Official Minutes of the Oak Park Board of Education District 97 260 Madison Street, Oak Park, Cook County, Illinois August 19, 2019 Meeting

This meeting was held at the Brooks Middle School, located at 325 S. Kenilworth, Oak Park, Illinois.

Vice President Kim called the meeting to order at 6:12 p.m.

ROLL CALL

Present: Breymaier, Liebl, Moore, Kim, and Kearney

Absent: Broy, and Spurlock

Superintendent Dr. Carol Kelley, Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources Gina Herrmann, Also Present:

> Director of Communications Amanda Siegfried, Chief Academic and Accountability Officer Eboney Lofton, Senior Director of Equity Carrie Kamm, Senior Director of Technology Michael Arensdorff, Director of Special Education Donna Middleton, MTSS Director Faith Cole, Director of Curriculum Tawanda Lawrence, Principals Laura Zaniolo, Christine Zelaya, John Hodge, and

Board Secretary Sheryl Marinier.

EXECUTIVE SESSION DISCUSSION TOPIC

Moore motioned, seconded by Breymaier that the Board move into Closed Session for the purpose of Appointment, Employment, Compensation, Discipline, Performance, or Dismissal of Specific Employees or Legal Counsel for the District 5 ILCS 120/2(C)(1), Collective Negotiations 5 ILCS 120/2(C)(2)) at 6:12 p.m.

Moore, Breymaier, Liebl, and Kim Ayes:

Nays: None

Broy, Kearney, and Spurlock Absent:

Motion passed

OPEN SESSION

Moore moved, seconded by Liebl that the Board move into Open Session at 6:32 p.m. All members of the Board in attendance were in agreement. The meeting reconvened at 7:02 p.m.

PUBLIC COMMENT

PUBLIC COMMENT

DISCUSSION TOPIC

EQUITY POLICY IMPLEMENTATION PLAN

Dr. Kelley introduced the format for the evening. Community members in attendance were separated into six groups, two groups for pillars one through three. Guided discussion took place in each group. The community members were invited to share their opinions while note takes in each group recorded their feedback.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None

ADJOURNMENT ADJOURNMENT The Board Secretary adjourned the meeting at 8:00 p.m. **Board President Board Secretary**