Minutes of Special Meeting The Board of Trustees

Uvalde Consolidated Independent School District

The Board of Trustees met to conduct the Special Meeting on June 10, 2024 at 6:00 pm at the John H. Harrell Auditorium, 1 Coyote Trail, Uvalde, TX 78801

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Cal Lambert at 6:00 pm.

A. A roll call and establishment of quorum.

Members present: Cal Lambert, Laura Perez, Javier Flores, Jaclyn Gonzales, Jesse Rizo, JJ Suarez (virtually)

Staff present: Ashley Chohlis (virtually), Pam Bendele, Zeke De La Fuente, Norma Carranza, Cash Keith, Niki Henderson, Jennifer Griffin, Mario Rangel, David Zamora, Mikka Sanchez, Pedro Huizar, Amy Graeber, Bryan Perez, Randall Harris, Victor Baron

Guests present: Mickey Gerdes, Simon Ortiz, Alfredo Hernandez, Priscilla Rodriguez, Edward Trevion, Norma Robles, Dina Suarez, Lalo Castillo, Alvaro Cervantes, Graciela Cervantes, David Beinke, Mellie Nava, Bianca Perez, Tim Miller, Emilia Amy Marin, Hector Gonzales, Carlos Lopez, Ernest Santos, P Deleon, Donna Connell, Fernando Fernandez, Trey Fernandez, Jill Saucier, Russell Becker, Ricardo Almaras, Ana Rodriguez, Jennieka Rodriguez, Kathleen Rambie, Rosemberg Risa, Melissa Medrano, Nicole Ogburn, Martha Lara, Robert Lara, Jeanette Martinez, Katie Hughes, Paul Flores, Manuel Rizo, James Albarado

Media present: Sofi Zeman (ULN), Michael Robinson (Uvalde Hesperian)

B. Moment of Silence

There was a moment of silence for 21 seconds to honor our 21 beautiful souls.

- C. Invocation was led by Kathleen Rambie
- D. The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flags of the United States of America and the State of Texas was led by Javier Flores

2. Open Forum

The following spoke in open forum:

- 1. Simon Ortiz East Zone Trustee Status
- 2. David Beinke Budget/Leadership
- 3. Ana Rodriguez- Board member issue
- 4. Nicole Ogburn School Board Member Laura Perez
- 5. Ricardo Almaras School Board Member Laura Perez
- 3. Item of information regarding Public Notice for intent to apply for ESSA Federal Grant. Bryan Perez shared the following information:

The Texas Education Agency requires a public meeting be held for the purpose of providing information on the consolidated application and participation of the Federal Grant, Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) and to get valued public input and comments regarding content and services for the 2022-2023 school year.

We will post a Thought Exchange on the district's website from June 11, 2024 until June 25, 2024 for people to provide input and comment on aspects of the ESSA programs including student supports, staffing and professional development.

4. Item of information regarding the 2024-2025 Budget. Pam Bendele presented information regarding the 2024-2025 budget.

A closed session was held under Provisions of Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, Sections 551.071 to seek attorney consultation at 7:04pm

The board reconvened at 8:09 pm.

- 5. Discuss and consider approval of applicants for the East Zone. Jaclyn Gonzales made a motion to approve Laura Perez as the sole applicant for the East Zone and was seconded by Jesse Rizo. The motion was carried unanimously with Laura Perez abstaining.
- 6. Interview applicants interested in serving on the School Board of Trustees to fill the East Zone unexpired term to expire in May 2026.

No action.	
7. Adjournment The motion was made by Laura Perez and secon	ded by Javier Flores to adjourn the meeting.
The meeting adjourned at 8:22 pm.	
Board Secretary	Date