Committee of the Whole

February 4, 2020 6:30p.m. Derby Middle School 73 Chatfield Street

Attendance Taken at 6:35 PM:

Present Board Members:

Mr. Jim Gildea

Mrs. Laura Harris

Mrs. Janine Netto

Mrs. Tara Hyder

Mr. George Kurtyka

Mr. Dan Foley

Ms. Melissa Cannatta

Others Present:

Dr. Matthew Conway

- I. Call to Order
- I.a. Opening Ceremonies
- I.b. Roll Call
- I.c. Additions/Deletions to the agenda

II. Public Participation

Discussion:

No one was present from the public.

III. Staff Recognition

Dr. Conway recognized Indoor Track Coach Nick Diluggo who was recognized at the CT CHSCA High School Coach of the Year for Indoor Track. State Senator George Logan and State Representatives: Kara Rochelle, Themis Klarides and Nicole Klarides Ditra presented Nick Diluggo with a Proclamation.

IV. Student Representative to the Board of Education

Kaitlyn Gerkens provided her student representative report on things happening in DHS.

V. Administrator's Reports

James Nichols and Stacey McCoart gave the Special Education Report.

VI. Athletic Hall of Fame

Mike Cannici from the Derby High School Hall of Fame Committee gave an overview of how the committee works. Jim Gildea asked if the Committee had by-laws. Mike Cannici indicated they did. Mike Cannici was also asked if voting was made public similar to most Hall of Fame votes & results, Mike said they were not. Jim Gildea thanked Mike and the entire committee for all their hard work and effort.

VII. Climate Surveys

Mario Cicarrini and Mark Russo presented the Bradley School Climate Survey results.

Aimee Missett, Jackie Nathan, Candy Lebel and Heather Dokla presented the Irving School Climate Survey results.

Rachael Caggiano and Tracey Quartiano presented the Derby Middle School Climate Survey results.

Marty Pascale presented the Derby High School Climate Survey results.

Alison Conway and Shelley Sheridan presented the Little Raider University Climate Survey results.

Martin Pascale gave the Athletic Directors report as Matt Bradshaw had a conflicting event.

VIII. Overnight Trip

Motion - motion made to accept by Mrs. Janine Netto and second by Mr. George Kurtyka. Motion carried

IX. Executive Session

Motion - motion made by Mrs. Janine Netto and second by Mr. Dan Foley. Motion carried. Jim Gildea left the meeting at 9:35

X. Appointment of New Hires/Vacancy List

XI. Resignation

XII. Adjourn

A motion was made by Mrs. Janine Netto and second by Mr. George Kurtyka to adjourn at 10:05. Motion carried

Minutes are subject to approval at the next Board meeting.

Lynnette Esposito Recording Secretary