NEW FAIRFIELD BOARD OF EDUCATION NEW FAIRFIELD, CT

The New Fairfield Board of Education held a special meeting on Thursday, May 6, 2021, at 6:00 p.m. Virtual meeting via Zoom.

MINUTES – May 6, 2021

PRESENT: Peggy Katkocin (Chairman), Dominic Cipollone, Kimberly LaTourette, Samantha Mannion, Rick Regan, Ed Sbordone and Stephanie Strazza

ABSENT: Kathy Baker and Greg Flanagan

ALSO PRESENT: Superintendent of Schools Dr. Pat Cosentino, Assistant Superintendent of Schools Julie Luby, Director of Instructional Technology and Communications Dr. Karen Fildes and Director of Curriculum Alyce Misuraca

Network Administrator Paul Gouveia explained the procedure for the virtual meeting and noted that this virtual meeting is available to everyone, including members of the public.

I. CALL TO ORDER: Chairman Peggy Katkocin called the meeting to order at 6:01 p.m.

II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

III. DISCUSS VISION OF THE GRADUATE

Assistant Superintendent of Schools Julie Luby spoke of silver linings from COVID and ways that the district has become stronger during the pandemic. She spoke of attributes of a New Fairfield High School graduate. Members of the Board of Education and administrators broke out into breakout rooms to discuss their visions for the graduate and setting a purpose for all educators in New Fairfield.

The breakout rooms began at 6:10 p.m. and ended at 6:35 p.m.

There was a discussion that included important attributes of the graduate. Specific skills that are desired for the graduate included:

- The ability to know how to use news sources and how to evaluate facts.
- The ability to use technology wisely.
- The ability to have empathy and see other points of view, as well as critical thinking and research skills.
- The ability to be resilient and the ability to bounce back from an event.
- The ability to be self-aware and seek out support when needed.
- The ability to be emotionally and mentally well.

IV. ADJOURNMENT

MOTION: Peggy Katkocin made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 6:46 p.m. Rick Regan seconded the motion. **IN FAVOR:** Dominic Cipollone, Peggy Katkocin, Kimberly LaTourette, Samantha Mannion, Rick Regan, Ed Sbordone and Stephanie Strazza

Respectfully submitted, Suzanne Kloos