

MEETING DATE: September 21, 2021

AGENDA ITEM: Consider Approval/Appointment of District School Health Advisory Council (SHAC)

PRESENTER: Scott Kessel, Executive Director of Student Services

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

- Per section 28.004 of the Texas Education Code, "The board of trustees of each school district shall establish a local school health advisory council to assist the district in ensuring that local community values are reflected in the district's health education instruction."
- Also, per section 28.004 of the Texas Education Code, "The board of trustees shall appoint at least five members to the local school health advisory council. A majority of the members must be persons who are parents of students enrolled in the district and who are not employed by the district."

ADMINISTRATIVE CONSIDERATIONS:

The proposed SHAC membership includes 23 parents who are not employed by the district, 13 staff, and 4 students

FISCAL NOTE:

None

ADMINISTRATIVE RECOMMENDATION: Administration recommends the approval and appointment of the School Health Advisory Council membership as presented on the following page

Aledo ISD School Health Advisory Council

2021-2022

VOTING MEMBERS			
Aledo High School			
Jenni Meador	Staff (Y2)	Khala Hart LeeAnna Parsons Katherine Zama Mbuh	Parent (Y2) Parent (Y1) Parent (Y1)
Taylor Sehnam	Student – Junior (Y1)	Leslie Gonzalez	Student – Senior (Y2)
Tatum Fox	Student – Junior (Y1)	Emely Rodriguez	Student – Senior (Y2)
Aledo Learning Center			
Karl Richter	Staff (Y1)		
Daniel 9th Grade Cam			
Wendy Petersen	Staff (Y1)	Kristen Robbins	Parent (Y1)
<u>Aledo Middle School</u>			
Mandy Musselwhite	Staff (Y2)	Carolyn Rekerdres Ashley Ihle	Parent (Y1) Parent (Y1)
McAnally Intermediate	<u>e School</u>		
Leigh Ann Posey	Staff (Y1)	Elizabeth Garcia	Parent (Y1)
Annetta Elementary So	chool		
Cassie Pope	Staff (Y1)	Emery Harbuck Tiffany McBride	Parent (Y1) Parent (Y1)
Coder Elementary Sch	lool		
Steve Gartrell	Staff (Y1)	Dawn Wright Samuel Stevens	Parent (Y2) Parent (Y2)
McCall Elementary Sch	nool		
Sue Spreier	Staff (Y2)	Adaobi Moemenam Allie Marshall	Parent (Y1) Parent (Y1)
Stuard Elementary School			
Emily Mooney	Staff (Y1)	Claire Hollek Allison Huxel	Parent (Y1) Parent (Y1)
Vandagriff Elementary School			
Pam Jones	Staff (Y1)	Brenda Liniger Jon Mayes	Parent (Y2) Parent (Y2)
Walsh Elementary School			
Romeo Morales	Staff (Y2)	Jeffrey Wade Linda Evans	Parent (Y1) Parent (Y1)
At-Large Representatives			
Debbie Henrietta	Lead Nurse	Dr. Jenica Rose-Stine	CCPN Pediatrician
Sheila Lashley	AISD Intervention Counselor	Matt Lantz	Christ Chapel West
Sheha Lasilley		Jocelyn Karbo	ESC Region 11
		Nicole Smith	Cook Children's