Board of School Trustees Hillsboro, Texas

1782 - Minutes of Regular Board Meeting August 14, 2017

The Board met in a Regular Board Meeting, August 14, 2017 beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the Hillsboro ISD Administration Office Board Room, 121 East Franklin Street, Hillsboro, Texas 76645.

Members present: Chris Teague, President

John Sawyer, Secretary Gerardo Carbajal Amanda Scarborough

Members absent: Lupe Mancha, Vice-President

Norman Baker Stephanie Johnson

In attendance were: Superintendent Vicki Adams, Joe Adams, Sheila Bowman, Angela Boyd, Paula Cox, Cindy Darden, Donald Gordon, Kathy Groppel, Keith Hannah, Becky Montgomery, Raymond Nors, Tiffanye Oliver, Cathy Patterson, Barbara Robinson, Dale Snyder, Stephanie Tucker, and Dustin McDonald from The Reporter.

Chris Teague, Board President, called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. with a quorum present.

The invocation was delivered by John Sawyer. Chris Teague led the pledge.

Public Comments – none

15425 – Motion by Gerardo Carbajal, seconded by Amanda Scarborough to approve the consent agenda with no changes.

Vote: Aye unanimous 4/0

Correspondence to the board – A thank you note was read from Schivonne John for the memorial books placed in campus libraries.

15426 – Motion by Gerardo Carbajal, seconded by Amanda Scarborough to approve the 2017-2018 HISD Student Code of Conduct with no changes.

Vote: Aye unanimous 4/0

Campus handbooks were reviewed.

Hillsboro ISD Employee Handbook was reviewed.

15427 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Gerardo Carbajal to approve the Adjunct Faculty Agreement, Hill County Extension Office.

Vote: Aye unanimous 4/0

15428 – Motion by Amanda Scarborough, seconded by John Sawyer to approve the Resolution Regarding Extracurricular Status of 4-H Organization.

Vote: Aye unanimous 4/0

15429 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Gerardo Carbajal to accept Business Supplies bid on office supplies for the 2017-2018 school year.

Vote: Aye unanimous 4/0

15430 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Amanda Scarborough to accept Dixie LP-Gas's bid on petroleum products for the 2017-2018 school year.

Vote: Aye unanimous 4/0

15431 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Amanda Scarborough to approve applying for a TEA Early Release Waiver.

Vote: Aye unanimous 4/0

Angela Boyd reviewed the Hillsboro ISD Wellness Policy with the board.

Gerardo Carbajal will be HISD's 2017 TASB Delegate with Norman Baker being the Alternate Delegate.

Reports to the Board

Director and Principal reports were given to the board in the packet.

Angela Boyd reviewed Hillsboro ISD Community Engagement Ratings for 2017.

Becky Montgomery presented the Bilingual/ESL Report to the board.

Superintendent's Report

- Facilities all roofing projects are complete, the remodeling to add additional classrooms at Junior High has been completed.
- District Opening is August 15th, 8:00 @ HHS
- Meet the Eagles, August 25th

- HISD Educational Foundation Open House, August 16th @ 4:00
- TASA/TASB Convention, Dallas, October 6 8
- September Board meeting will include a reception for professional staff new to HISD
- Special Called Meeting for Budget & Tax Rate, August 31st @ 6:00

President Teague announced the Board will now recess this open session and convene in a closed meeting to discuss the following item(s) listed on our agenda this evening as allowed by the Texas Government Code (and/or the Texas Education Code):

Agenda Item #20 as permitted by Gov't Code §551.074 – Personnel Matters Agenda Item #21 as permitted by Gov't Code §551.071 – Real Property

"No voting will take place in the closed meeting. Any action the board wishes to take as a result of discussion will take place in open session, 6:22 p.m."

President Teague announced the board has reconvened in open session, 6:42 p.m.

Hired through the summer hiring process by the superintendent per board policy were Erica Allen, Megan Allred, Anne Bankes, Lindsey Bates, Margie Briggs, Jenna Chambers, Shelby Cook, Paulo Gonzalez, Glenda Gregory, Christina Gresham, Riana Hewett, Mark Howell, Janissa Ivy, Bill Jenkins, Hannah Kellar, Jennifer Kolar, Kay Martinez, Amy Reeves, Sarah Sales, Tara Sullivan, Victoria Thompson, Jessica Ward, and Amanda Whitlock..

15432 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Amanda Scarborough to adjourn the meeting at 6:43 p.m.

Vote:	Aye unanimous	4/0		
Presid	ent		Secretary	