## Regular Meeting May 14, 2019

The meeting was called to order by President Jason Bonner at 6:00 pm.

Members present were Jason Bonner, Dr. Kent Thigpen, Bobby Langbartels, Leah Cooper, and Kevin Godfrey. Ned Fratangelo and J.P. Abernathy were absent.

District personnel present were Rob Barnwell, Mike Wood, Dr. Tim Phy, Michael Walker, Lindsey Whitaker, Lynn Phillips, Kimberly McDonald, Barbra Cox, Terry Moore, Jay Patrick, Randy Penny, Meci Elder, Bernice Morrow, Jennifer Rich, and Stephanie Holman. Others present included Kelli Holden, Emily Rogers, Ezekiel Najera, Logan Bonner, Jacob Ray, Leslie McPhail, Jonathan Cakley, Patti Wallace, and several family members and friends of the retirees and students who were being recognized.

Ms. Cooper gave the invocation.

Mr. Bonner led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag.

Following the canvassing of the election data, Kevin Godfrey made a motion to declare the election results official, which placed Jason Bonner in Place 1, Dr. Kent Thigpen in Place 2, and Bobby Langbartels in Place 3 for three year terms. Motion was seconded by Ms. Cooper. Motion carried, 5-0.

Ms. Kimberly McDonald issued the Oath of Office to incumbents Jason Bonner (Place 1), Kent Thigpen (Place 2), and Bobby Langbartels (Place 3), as all were sworn in. (There was no action required for this agenda item.)

As a part of the reorganization of the Board Officers, Mr. Langbartels made a motion to allow for Mr. Jason Bonner to serve as Board President, Dr. Kent Thigpen as Vice-President, and Ms. Leah Cooper to serve as Secretary. Motion was seconded by Mr. Godfrey. Motion carried, 5-0.

Campus and Administrative reports were given at this time. Mr. Barnwell indicated the normal financial report was available for each board member within the agenda packets along with some other reports from specific campuses and the Special Services Dept. Several students were recognized for their recent accomplishments in high school fishing, welding competition, choir, and CTE class-related competitions. The retirees were introduced and presented a plaque of appreciation for their service to JISD. (A reception was also held for these retirees prior to the board meeting.) Employee candidates were introduced. Patti Wallace updated the Board on the recent sale of tax delinquent properties and indicated the next sale would be in August.

There was no one present related to the Public Comment agenda item.

Ms. Cooper made a motion to approve the MCAD budget, as presented. Motion was duly seconded by Mr. Godfrey. Motion carried, 4-0, with Mr. Bonner abstaining.

Ms. Cooper made a motion to approve the Consent agenda, which included previous minutes and budget amendments. Motion was duly seconded by Mr. Langbartels. Motion carried, 5-0.

Motion by Dr. Thigpen, duly seconded by Mr. Godfrey, to approve the gas/diesel bid from Pete McCarty Oil to serve our needs related to fuel. Motion carried, 5-0.

Motion by Ms. Cooper, seconded by Dr. Thigpen, to approve a bus driver pay scale to be implemented, beginning with next school year, which will pay JISD bus drivers more per hour. Motion was seconded by Mr. Godfrey. Motion carried, 5-0.

The Board convened into executive session at 7:00 pm to discuss personnel and security measures. The Board reconvened back into open session at 7:48 pm.

Mr. Barnwell asked that the minutes reflect the previous acceptance of resignations from Mark Allen, Katherine Young, Jennifer Hoskins, Tommy Lee Johnson, Jeremy Gressman, and Chearl Dickerson.

Mr. Barnwell recommended the Board offer employment (10 month-probationary) contracts to the following people:

Kelli Holden, Emily Rogers, Leslie McPhail, Kellie Thompson and Jennie Gross (part time). Mr. Langbartels made a motion to approve the personnel needs, as presented. Dr. Thigpen seconded the motion. Motion carried, 5-0.

| Due to no other business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:49 p.m. |                       |
|--|-----------------------|
| ,  |                       |
|  |                       |
|  |                       |
|  |                       |
|  |                       |
| President's Signature  | Secretary's Signature |