AT A TRAINING MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BUILDING CONFERENCE ROOM $E-2^{nd}$ FLOOR, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, AT 12:00 P.M., JANUARY 14, 2013, WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS:

Present: Absent: Yollie Wilkins

Fay Batch Ray Beaty, DC Luis Galvan

Dr. Donnie Norwood

Tom Pace

Dr. Donna C. Smith

School Officials: Hector Mendez, Dr. H.T. Sanchez, David Finley, Wendy Hines

Others: David Boutin, Tanya Hughes, Jacqui Gore, Terry Richie, Arleene

Loyd, Mike George, Damon Jackson, Carolyn Gonzalez, David Harwell, Greg Nelson, Dr. David Watts, Dolores Vick, Thomas Blackstone, Cathy Mincberg, Mike Atkins, Mike Adkins, Elaine

Sparks, Mary Franco

<u>21910</u> Meeting Called to Order: Ray Beaty, D.C., Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order at 12:03 p.m.

(Dr. Donna Smith was absent for this portion of the meeting.)

Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law: Ray Beaty, D.C., Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.

(Dr. Donna Smith was absent for this portion of the meeting.)

Board to Receive Sustainability Training from the Center for Reform of School Systems (CRSS): Cathy Mincberg, President and Chief Executive Officer of CRSS, provided sustainability training to the Board of Trustees. CRSS governance training is focused on improving student achievement by forming powerful, proactive school board and superintendent teams. A number of community members attended the training – representatives from Odessa College, UTPB, the Chamber of Commerce Education Committee, and the Education Foundation.

(Dr. Donna Smith arrived at 12:09 p.m. and was present for the remainder of the meeting.)

(Ray Beaty, D.C. departed at 2:05 p.m. and was absent for the remainder of the meeting.)

<u>21913</u>	Adjournment: meeting at 2:13	•	Batch,	Board	Vice	President,	adjourned	the	Board
	Board Presider Ray Beaty, D.C.					Board Sec Dr. Donna			