

GOVERNING BOARD AGENDA ITEM AMPHITHEATER UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 10

Patrick Nelson, Superintendent

DATE OF MEETING: November 12, 2013 **Recognition of National Merit Scholarship Semi-Finalists** TITLE: **BACKGROUND:** We are proud of the nine Amphitheater Public School District students who were recently named as National Merit Scholarship Semi-Finalists. The students are Thomas Budinger from Amphitheater High School; Evan Cramb, Rebecca Gosla, Abigail O'Conner, and Jacob Stockton from Canyon del Oro High School; and Julia Finfrock, Leo Hamerlynck, Scott Mahan, and Haley Petersen from Ironwood Ridge High School. Students qualify to become semifinalists based on their scores on the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/SMSQT). Nationwide this group of approximately 16,000 semifinalists represent less than one percent of all U.S. high school seniors. These very bright and talented young students have a chance to compete for thousands of dollars in scholarship money for college. To become a finalist, the students and their schools must submit a detailed scholarship application providing information about their academic achievements, community projects, leadership experience, employment, and honors they have received. **RECOMMENDATION:** This is presented for the Board's information and recognition. **INITIATED BY:** Train helm Monica Nelson, Associate Superintendent Date: November 4, 2013