## DRAFT

# Minutes of the May 22, 2023 - Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on May 22, 2023, at 6:01 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President David Caviness.

Members present: David Caviness, President; Anthony Hill, Vice President; Nichole Bentley, Secretary; Leigh Walker; Manish Sethi; Ranna Raval and Jobby Mathew.

A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on May 19, 2023 at 3:00 p.m.

## **NEW BUSINESS**

On May 15, 2023, the Coppell ISD Board of Trustees adopted an Order Declaring Results of the Trustee General Election held on May 6, 2023. A Certificate of Election was issued to the newly elected trustees at that time.

Carol Snowden, Notary Public, administered the Officer's Statement and Oath of Office to the newly elected Board members: Ranna Raval (Place 4), David Caviness (Place 5) and Jobby Mathew (Place 7)

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant; Diana Sircar; Dr. Angie Brooks; Kristen Eichel; Angela Brown; Gerry Miller; Evan Whitfield; Maria McCoy; Dr. Anita de la Isla; Brian Timm; Kit Pehl; Naveen Boppana; Greg Alexander and Amanda Simpson

Dr. Hunt and the Board of Trustees exercised a point of privilege to express their gratitude and appreciation to Chef Helen Duran for her many years of service to Coppell ISD students, staff and Board members.

Dr. Hunt provided district highlights and updates on the following topics:

- Graduation
- High School Athletes Signing Day
- CTE Certificate Ceremony
- Lakeside, Richard J Lee, Valley Ranch and Wilson Elementary Receive State Student Leadership Awards
- Community Support for the 2023 Bond
- I Heart CISD Campaign

#### **OPEN FORUM**

No one requested to speak during the Open Forum portion of the agenda.

Dr. Hunt took a point of privilege to also acknowledge and welcome Boy Scout Troup 840 who was in attendance at the Board meeting to earn their communications badge.

## DRAFT

Manish Sethi gave the invocation and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

At 6:41 p.m., President Caviness declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under Texas Government Code, Section 551.074 - Personnel Matters

President Caviness declared the Board in Open Session at 7:01 p.m.

President Caviness conducted the election of officers for the Board of Trustees.

Manish Sethi nominated David Caviness to the office of President of the Board of Trustees. Anthony Hill seconded the nomination. The vote for Trustee David Caviness was 7-0. Trustee David Caviness was re-elected to the office of President.

Jobby Mathew nominated to elect Anthony Hill to the office of Vice President of the Board of Trustees. Leigh Walkers seconded nomination. The vote for Anthony Hill was 7-0. Trustee Anthony Hill was re-elected to the office of Vice President.

Anthony Hill nominated to elect Nichole Bentley to the office of Secretary of the Board of Trustees. David Caviness seconded the nomination. Trustee Nichole Bentley was relected to the office of Secretary by a vote of 7-0.

## **DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS – SUPERINTENDENT**

- Safety and Well-Being Update Dr. Angie Brooks (Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum & Instruction) and Greg Alexander (Coordinator of Safety and Security)
- Quality Instruction and PLCs Evan Whitfield (Director of Science and PE), Dr. Anita de la Isla (Director of Language and Literacy), Maria McCoy (Director of Social Studies and LOTE) and Brian Timm (Director of Mathematics)
- Athletics and Fine Arts Kit Pehl (Athletic Director) and Gerry Miller (Director of Fine Arts)

At 8:56 p.m., President Caviness declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under Texas Government Code, Section 551.071 – Consult with Board Attorney.

President Caviness declared the Board in Open Session at 10:20 p.m.

# **CONSENT**

Manish Sethi made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve the minutes of regular meeting held on April 24, 2023 and workshop held on May 15, 2023
- 2. Approve Monthly Budget Amendments for May 2023
- 3. Approve Financial Report for April 2023
- 4. Approve Ideal Impact, Inc. Services Contract
- 5. Approve resolution to enter into Ideal Impact, Inc. Payment Plan Agreement

## DRAFT

- 6. Approve RFQ 300-23 for Organizational Strategic Plan Development and Related Communication Plan Strategy
- 7. Approve the employment of new professional personnel as recommended by the Superintendent

Jobby Mathew seconded the motion. The motion carried 5-0. Trustees Bentley and Raval were not present in the boardroom when the vote took place.

# **ACTION**

Anthony Hill made a motion to use of the Construction Manager-At-Risk purchasing method as allowed under Sections 44.031 and 44.038 of the Texas Education Code for the bond funded construction and renovation projects that are a result of the May 2023 bond election. The motion was seconded by Leigh Walker and passed 7-0.

A motion to approve the resolution declaring that the district reasonably expects to reimburse capital expenditures with respect to the Projects from funds on hand with proceeds of debt hereafter issued and this resolution shall constitute a declaration of official intent under the Regulations was made by Manish Sethi. The motion was seconded by Nichole Bentley and passed 7-0.

A motion to approve the Instructional Materials Allotment Funds as presented and not exceeding the amount of \$1,200,000.00 to support in the area of curriculum and instruction resources for campuses for the 2023-2024 school year was made by Anthony Hill and seconded by Ranna Raval. The motion passed 7-0.

A motion to postpone the recommended changes to the Board Operating Procedures to the next meeting was made by Manish Sethi and seconded by Jobby Mathew. The motion passed 7-0.

## **DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS – BOARD OF TRUSTEES**

- 2023 Bond Oversight Committee David Caviness
- TASB Quarterly Risk Management Fund Board Meeting, North Texas Area Association of School Boards (NTAASB) and Coppell Chamber of Commerce Education Committee – Anthony Hill
- Legislative Update Nichole Bentley

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Nichole Bentley made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Manish Sethi seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

The meeting adjourned at 10:57	p.m.
	David Caviness, Board President
	Nichole Bentley, Secretary