INTERMEDIATE SCHOOL DISTRICT 917

A School Board Meeting of the Intermediate School District 917 School Board was held on Tuesday, April 1, 2025, at 1300 145th Street East, Rosemount, MN, in the 917 Board Room.

<u>Members Present:</u> Tom Bennett, Kim Baker, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, Mark Zuzek.

Members Absent: Monica Weber and Superintendent Dr. Michael Favor.

<u>Also Present:</u> Nicole Flesner, Melissa Schaller, Mark Johns, Brooke Peterson, Marci Levi-Maguire, Kim Humann, Rira Bullece, Amy Swaney, and Linda Berg

School Board Chair Tom Bennett called the meeting to order at 5:57 PM.

The Pledge of Allegiance was conducted in the prior work session.

1. Motion by Byron Schwab, seconded by Lesley Chester, to approve the agenda. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Kim Baker, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion passed.

Dr. Melissa Schaller read the information on Sharlene Nagle – ESP at Cedar and the non-licensed 917 employee for the spring quarter.

Amy Swaney introduced Rira Bullecer, teacher at Concord Education Center, as the licensed 917 employee of the spring quarter.

- 2. Motion by Cindy Nordstrom, seconded by Hannah Simmons, to approve the consent items, as presented. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Kim Baker, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion passed.
 - Minutes: March 5, 2024 Regular School Board Meeting
 - Personnel: New hires: Nicole Broadwater, Education Support Professional, effective March 3, 2025. Cydney Mayes, Education Support Professional, effective March 3, 2025. Jillian Sparaco, Education Support Professional, effective March 17, 2025. Kelsey O'Brien, Education Support Professional, effective March 31, 2025. *Change in Status:* Stephanie Betley, Assistant Principal to Special Education Assistant Director/Principal, effective July 1, 2025. AJ (Amanda) Boehmer, Assistant Principal to Special Education Assistant irector/Principal, effective July 1, 2025. Amy Dawson, Speech Language Pathologist, 1.0 FTE decrease to 0.6 FTE, for the 2025-2026 School Year only, effective July 1, 2025. Andrea Duesing, Education Support Professional to Teacher, effective February 24, 2025. Amanda Peters, Teacher, 1.0 FTE decrease to 0.8 FTE, for the 2025-2026 School Year only, effective July 1, 2025. Ann Strom, School Social Worker, 1.0 FTE decrease to 0.95 FTE for the 2025-2026 School Year only, effective July 1, 2025. Matthew Newquist, BCBA, 1.0 FTE decrease to 0.85 FTE for the 2025-2026 School Year only, effective July 1, 2025. Kim Martin FTE reduction, Teacher, 0.8 FTE decrease to 0.6 FTE for the 2025-2026 School Year only, effective July 1, 2025. Resignations and terminations: Mikayla Coops, Education Support Professional, effective February 26, 2025. Jai Lea Vang, Education Support Professional, effective February 26, 2025. Diamonique Williams, Education Support Professional, effective March 7, 2025. Retirements: Joni Erie, Education Support Professional, effective June 11, 2025. Judy Stoos, Education Support Professional, effective June 11, 2025. Don Williams, Teacher, effective June 12, 2025.
- 3. Motion by Byron Schwab, seconded by Hannah Simmons, to approve the bills from February 26, 2025, to March 25, 2025, wire transfers, and investment report as presented. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Kim Baker, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, Mark Zuzek.

Voting naye: none. Motion passed.

- 4. Board Member Hannah Simmons, introduced the following resolution and waived the reading: Resolution Terminating Probationary Teachers. The motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Mark Zuzek, and upon vote being taken thereon, the following voted in favor thereof: Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Kim Baker, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion passed. (Addendum A.)
- 5. Board Member Mark Zuzek, introduced the following resolution and waived the reading: Resolution Proposing to Place Teachers on Unrequested Leave of Absence. The motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Cindy Nordstrom, and upon vote being taken thereon, the following voted in favor thereof: Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Kim Baker, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion passed. (Addendum B.)
- 6. Motion by Byron Schwab, seconded by Lesley Chester, to approve the lead teachers for 2025-2026, as presented. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Kim Baker, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion passed. (Addendum C.)
- 7. Motion by Kim Baker, seconded by Cindy Nordstrom, to approve the Lease, Facilities Use and Agreement with DCTC, as presented. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Kim Baker, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion passed. (Addendum D.)
- 8. Motion by Lesley Chester, seconded by Hannah Simmons, to approve the Administrative Variance for 2025-2026, as presented. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Kim Baker, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion passed. (Addendum E.)
- 9. Motion by Cindy Nordstrom, seconded by Byron Schwab, to approve the following policies on a first and final reading: 101 Legal Status of the School District; 101.1 The Name of the School District; 103 Complaints Students, Employees, Parents, Other Persons; 110 School District Boundaries; 413 Harassment and Violence; and 501 Weapons. 491 Mandatory Covid-19 Vaccination or Testing and Face Coverings– Remove this policy. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Kim Baker, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion passed. (Addendum F.)
- 10. Meeting was adjourned. There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 6:05 PM.

The next regular School Board Meeting will be Tuesday, May 6, 2025, at 5:15 PM.	

Clerk		