ALEDO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES REGULAR MEETING August 15, 2011

MINUTES

BOARD MEETING

The regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Aledo Independent School District was held on Monday, August 15, 2011, beginning at 6:00 P.M. in the Aledo I.S.D. Board Room with the following members present: President Joe Dearing, Jr., Vice President Jay Stringer, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby Rigues, David Davis, Steve Bartley, and Hoyt Harris. A pre-meeting dinner was held at 5:30 P.M. in the Board Conference Room.

AGENDA

President Joe Dearing, Jr., opened the meeting for a budget workshop at 6:00 P.M. Earl Husfeld, CFO, presented the second of a series of budget proposals. The budget workshop ended at 6:55 P.M. President Dearing announced there would be a five minute break.

President Joe Dearing, Jr., called the meeting to order at 7:12 P.M.

President Joe Dearing, Jr., determined a quorum was present at this time.

Five students representing the Aledo FFA Chapter led everyone in the pledge of allegiance to the United States and Texas flags.

President Joe Dearing, Jr., opened the floor for Public Comment. There were none.

A motion was made by David Davis, seconded by Secretary Johnny Campbell, to approve the Consent Agenda, as presented by administration. Minutes – July 25, 2011 and August 8, 2011, Monthly Financial Report, Board Report, Check Payment List/Register, Consider Employment of Personnel, and Consider Approval of Changes to Various Local Board Policies Regarding Title IX and 504 Coordinators.

Motion was: 7 FOR (President Joe Dearing, Jr., Vice President Jay Stringer, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby Rigues, David Davis, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris)

0 AGAINST.

Mr. Dan Manning, Superintendent, reported:

- ~ District Events A list of events/times/places were mentioned to the Board as opportunities to participate in.
- ~ Projected Enrollment The enrollment number for August 15, 2011, was 4,632. The 2010-2011 school year ended with 4,601 students.
- ~ Instructional Materials Allotment Report Superintendent Manning and Kathy Allen, Executive Director of Curriculum reported to the Board the changes that will affect school districts for the next two years regarding textbooks and allocations.
- ~ Accountability Ratings for 2011 Denise Dugger, Executive Director of Professional Development and Accountability and Kathy Allen, Executive Director of Curriculum presented the Board with a power point and handout which reflected changes effective for 2011. The District ratings were also presented.
- ~ Summer School and ARI/AMI Expenditures Denise Dugger, Executive Director of Professional Development and Accountability presented the Board with the annual report on summer school expenditures and participation. The District only received enough funds this year to offer services to students in grades K-6.
- ~ ESY Data Cheryl Wooten, Director of Special Programs presented the Board with a report on special education extended school year services.

A motion was made by Hoyt Harris, seconded by David Davis, to approve the adoption of an order authorizing the execution and delivery of a substitute standby bond purchase agreement for the District's variable rate unlimited tax school building bonds, Series 2006-A, delegating authority to execute and deliver such substitution, authorizing amendments to the Series 2006-A bond order, and enacting provisions related thereto, as presented by administration. (See Attachment A.)

Motion was:

FOR (President Joe Dearing, Jr., Vice President Jay Stringer, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby Rigues, David Davis, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris)

0 AGAINST.

There were no budget amendments.

7

A motion was made by Vice President Jay Stringer, seconded by Steve Bartley, to approve changes to FNF (Local), as presented by administration.

Motion was:

FOR (President Joe Dearing, Jr., Vice President Jay Stringer, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby Rigues, David Davis, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris)

0 AGAINST.

A motion was made by Bobby Rigues, seconded by Secretary Johnny Campbell, to approve an early release waiver, as presented by administration. (See Attachment B.)

Motion was: 7

FOR (President Joe Dearing, Jr., Vice President Jay Stringer, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby Rigues, David Davis, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris)

0 AGAINST.

A motion was made by Steve Bartley, seconded by David Davis, to approve a modified schedule state assessment testing days waiver, as presented by administration. (See Attachment C.)

Motion was:

FOR (President Joe Dearing, Jr., Vice President Jay Stringer, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby Rigues, David Davis, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris)

0 AGAINST.

A motion was made by David Davis, seconded by Secretary Johnny Campbell, to approve a timeline for accelerated instruction waiver, as presented by administration. (See Attachment D.)

Motion was: 7

FOR (President Joe Dearing, Jr., Vice President Jay Stringer, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby Rigues, David Davis, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris)

0 AGAINST.

A motion was made by Bobby Rigues, seconded by Steve Bartley, to approve a teacher data portal of the Texas Assessment Management System waiver, as presented by administration. (See Attachment E.)

Motion was:

FOR (President Joe Dearing, Jr., Vice President Jay Stringer, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby Rigues, David Davis, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris)

0 AGAINST.

A motion was made by Bobby Rigues, seconded by Secretary Johnny Campbell, to approve a resolution approving adoption of GASB 54 Standards and Applications, as presented by administration. (See Attachment F.)

Motion was:

FOR (President Joe Dearing, Jr., Vice President Jay Stringer, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby Rigues, David Davis, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris)

0 AGAINST.

7

A motion was made by Secretary Johnny Campbell, seconded by Steve Bartley, to approve the Student Code of							
Conduct for 2011-2012 school year, as presented by administration.							
Motion was:	7	FOR (President Joe Dearing, Jr., Vice President Jay Stringer, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby Rigues, David Davis,					
		Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris)					

0 AGAINST.

A motion was made by Hoyt Harris, seconded by David Davis, to approve the 2011-2012 classroom teacher appraisal calendar, as presented by administration.

Motion Was: 7 FOR (President Joe Dearing, Jr., Vice President Jay Stringer, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby Rigues, David Davis, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris)

0 AGAINST.

A motion was made by Steve Bartley, seconded by David Davis, to approve the classroom teacher appraisers for the 2011-2012 school year, as presented by administration.

Motion Was: 7 FOR (President Joe Dearing, Jr., Vice President Jay Stringer, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby Rigues, David Davis, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris)

0 AGAINST.

At 8:37 P.M. the Board was called to executive session by President Joe Dearing, Jr., after citing Texas Government Code Section 551.074 to discuss personnel or to hear complaints against personnel.

The meeting was declared in open session by President Joe Dearing, Jr., at 8:52 P.M.

There was no action from Executive Session.

Trustee Comments/Acknowledgements:

The Board thanked everyone involved in providing information to keep them informed.

The Special Meeting called for August 29, 2011, will be held at 7:00 P.M.

President Joe Dearing, Jr., adjourned the meeting at 8:55 P.M.

SECRETARY		PRESIDENT		
	APPROVED		, 2011.	