

GOVERNING BOARD AGENDA ITEM AMPHITHEATER UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 10

DATE OF MEETING: November 14, 2023

TITLE: Recognition of National Merit Scholarship Commended Students and Semifinalists

BACKGROUND:

We are proud to recognize the following students for being National Merit Scholarship Commended Students and Semifinalists:

National Merit Scholarship Commended Students:

Jacob German, Canyon del Oro High School Nathan Hartman, Canyon del Oro High School Gavin Meyers, Canyon del Oro High School Taryn Quelland, Canyon del Oro High School

Annalise Barrett, Ironwood Ridge High School Ashley Hanks, Ironwood Ridge High School

National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists:

Kevin Neese, Canyon del Oro High School Micah Neese, Canyon del Oro High School Leo Stealey-Euchner, Canyon del Oro High School

Kayden Brant, Ironwood Ridge High School Cooper Delp, Ironwood Ridge High School Emma Langlais, Ironwood Ridge High School

Students qualify to become semifinalists based on their scores on the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (<u>PSAT/NMSQT®</u>). Nationwide, this group of approximately 16,000 semifinalists represent less than one percent of all U.S. high school seniors. These very bright and talented young students have a chance to compete for nearly \$31 million in scholarship money for college.

To become a finalist, the students and their schools must submit a detailed scholarship application providing information about their academic achievements, community projects, leadership experience, employment, and honors they have received.

RECOMMENDATION:

This item is presented for the Governing Board's recognition.

INITIATED BY:

Matt P. Munger Associate Superintendent for Secondary Education

Date: November 3, 2023

Todd A. Jaeger, J.D., Superintendent