year.

The motion carried by a roll call vote with the following results:

Darlene Trigg: (excused) Marjorie Tahbone: yes Jon Gregg: yes

Nancy Mendenhall: (excused) Sigvanna Tapqaq: yes

Member Gregg moved to approve the school handbooks for the 2025 – 2026 as presented, acknowledging some minor edits are still needed for the final handbook.

The motion carried by a roll call vote with the following results:

Darlene Trigg: (excused) Marjorie Tahbone: yes Jon Gregg: yes

Nancy Mendenhall: (excused) Sigvanna Tapqaq: yes

BOARD AND SUPERINTENDENT'S COMMENT & COMMITTEE REPORTS

Member Tapqaq said she appreciated the AASB conference and looked forward to collaborating with local tribes. She also said she liked the consultation plan they collaboratively came up with.

Member Tapqaq mentioned drafting a policy about tribal consultation and bringing it to the Board Policy Review Committee.

Member Tapqaq said she looked forward to strategic planning with the Portrait of a Graduate being a helpful tool.

Member Gregg said it's been a progressive year.

Member Tahbone announced there would be an upcoming Board Policy Review Committee meeting. Member Tahbone attended the Portrait of a Graduate discussion as a community member and looked forward to further discussion on it.

Member Tahbone congratulated Mrs. Leeper for retiring.

Member Tahbone congratulated the Salutatorian and Valedictorians.

Superintendent Burgess said there's lots of activities still happening.

Superintendent Burgess said she's excited about the discussion around a Portrait of a Graduate. Superintendent Burgess said she sent out invitations for activities to the board members and asked them to attend what they can.

UPCOMING EVENTS

- Tuesday, May 20, Work Session, 5:30 pm, NES Library
- Tuesday, June 10, Regular Meeting, 5:30 pm, NES Library/Zoom

ADJOURNMENT Member Gregg moved to	o adjourn at 7:16 pm.		
Weinser Gregg moved to	o aajoann at 7.10 pm.		
Darlene Trigg	Date	Marjorie Tahbone	Date
President, Board of Education		Vice President/Clerk, Board of Education	