INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 831 Forest Lake, Minnesota

SCHOOL BOARD MEETING May 15, 2014

School Board Committee meetings were held at 6 and 7 pm.

A School Board Meeting of Independent School District No. 831, Forest Lake, Minnesota was called to order by President Rob Raphael at 8:00 pm on Thursday, May 15, 2014, at the School District Offices. At roll call the following members were present: Kathleen Bystrom, Julie Corcoran, Dan Kieger, Karen Morehead, Rob Rapheal, Gail Theisen, Erin Turner, and Superintendent Linda Madsen ex officio.

3.0 <u>CONSENT AGENDA ITEMS</u>: Member Morehead moved to approve Consent Agenda items 3.1-3.3. The motion was seconded by Member Theisen all members voted aye and the motion carried. Superintendent Madsen introduced Kelly Tschudy-Lafean as the new CLC Principal.

- 3.1 Approved the bills as of May 15, 2014
- 3.2 Approved Classified Personnel
 - A. <u>RESIGNATION:</u> Maines Jr., John – School Bus Driver, effective April 22, 2014
 - B. <u>RECOMMENDATION OF EMPLOYMENT:</u> Brimmer, Karl – Custodian, B shift at the Central Learning Center, effective May 20, 2014 (Open position)

Kirby, Megan – Cook Helper/Short Hour at Lino Lakes Elementary, 3.5 hours per day and 175 days per year, effective May 5, 2014. (Open position)

Stephenson, Tara – Noon Duty Supervisor I at Lino Lakes Elementary, 2 hours per day and 35 weeks per year, effective May 6, 2014. (Open position)

Truax, Robert – School Bus Driver, 5 hours per day and 37 weeks per year, effective May 6, 2014

C. <u>AUTHORIZATION OF TRANSFER</u>:

Pratt, Kevin – from Custodian II, B shift at Century Jr. High to Night Lead Custodian V, B shift at Southwest Jr. High, effective May 12, 2014. (Open position)

D. <u>LEAVE OF ABSENCE:</u>

Sheldon, Gerrie – Cook Helper/Short Hour at Southwest Jr. High, extend leave of absence from April 3, 2014 through July 21, 2014.

E. <u>REDUCTION OF POSITION HOURS</u>:

Anderson, Julie – Office Assistant IV at the Central Learning Center, from 8 hours per day and 52 weeks per year to 8 hours per day and 40 weeks per year, effective July 1, 2014.

Ulvin, Michelle – Technology Support Specialist VI at the Central Learning Center, from 8 hours per day and 52 weeks per year to 8 hours per day and 41 weeks per year, effective July 1, 2014.

3.3 Approved Licensed Personnel:

A. UNPAID LEAVE OF ABSENCE:

- 1. Forsythe, Aaron: 415 LOA for 2014-15.
- 2. Rajczyk, Tamara: 415 LOA for 2014-15.
- B. NON-CURRICULAR ASSIGNMENT (on non-contract status):
 - 1. Cullen, Brittany: .5 Yearbook (FL)
 - 2. Leventhal, Bruce: Jr Class Asst Adv & Prom (SR)
 - 3. Madison, David: .5 Trap Shooting Asst (SR)
 - 4. Malbraaten, Shannon: .5 Yearbook (FL)
 - 5. Murray, Collin: .5 Boys' Lacrosse Head 7-8 (SR)
 - 6. Rupar, Robert: Jazz Band Asst (CEN)
 - 7. Sauer, David: Math Masters (FL)
- C. CHANGE IN FTE:
 - 1. Bindman, Jancyn: from .8 FTE to .83 FTE effective at the start of the 2013-14 school year.
 - 2. Cooksey, Jonathan: from .85 FTE to 1.0 FTE effective at the start of the 2014-15 school year.
 - 3. Tauzell, Ann Marie: from .51 FTE to .67 FTE effective at the start of the 2014-15 school year.

- D. RESIGNATION:
 - 1. Budig, Bridget: resign effective end of 2013-14 school year.
 - 2. Garcia-Bernabeu, Jose: resign effective end of 2013-14 school year.
 - 3. Nelson, Angela: resign effective end of 2013-14 school year.
 - 4. Phelps, Meghan: resign effective end of 2013-14 school year.
- E. TRANSFER:

Tschudy-LaFean, Kelly: from Century Asst Principal to CLC Principal, effective 7/1/14.

4.0 OLD BUSINESS:

- 4.1 Approved General Benefits Group Employment Policies Adjustments -Member Turner moved to approve General Benefits Group Employment Policies Adjustment. The motion was seconded by Member Kieger by roll all members voted aye and the motion carried.
- 4.2 Approved Teacher Development and Evaluation Plan Member Kieger moved to approve Teacher Development and Evaluation Plan. The motion was seconded by Member Morehead by roll call all members voted aye and the motion carried.

As there was no further business, Member Bystrom moved to adjourn. The motion was seconded by Member Corcoran. All members present voted aye and the meeting adjourned at 8:15 pm.

Rob Rapheal

President

Kathleen Bystrom

Clerk