Draft

Minutes of the January 11, 2021 - Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on January 11, 2021 at 6:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President Nichole Bentley.

Members present: Nichole Bentley, President; Leigh Walker, Vice President; Manish Sethi, Secretary; Anthony Hill; and Neena Biswas

Members attending remotely: Tracy Fisher

Trustee David Caviness was not present.

A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on January 8, 2021 at 3:00 p.m.

Staff present: Bard Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant; Diana Sircar; Dr. Deana Dynis; Jeff Minn; Jennifer Villines; Amanda Simpson; Adam Bennett and James Holloway

Staff attending remotely: Dr. Greg Axelson; Kristen Streeter; Dr. Angie Applegate; and Angela Brown

DISTRICT HIGHLIGHTS

Campus Teacher of Year School Board Recognition Month

Cottonwood Creek Elementary Librarian Cynthia Alaniz Finalist for National Library Committee CMS North recognized as a Model Professional Learning Community by Solution Tree

AWARDS

Several Coppell ISD student groups received various awards and accolades:

- KCBY Lone Star Emmys
- Coppell Band UIL 6A State Marching Band Contest

INVOCATION AND PLEDGE

Manish Sethi gave the invocation and led the Pledge.

OPEN FORUM

The following community members spoke or had statements read aloud by a CISD staff member in Open Forum:

Draft

Samantha Saenz – in-person – Intent to Close New Tech

Dawei Wang – staff – GT Specialist Reductions

Roble Mantecon – in-person – Closing of New Tech

Denise Cuppett – staff – Potential Reductions and Cuts to Academic Programs

Elaine Lenahan – in-person – Budget Issues/NTH@C

Cathy Polakoff – staff – Proposed Budget Cuts

Andrea Brinneman – in-person - Why New Tech Should Not Close

Maria Brinneman – in-person – Why New Tech Should Not Close

James Fogle – in-person – Reasonable Accommodations per Americans Disabilities Act (ADA)

Simran Sethi – in-person – IB Cuts

Jenna Hussain – in-person – IB Cuts

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS - SUPERINTENDENT

Dr. Deana Dynis (Executive Director for Teaching & Learning) and Jeff Minn (Principal, Victory Place) provided a Strategic Design update. Dr. Dynis also presented information on the Gifted and Talented program. Information regarding the 2020-2021 Budget was provided by Diana Sircar, Chief Financial Officer.

CONSENT

Anthony Hill made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve minutes of regular Board meeting held on December 14, 2020
- 2. Approve Monthly Budget Amendments for January 2021
- 3. Approve Financial Report for December 2020
- 4. Approve the Superintendents recommendation for the hiring of professional personnel

Manish Sethi seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

ACTION

A motion was made by Tracy Fisher to approve the addition the presented course offerings to allow for the growth of the specific programs of study and increase the opportunities for our CTE learners. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion passed 6-0.

Anthony Hill made a motion to approve the annual financial audit for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2020, as presented. (Robert Lake from Rutherford, Taylor & Company presented the audit.) Manish Sethi seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Manish Sethi moved that the Board approve TASB Update 116 (LOCAL) policies as presented. Tracy Fisher seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

A motion to approve policies CQA (LOCAL) and FDA (LOCAL) as presented was made by Tracy Fisher and seconded by Anthony Hill. The motion passed 6-0.

Draft

Manish Sethi moved that the Order calling a School Board Trustee Election on May 1, 2021 be adopted as presented. Leigh Walker seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS – BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Tracy Fisher provided a legislative update and Manish Sethi updated the Board on Leadership TASB.

At 9:08 p.m., President Bentley declared the Board in Closed Session, as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 - Personnel Matters.

President Bentley declared the Board in Open Session at 9:48 p.m.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Leigh Walker and seconded by Manish Sethi to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried 6-0.

The meeting adjourned at 9:49 p.m.

Nichole Bentley, Board President
Leigh Walker, Vice President