DRAFT

Minutes of the January 22, 2007 - Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on January 22, 2007, at 6:01 p.m. in the Board Room of the Coppell Independent School District Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President Kathie Gautille.

Members present: Kathie Gautille, President; Cindy Wartner, Vice Presdient; Bennett Ratliff, Assistant Secretary; Mike Arthur; Susie Kemp; Scott Orr; and David Apple. A quorum was present.

Staff present: Dr. Jeff N. Turner, Superintendent; Kay Ryon, Assistant Secretary; Ralph Seeley; Sid Grant; Judy Denman; Lue Bishop; Michelle King; Linda Cook; Shanon Buerk; Tabitha Branum; Curriculum Staff; Chad Branum; Todd Kettler; Tamerah Ringo; Tracey Wallace; and Bria Michael

At 6:01 p.m. President Gautille declared the Board in closed session, as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Sections 551.074 (Personnel Matters), 551.072 (Deliberations regarding Real Property), and 551.0821 (Matter involving personally identifiable information of a student).

At 7:34 p.m. President Gautille declared the Board in Open Session.

The invocation was given by Scott Orr.

AWARDS

The following **CHS All-State Choir** students were recognized. They have been preparing since July for a prestigious spot on the Texas Music Educators Association All-State Choir.

Erin Alcorn (Soprano I) 5th Chair Priscilla Barnes (Alto II) 5th Chair Dane Erickson (Tenor I) 2nd Chair Kevin Valliere (Tenor I) 3rd Chair Brandon Perry (Bass II) 7th Chair Lauren Robertson (Soprano II) First Alternate Directed by Erin Witt

The following Academic All-State Football players were honored:

Kenny Greaves - Elite Team **Michael Shuman**-1st Team

2nd Team

Jacob Daugherty

Phillip Schreibfeder

Honorable Mention:

Cian Brown
Robert Boyles
Ryan Groff
Dillon Edwards
Harrison Montgomery
Chris Thai
Matt Drew
Chris Mulder
Jacob Rives

Coached by Mike Fuller

The Board and Dr. Turner had the pleasure this year of signing and sending out holiday cards with a great tree design on the cover. **Winona Martin**, the artist of this year's district holiday greeting card was recognized. She is a fifth grader at Valley Ranch Elementary and is under the art direction of Mrs. Jennifer Torres.

Fall Education Foundation Grant Recipients were honored. The Education Foundation funds innovative teaching grants twice a year for Coppell ISD teachers. This fall the Foundation awarded nearly \$46,000 through 12 grants, on 7 campuses, in 64 classrooms.

These teachers from CMS-North received a \$4,300 grant entitled "Poseidons Pupils."

Laura Williams
Stan Feighny
Christi LaTurner
Kim Pelt
Carrie Shoesmith
Duane Masengill
Jonathan Keathly
Donna Casto
Lynn Hevron

Rose Brock, Gail Cotting, Gail Cary, and Diane Ramsey from CMS-West received a \$5,000 grant entitled "Getting Graphic."

Sandra Braden, Robin Freeman, Maria Gardner, and Liz Romeike from Denton Creek received a grant for \$1,910 entitled "Sing, Giggle and Read!"

Denton Creek teachers Janet Dickerson, Martha Brown, Robin Freeman, Julie Huntsman, and Mary Kay Watson received a \$3,040 grant entitled "Reaching New Heights." Flip to Next Page

Robin Freeman, Don Kiehn, Cynthia Alaniz, Barbra Van Riper, Cheryl Melton, and Lisa Evans also from Denton Creek received a grant for \$880 entitled "Reader's Theatre: Making Fluency Fun!"

Another team from Denton Creek, Kathy Flatt, Courtney Jennings, Kathy Struck, Chris Cordell received a \$3,002 grant entitled "Making Reading Real."

The following **Pinkerton** teachers received a \$5,000 grant entitled "**Reading With Our I's**

Wide Open."

