AT A TRAINING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, AT 6:00 P.M., AUGUST 28, 2018, WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS:

<u>Present</u>: <u>Absent</u>:

Delma Abalos Ray Beaty, D.C. Dr. Steve Brown Carol Gregg Nelson Minyard Dr. Donna Smith Doyle Woodall

School Officials: Mike Adkins, David Harwell, Roy Garcia, Carolyn Gonzalez, Ann

McClarty, Bruce McCrary, David Morris, Gregory Nelson

Others: Larry Lee, Ruth Campbell, Elaine Sparks, Mary Franco

<u>Meeting Called to Order</u>: Doyle Woodall, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. [6:00 – 6:01 p.m.] Other: 1 minute

(Delma Abalos arrived at 6:17 p.m. and was present for the remainder of the meeting.)

Board of Trustees to Receive Texas Education Agency Senate Bill 1566
Training: In accordance with Texas Education Code §11.159, school district
Trustees are required to complete at least three hours of training on evaluating
and Improving Student Outcomes (EISO) once every two years. The State
Board of Education adopted this training requirement in amendments to 19
Texas Administrative Code §61.1 on April 13, 2018. New Board members have
120 days to complete the training. Larry Lee, Region 18ESC Leadership
Consultant provided this required training. [6:01 – 7:15 p.m.] Other: 74 minutes

No action required.

<u>Discuss and Finalize Application on the Letter of Interest for the Lone Star</u>

<u>Governance Exemplar Cohort</u>: Trustees discussed and finalized the Application on the Letter of Interest (LOI) for the Lone Star Governance Exemplar Cohort.

The Lone Star Governance (LSG) Exemplar Cohort is designed for high-performing governing teams – school boards with their superintendents – that are committed to continually improving their intense focus on one primary objective: improving student outcomes. The LOI provides governing teams the opportunity to highlight the extent to which they are already student outcomes focused and to demonstrate their commitment to further increasing their focus on improving student outcomes.

Completed letters of interest must be received no later than 6 p.m. CST on August 31, 2018. [7:16 – 7:31 p.m.] Other: 15 minutes

<u>24337</u>	Adjournment: Doyle Woodall, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 7:31 p.m.	
	Board President Doyle Woodall	Board Secretary Delma Abalos

LSG Time Use Tracker Totals

Other: 90 minutes