Board of School Trustees Hillsboro, Texas

1810 - Minutes of the Regular Board Meeting April 8, 2019

The Board met in a Regular Board Meeting, April 8, 2019 beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the Hillsboro ISD Administration Office Board Room, 121 East Franklin Street, Hillsboro, Texas 76645.

Members present: Chris Teague, President

John Sawyer, Secretary

Earl Bibles

Gerardo Carbajal Stephanie Johnson

Members absent: Lupe Mancha, Vice-President

Amanda Scarborough

In attendance were: Superintendent Vicki Adams, Joe Adams, Sheila Bowman, Angela Boyd, Paula Cox, Cindy Darden, Kyle Davis, Tabatha Davis, Robert Flores, Shelia Flores, Brian Forns, Jordan Forns, Donald Gordon, Steve Hale, Keith Hannah, Jenna Hayes, Jesse Hayes, Jo Hayes, Becky Montgomery, Raymond Nors, Tiffanye Oliver, Robin Ralston, Barbara Robinson, Monserrat Serrano, Dale Snyder, Alejandra Soria, Jamie Stepp, Stephanie Tucker and Dustin McDonald from The Reporter.

Chris Teague, Board President, called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. with a quorum present.

The invocation and pledge were delivered by John Sawyer.

Student recognition – girl's powerlifting

Lupe Mancha arrived at 6:04

Public Comments – none

Correspondence to the board – none

15530 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Stephanie Johnson to approve the consent agenda with no changes.

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

Chris Teague reported that all board members met all continuing education credit requirements.

- Tier I Educational Code Orientation/Update
 - o Not required non-legislative session year

- Tier II Team Building
 - o All board members met this requirement on January 5, 2019
- Tier III Continuing Education
 - o Earl Bibles, 10 hours met requirement
 - o Gerardo Carbajal 15 hours exceeded requirement
 - Stephanie Johnson 8 hours exceeded requirement
 - Lupe Mancha 8 hours exceeded requirement
 - John Sawyer 8 hours exceeded requirement
 - o Amanda Scarborough 8 hours exceeded requirement
 - Chris Teague 8 hours exceeded requirement
- Tier IV Student Achievement
 - o All board members met this requirement on June 6, 2018

15531 – Motion by Gerardo Carbajal, seconded by John Sawyer to approve the ELAR Instructional Material Adoption of Houghton Mifflin for grades K-8.

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

Reports to the Board

Director and Principal reports were given to the board in the packet. Angela Boyd reported to the board that the 4th & 7th Grade Writing STAAR answer documents had more answer lines than the actual number of questions on the test. This might be very confusing to already stressed students.

Superintendent's Report

- Facilities
 - o Facility Committee Meeting, April 23rd, HES, 6:00 p.m.
- April is Autism Awareness Month
- Hill College Boots & Suits, April 26th
- Hillsboro Eagles Spring Relays, May 3rd
- Hillsboro ISD intends to apply for federal funds

Amanda Scarborough arrived at 6:17.

President Teague announced the Board will now recess this open session and convene in a closed meeting to discuss the following item(s) listed on our agenda this evening as allowed by the Texas Government Code (and/or the Texas Education Code):

Agenda Item #13 as permitted by Gov't Code §551.074 – Personnel Matters Agenda Item #14 as permitted by Gov't Code §551.071 – Real Property

"No voting will take place in the closed meeting. Any action the board wishes to take as a result of discussion will take place in open session, 6:18 p.m."

President Teague announced the board has reconvened in open session, 7:27 p.m.

15532 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Lupe Mancha to approve the superintendent's recommendations on re-employing the following individuals for the 2019-2020 school year:

Daisy Abreu, Annette Abt, Deborah Adkins, Jeanette Avila, Kendra Bailey, Anne Bankes, Stephanie Barnes, Filipe Barragan, Jacob Baze, Alyssa Bedrick, Kenna Bettge, Kyle Bodeker, Kimberly Bogue, Melissa Brake, Margie Briggs, Melanie Bruckbauer, Debbie Butler, Kelsey Butler, Crystal Buxkemper, Kimberly Camp, Blanca Campos, Dodd Carmichael, Patricia Carmona, Randi Castillo, Michael Chirhart, Jan Cole, Cheryl Comer, Cristal Compean, Lance Cook, Shelby Cook, Teresa Corbisier, Victor Cortez, Cristina Covarrubias, Stephanie Craig, Laurie Creech, Terri Curry, Kyle Davis, Tabatha Davis, Gwendolyn Dupree, Sabrina Dyer, Devon Eller, Vicki Ellison, Jordan Estrada, Courtney Fahnders, Brad Faris, Kandy Faris, Jennifer Faulknor, Amy Feller, Aleshia Fleming, Tammy Fry, Yeheni Fuentes, Ralph Gawehn, Ada Gomez, Donna Green, Jamie Greenberg, Glenda Gregory, Rosalinda Grindstaff, Jennifer Grote, Molly Hale, Brittany Hamilton, Courtenay Hamilton, Pamela Hamilton, Amy Harris, Malissa Hawkins, Lena Hearin, Gerrie Henderson, Courtney Hewitt, Marilyn Hill, Mark Howell, Janissa Ivy, Schivonne John, Terra Jones, Hannah Kellar, Richard Kleine, Jennifer Kolar, Rebecca Lee, Terri Lee, Laurie Lewis, Serena Lewis, Donald Long, Kenneth Lopez, Lindsey Lopez, Carol Mabry, Taissa Mansfield, Cindy Markwardt, Dana Marshall, Gerardo Martinez, Christopher Mata, Kellie Mathis, Amanda McCreery, Robin Merkel, Melanie Mims, Kelli Moore, Rebecca Moore, Vanessa Morrison, Breanna Muscatell, Justin Myers, Damaris Nuuanu, Lacy Oldham, Elbayadira Orellana, Shae Owens, Ericka Parker, Carrie Patrick, Olivia Peasley, Amy Peavy, Marsha Phillips, Emily Pierce, Katie Pierce, Katherine Polley, Laura Popp, Larry Powell, Sharon Powell, Marion Ramos, Kanyka Reynolds, Stacy Ridder, John Robertson, Christine Robinson, Courtney Robinson, Linette Rogers, Amanda Rounsavall, Jordyn Russell, Taylor Sanders, Bryan Schneider, Lauren Schneider, Karen Schroeder, Mary Joe Schronk, Donovan Scott, Cassandra Sexton, Sarah Sides, Amanda Slaten, Lesleigh Smith, Breanne Snyder, Melisa Springfield, Stephanie Stephens, Joshua Stepp, Annette Straw, Rose Strona, Edward Sumrall, Jeremy Sweeney, Dawn Syverson, Ann Teel, Vicki Thompson, Tabetha Tucker, Kelli Tucker, Annette Underwood, Meagan Vaughn, Kate Versluis, Crystal Volcik, Breanna Watson, Kortlin White, Brittney Wilson, Eric Woods.

And also employing Brandi Cook, Ryan Cook, Ashley Currington, Nicholas De La Cerda, Lana Hale and Matthew Meador for the 2019-2020 school year.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:28 p.m.	
President	Secretary

7/0

Vote: Ave unanimous