ALEDO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES REGULAR MEETING June 19, 2017

MINUTES

BOARD MEETING

The Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Aledo Independent School District was held on Monday, June 19, 2017, beginning at 6:00 P.M. in the Aledo I.S.D. Board Room with the following members present: President Jay Stringer, Secretary Jennifer Loftin, Bobby J Rigues, Forrest Collins, and Julie Turner. Dr. David Tillman arrived at 6:12 p.m.

AGENDA

President Jay Stringer called the meeting to order at 6:03 P.M.

President Jay Stringer determined a quorum was present at this time.

Trent Smith, Templeton Demographics, presented the Spring 2017 Demographic update.

Dr. Derek Citty reviewed the suggested updates for the Board Operating Procedure Manual including the revision of attendance zone maps, the 96 hours related to the release of the board agenda, the Board self-evaluation, the section relating to the policy adoption and the duties and responsibilities of the Board Secretary. He will bring the BOP back at the next meeting for approval. The Board decided to cancel the Special Board Workshop scheduled for June 26 and will discuss goal setting at the October meeting.

Dr. Citty led a discussion of moving the board meetings to Tuesday or Thursday evenings and the 2017-2018 Board Calendar. It was decided that due to Board member scheduling conflicts, the meetings will remain on the third Monday of each month. Dr. Citty will bring the calendar back to the Board for review in July and approval in August.

Forrest Collins spoke about the Board's responsibility concerning the Cultural Inclusiveness Plan and it was suggested that this item be moved to a special meeting work session to change some things around and name it differently. Bobby J Rigues reminded the Board that they need to respect the work that SHAC put in this plan. Dr. David Tillman suggested that it might become a topic for Parent University then allow parents to have those conversations with their kids.

A recess was called at 7:02 p.m. The meeting reconvened at 7:13 p.m.

President Jay Stringer led everyone in the pledges of allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags.

A moment of silent prayer or reflection was observed.

Lynn McKinney, Deputy Superintendent, and Forrest Collins recognized the Boys and Girls Golf Teams, the Texas History Day students, and teacher Karey Moore, the 2017 Ernest and Sarah Butler Award for Excellence in Science Teaching winner. Certificates of completion were given to all the Bearcat Academy graduates and a special recognition and award was given to outgoing board member David Davis for his nine years of service to the Aledo ISD School Board.

Dr. Derek Citty, Superintendent, announced district events including the Summer Leadership Institute June 21-24, July 4 holiday, and the next regular board meeting on July 17. Dr. Citty gave a status report on each of his 2017 goals and gave each board member a book 'Make Your Bed" for a long year of hard work. Dr. Citty read a letter that he is sending to McCall parents and staff tomorrow concerning the resignation of Jason Beaty. Ten employee names were drawn to receive \$250 for the Terry and Helen Hyles Spring perfect attendance awards. Those names were Kristopher Grgurich, Fred Jones, Susan Jones, Rhiannon Liddell, Olivia Schlaegel, Derek Vierling, Joseph Qualls, Karen Lasater, Judith Ates, and Mandy Jane Lindsay.

President Jay Stringer commended Board members for serving on the Education Foundation, Community Partners and Legislative committees and asked if other board members would like to serve and upon suggesting that another member serve on the Legislative committee along with him, Bobby Rigues welcomed Forrest Collins to serve with him.

Jennifer Loftin announced the Education Foundation golf tournament had a great turn out and they grossed over \$60,000.

Dr. David Tillman reported the Community Partners have sent out a round of letters to area businesses to join them.

Bobby J Rigues reported to Trustees that the 85th Legislative Session is over with a Special Session being called for July 18 with 19 issues to discuss. These include Special Needs voucher, \$1000 unfunded teacher raises, flexibility in teacher hiring, the bathroom issue, teacher pay deductions, property tax reform and SB 1566.

President Jay Stringer opened the floor for Public Comment. Robert Cox spoke concerning the budget and teacher salaries, Tamara Lawrence discussed the Cultural Inclusiveness Plan, Arlene Chapin spoke about the resignation of Jason Beaty, Luella Bullock addressed her concerns of Board Policy BED (LOCAL), Jessica Brown spoke about the Superintendent goals, and David Denman spoke concerning personnel.

A motion was made by Bobby J Rigues, seconded by Dr. David Tillman to approve the minutes from the board meeting on May 15, 2017, the monthly financial report, 2017-2018 lunchroom prices, E-Rate, and technology purchase.

Motion was:

6 FOR

0 AGAINST

A recess was called at 8:34 p.m. The meeting reconvened at 8:41 p.m.

Jay Stringer introduced the Administrative Reports:

- ~ CTE Needs Assessment Mary Smith, Career and Technology Education Coordinator, gave a power point presentation about the CTE program growth and goals.
- ~Budget Update Earl Husfeld, CFO, reported the 2017-2018 budget development process is progressing on schedule. He explained the budget projections/assumptions to date and the preliminary summary of finance calculations.
- ~2015 Bond Update Earl Husfeld, CFO, and Buford Thompson Construction, updated the board on Walsh Elementary and the scheduled completion.

President Jay Stringer introduced Action Items:

A motion was made by Bobby J Rigues, seconded by Dr. David Tillman, to approve the additional Daniel Ninth Grade Campus parking lot lights as presented by administration.

Motion was:

6 FOR

0 AGAINST

A motion was made by Forrest Collins, seconded by Jennifer Loftin, to approve the summer maintenance projects as presented by administration.

Motion was:

6 FOR

0 AGAINST

A motion was made by Dr. David Tillman, seconded by Julie Turner, to approve FFA (LOCAL) – Student Welfare Wellness and Health Services as presented by administration.

Motion was:

6 FOR

0 AGAINST

At 9:40 p.m., the Board was called to executive session by President Jay Stringer, after citing Texas Government Code Section 551.074 Personnel, Director of Communications, Texas Government Code Section 551.076, Real Property, and Texas Government Code 551.076 – Safety & Security – Safety Audit Report.

The meeting was declared in open session by President Jay Stringer, at 11:18 p.m. with no action taken.

A motion was made by Dr. David Tillman, seconded by Jennifer Loftin, to approve Rick Herrin as Director of Communications as presented by administration.

Motion was:

FOR

5

1 AGAINST (Bobby J Rigues)

Trustee Comments/Acknowledgments – Great CTE presentation.

President Jay Stringer adjourned the meeting at 11:19 p.m.

SECRETARY	PRESIDENT		
	APPROVED	, 2017.	