Dolly Wadlington

Lauren Clark

Angela Baker

Ginger Denton

Lara Wadlington

Sarah Carrigan

Kristin Patterson

Jodi Carter, Valerie Brown, Christine Guy, and D'Ann Green from Valley Ranch received a \$4,905 grant entitled "Making Way for Words Their Way."

Amanda Turner, Lillian Macy, and Lindsay Parker received a \$5,000 grant entitled "Wiggle Works: Guided Reading Edition."

Debra Marshall, Christine Myers, and Jonathan Fike received a \$2,660 grant entitled "BookWORMS (World of Reading ManiacS)." Flip to Next Page

Terri Waddell, Kathy Thedford, Lacey Conner, Malachi Ewbank, and Brenda Palmer from Cottonwood Creek received a \$5,000 grant entitled "The Road Less Traveled."

More Cottonwood Creek teachers received another \$5,000 grant entitled "CSI."

Amber Bailey

Lacey Conner

Kathy Thedford

Malachi Ewbank

Brian Choate

Stacy Napoles

Julie Jennings

Roxann Krautkramer

Carla Howard

Carolyn Ratliff

President Gautille thanked the campuses for the wonderful ways in which they expressed to the Board of Trustees appreciation for their service.

OPEN FORUM

Louise Fulk addressed the Board of Trustees regarding assistive technology in special education.

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS

Board President, Kathie Gautille, announced that Places 1, 2, and 3 on the Board of Trustees are up for re-election. The election will be held jointly with Dallas County on May 12, 2007. There will be workshop for prospective candidates in February.

She also gave a report on the continuing education hours for each Board member as follows:

David Apple – 32 ½ hours Dr. Mike Arthur – 136.75 hours Kathie Gautille – 266 hours Susie Kemp – 93 ½ hours Scott Orr – 68 hours Bennett Ratliff – 124 ½ hours Cindy Warner – 313.75 hours

These figures reflect the number of hours earned during the time period of January, 1998 through January, 2007.

The Board announced that they are beginning the process of submitting a package to nominate Dr. Turner as Superintendent of the Year.

Superintendent's Report - Michelle King and Jean Boyd presented the ARI/AMI Report. Dr. Turner reported that an Education Symposium will be held on February 15 and 22 at Coppell High School. He also stated that a committee will be formed to research and review options for the Academy High School.

CONSENT

David Apple made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve Minutes of December 18, 2006 meeting
- 2. Approve Financial report for December 2006
- 3. Approve budget amendments for 2006-2007

- 4. Approve Board Resolution to continue participation in the TASB BuyBoard Purchasing Cooperative (The Local Government Purchasing Cooperative)
- 5. Approve Shared Services Arrangement Agreement with Dallas Regional Day School Program for the Deaf
- 6. Approve Infinity Sound as the contractor to complete the renovation and upgrade of the sound system at CHS as specified in the Request for Proposal for the sum of \$60,895

Cindy Warner seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

ACTION

Scott Orr made amotion to approve an agreement for Arbitrage Rebate Compliance Services between Coppell ISD and First Southwest Asset Management, Inc., with authorization for the CFO to sign on behalf of CISD. Bennett Ratliff seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Cindy Warner made a motion to accept resignations for CISD professional personnel as per list presented. Susie Kemp seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Cindy Warner made a motion to accept new hires for CISD professional personnel as per list presented. David Apple seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Cindy Warner made a motion to uphold action of the Level III grievance. Mike Arthur seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

At 8:40 p.m., President Gautille declared the Board in closed session as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by section 551.074 (Personnel Matters).

President Gautille declared the Board in open session at 10:15 p.m.

Scott Orr made a motion to renew and extend the Superintendent's contract for one year (for a total of three years). Mike Arthur seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

The meeting adjourned at 10:15 p.m	1.
	Kathie Gautille Board President

Bennett	Ratliff, Sec	cretary	