#### **REGULAR BOARD MEETING**

#### **OCTOBER 21, 2013**

The Celina Independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, October 21, 2013 at the Celina Independent School District Administration Offices at 205 S Colorado, Celina, TX 75009 in Room 4 and the Board Room.

At 6:15 PM, Choc Christopher called the Dinner/Discussion session to order in Room 4 of the Administration Office. Members present included Choc Christopher, Pam Peters, Kelly Juergens, Todd Snyder, Chuck Hansen, Tim Looper, and Jeff Gravley. Staff members present included Donny O'Dell, Starlynn Wells, Rick DeMasters, Bill Hemby, Lew Kennedy, John Mathews, and Lana Brooks.

#### **BOARD DINNER/DISCUSSION:**

Discuss Agenda Items Legislative Legal Updates Video TASB Legal Seminar at Texas A&M Commerce Board Hours Discuss Food Service Audit

At 6:55 PM President Choc Christopher closed the dinner session.

At 6:58 PM Board President Choc Christopher called the regular meeting of the Celina Independent School District's Board of Trustees to order in the Board Room of the CISD Administration Offices. Choc Christopher led the pledge and Pam Peters gave the invocation.

**MEMBERS PRESENT:** Choc Christopher, Jeff Gravley, Chuck Hansen, Kelly Juergens, Pam Peters and Todd Snyder.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Tim Looper.

**SCHOOL OFFICIALS & VISITORS PRESENT:** Donny O'Dell, Rick DeMasters, Starlynn Wells, Bill Hemby, Starla Martin, Lew Kennedy, John Mathews, Dave Wilson, Karen Walker, Lori Gibbs, Misti Warrick and Lana Brooks.

**OPEN FORUM:** No one spoke on Agenda or Non-Agenda items.

#### **CONSENT/CONFIRMATION AGENDA ITEMS.**

Kelly Juergens moved and Pam Peters seconded the motion to approve the minutes of the September 16, 2013 Regular Board meeting and the October 14, 2013 Special Team of Eight Training, Monthly Cash Distributions/Cash Balance/Investment Report and Budget Amendments. Motion Carried 6-0.

## **INFORMATION/CONFIRMATION AGENDA ITEMS:**

Brian Grubbs gave the board an update on outstanding bonds and sale of future bonds.

Mr. O'Dell presented the Principals and Assistant Principals with a gift card on behalf of the administration and board of trustees in honor of Principal's Appreciation Month.

## **ACTION/BRIEFING AGENDA ITEMS:**

Jeff Gravley moved and Pam Peters seconded the motion to approve the Texas Taxpayer and Student Fairness Coalition Invoice. Motion Carried 6-0.

Kelly Juergens moved and Chuck Hansen seconded the motion to approve the Certified Tax Roll from the Collin County Tax Appraiser. Motion Carried 6-0.

Jeff Gravley moved and Pam Peters seconded the motion to approve the \$5,000 donation for the 7<sup>th</sup> Grade Girls soccer program. Motion Carried 6-0.

Todd Snyder moved and Kelly Juergens seconded the motion to approve the increase for an adult breakfast. Motion Carried 6-0.

Jeff Gravley moved and Chuck Hansen seconded the motion, after some discussion, to approve the Attendance Incentive as presented by Mr. O'Dell. Motion Carried 6-0.

After each of the principals presented their Campus Improvement Plans Todd Snyder moved and Chuck Hansen seconded the motion to approve the CIP's as presented. Motion Carried 6-0.

Jeff Gravley moved and Chuck Hansen seconded the motion to table Update 98 (LEGAL) until the (LOCAL) is distributed. Motion Carried 6-0.

# At \_\_\_\_\_ PM Choc Christopher recessed the open session and convened the Board in closed session, pursuant to Texas Government code, Chapter 551, including, but not limited to Section 551.074 – Personnel.

- A. Personnel
  - 1. Professional Staff

At \_\_\_\_\_\_ PM Choc Christopher recessed the closed session and reconvened in open session to vote on matters considered in closed session in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, to take action necessary regarding personnel.

## ACTION TAKEN ON ITEMS IN CLOSED SESSION:

No Closed Session was needed.

## **ADJOURNMENT:**

Kelly Juergens moved and Todd Snyder seconded the motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried 6-0.

The meeting adjourned at 8:45 PM.

Choc Christopher, President

Kelly Juergens, Secretary