Regular Meeting February 11, 2025

The meeting was called to order by President Tolesia Smith-Davis at 6:00 pm.

Members present were Jason Bonner, Rusty Mauldin, Michael Williams, Tolesia Smith-Davis, Leah Cooper, Joey Romano, and Kirstin Johnson.

District personnel present were Michael Walker, Mike Wood, Clint Coyne, Lynn Phillips, Kellie Tolleson, Mitzi Neely, Kimberly McDonald, Lindsey Whitaker, Tim Phy, Terry Johnson, Reba Ball, Glenda Harrington, Mandy Martinez, Aaron Godwin, Kari Hollander, Amber Hitchcock, Dana Skinner, Katherine Bellini, Sissy Mauldin, and Rebecca Pearl.

Others present included several students and their family members.

Mr. Williams gave the invocation.

Ms. Smith-Davis led everyone in the Pledge to the American Flag.

There was no one present for Public Comment.

Campus and Administrative reports were given at this time. Mr. Terry Johnson brought up Ms. Mandy Martinez who recognized numerous JES students who competed and medaled in their recent UIL competition. Mr. Johnson then recognized the staff of the month Ms. Reba Ball, Ms. Glenda Harrington, and Mr. Aaron Godwin. He then introduced the students of the month Wynter Cooksie, Essence Hopes, Elijah Horan, Peyton Harris, Wyatt Corbett, Ryder Goode, Dahla Quada, Ja'Quann King, and Aynslee Davers. As part of the agenda item associated with School Board Appreciation, there were some treats and other small tokens of appreciation provided for the Trustees by the campuses. Dr. Tim Phy introduced Ms. Katherine Bellini and the junior high school student council who presented the board with a token of appreciation. Ms. Mitzi Neely then recognized several junior high students who placed in their recent UIL competition. High school students Nicholas Woods and Aiden Cooner introduced and played a thank you video of staff and students thanking the school board members. The board was thankful for the recognition.

Mr. Coyne gave a facilities update which included an update of the junior high roof and a new ticketing system. There are projects in queue to carry out once the weather clears up including painting the trim on the transportation and technology buildings as well as clean-up of the bus barn and surrounding areas. Mr. Coyne also mentioned he and Mr. Walker have a meeting with Region 7 Head Start next week to discuss preparations for the move to the elementary campus next year.

A motion was made by Ms. Cooper and seconded by Mr. Mauldin to approve a contract with the County and the City in regard to utilizing a shared election administrator and the associated costs. Motion carried 7-0.

Mr. Walker recommended board approval calling for a board election to take place on May 3, 2025, for the purpose of electing three (3) school trustees for full three-year terms associated with places 1, 2 and 3; and also, for the remaining 2-years left in the term associated with place 7 after a resignation from current board member Mr. Williams. Also included is the allowance for early voting to take place from 8:00 am-5:00 pm each weekday beginning April 22, 2025, through April 29, 2025. Motion by Mr. Mauldin, seconded by Mr. Williams to call for the board election for all associated positions and early voting. Motion carried, 7-0.

Dr. Phillips gave the TEA Annual Report stating that she feels good about where the district is currently. Benchmark levels at this point are where the district was at the end of last year. Overall, the district is showing great improvement. There are still areas to work and improve on and those are being addressed. TEA Teacher Incentive Designation numbers have also increased, which is a great motivator for district staff.

Dr. Phillips gave a report related to progress measures, which are required by TEA. These goals address the areas of early childhood reading and math literacy. She pointed out first grade had the biggest jump in scores for reading, almost a 19% increase. Other grade levels and areas showed improvement in scores as well. Dr. Phillips did mention that she would like to administer testing in February instead of January next year to allow the younger students to settle back into routines after being off for the Christmas holidays. Dr. Phillips was pleased with the growth and the positive direction the district is headed in this regard. No action was necessary for this agenda item.

A motion was made by Mr. Mauldin to approve the 25-26 school calendars, as presented. Motion was duly seconded by Ms. Johnson. Motion carried, 7-0.

Dr. Phillips explained the need for approval of the School Improvement Strategy for the junior high as related to the ESF Focused Support Grant awarded in 2023. The junior high had 6 strategy options to choose from and chose Implementation of Open Education resource or another State Board of Education approve High Quality Instructional Material. Mr. Romano made a motion to approve the targeted improvement plan for 2025-2026 school year. Motion was seconded by Ms. Cooper, motion carried 7-0.

Mr. Williams made a motion to approve the consent agenda which included previous minutes, budget amendments related to gas line repair, and a policy update. Motion was duly seconded by Mr. Mauldin. Motion carried, 7-0.

The Board convened into executive session at 6:54 pm in order to discuss various personnel needs. The Board reconvened into open session at 7:23 pm.

Mr. Walker recommended the Board approve the personnel needs as presented:

Terry Johnson, Certified Professional, 2-year term Michael Baysinger, Certified Professional, 2-year term Tim Phy, Certified Professional, 2-year term Lindsey Whitaker, Certified Professional, 2-year term Joel Windham, Certified Professional, 2-year term Troy Tatum, Certified Professional, 2-year term Mike Wood, Non-Certified Professional, 2-year Lynn Phillips, Certified Professional, 2-year Clint Coyne, Certified Professional, 2-year term Jack Pearl, Non-Certified Professional, 2-year Ty Taylor, Certified Professional, 2-year term Jay Patrick, Non-Certified Professional, 2-year Paul Dutton, Non-Certified Professional, 12 month Brooke Valverde, Non-Certified Professional, 12 month Barbra Cox, Non-Certified Professional, 12 month Sissy Mauldin, Non-Certified Professional, 12 month Lisa Robinson, Certified Professional, 12 month term Stephanie Holman, Non-Certified Professional, 11 month Mindi Cox, Certified Professional, 10.5 month Mitzi Neely, Certified Professional, 12 month half-time term

Motion by Ms. Cooper to approve the personnel needs, as presented. Motion was seconded by Mr. Romano. Motion carried, 7-0.

Due to no other business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:24 pm.

President's Signature

Secretary's Signature