

#### NORTH SLOPE BOROUGH SCHOOL DISTRICT

#### MEMORANDUM

**TO:** Qaiyaan Harcharek, President

Members of the School Board

THROUGH: Pauline Harvey, Superintendent

**FROM:** Chelsie Overby, Board Secretary

**DATE:** January 7, 2021

SUBJECT: Association of Alaska School Boards (AASB) Memo No. SB21-111

Leadership/Legislative Conference, February 6-7, 2021 (Action Item)

# **NSBSD Policy Manual:**

Board Bylaw 9240, Board Development:...Board members need to participate in professional development activities that help them understand their responsibilities, stay abreast of new developments in education, and learn new ways to cope effectively with the problems they confront.

## **Issue Summary:**

The Board may appoint its members to attend the AASB Leadership/Legislative Conference held on February 6-7, 2021 with the administrations recommendation of appointing the legislative committee members, Muriel Brower and Robyn Burke (Qaiyaan Harcharek as alternate), to attend.

The legislative aspect of the conference includes scheduling appointments with legislators on the week of February 8-15, 2021.

## **Background:**

The Legislative/Leadership Conference will include discussion on: Superintendents Contracts; Communicating over the "Great Divide"; How do we communicate during these Pandemic Times; Mindfulness for the School Board; Legislative Process & Context; Key Legislative Issues & Bill Review; Creating the Message; and Like-Size District Forums.

For the week of February 8-15, 2021, the Administration will schedule appointments with legislators. Attached is the agenda for the conference and below is the current list of legislators and their committees:

## **State Department of Education**

Commissioner Michael Johnson

#### **State House Education Committee**

Representative Harriet Dumond, Co-Chair Representative Andi Story, Co-Chair Representative Grier Hopkins, Member Representative Chris Tuck, Member Representative Tiffany Zulkosky, Member

Representative Mike Prax, Member

Representative DeLena Johnson, Member

#### **State Senate Education Committee**

Senator Gary Stevens, Chair Senator Shelley Hughes, Vice Chair Senator John Coghill, Member Senator Mia Costello, Member Senator Tom Begich, Member

#### **State House Finance Committee**

Representative Neal Foster, Co-Chair
Representative Jennifer Johnston, Co-Chair
Representative Dan Ortiz, Vice-Chair
Representative Andy Josephson, Member
Representative Bart LeBon, Member
Representative Adam Wool, Member
Representative Ben Carpenter, Member
Representative Cathy Tilton, Member
Representative Kelly Merrick, Member
Representative Colleen Sullivan-Leonard, Member

# **Senate Finance Committee**

Senator Bert Stedman, Co-Chair Senator Natasha von Imhof, Co-Chair Senator David Wilson, Member Senator Click Bishop, Member Senator Lyman Hoffman, Member Senator Donald Olson, Member Senator Bill Wielechowski, Member

#### **State House Health & Social Services**

Representative Vacant, Member

Representative Tiffany Zulkosky, Chair Representative Ivy Spohnholz, Vice Chair Representative Matt Claman, Member Representative Harriet Drummond, Member Representative Geran Tarr, Member Representative Sharon Jackson, Member Representative Lance Pruitt, Member

#### **Senate Health & Social Services**

Senator David Wilson, Chair Senator Natasha von Imhof, Vice Chair Senator Mike Shower, Member Senator Cathy Giessel, Member Senator Tom Begich, Member

## **Proposed Motion:**

"I move that the NSBSD Board of Education approve the Legislative Committee members, Muriel Brower and Robyn Burke (Qaiyaan Harcharek as alternate), to attend the AASB Leadership/Legislative Conference on February 6-7, 2021 in addition to the February 8-15, 2021 scheduled legislative appointments.

Moved By:	Seconded By:
Vote:	