Arkansas Governor's School Site Selection 2025-2027

The <u>Rules Governing Arkansas Governor's School (AGS) Site Selection</u> were utilized to guide the process for determining the host site for AGS 2025-2027.

A list of potential site selection committee members meeting requirements from rules and representing all portions of the state was approved by Secretary Jacob Oliva. Invitations were extended to ensure that all required representation would be present on the committee. A seven member site selection committee included school administrators, teachers and/or coordinators of gifted programs, members of the Governor's Advisory Council, higher education personnel, personnel from education service cooperatives, and parents/community representatives, in accordance with requirements from 13.07 of Rules Governing AGS Site Selection. The following served as members of the AGS 2025-2027 Site Selection Committee:

- Valerie King, Siloam Springs School District, Director of Academic Support, Director of Gifted Programs; Arkansas Association of Gifted Education Administrators, President
- Summer Williams, Sheridan School District, Gifted and Talented/Advanced Placement Coordinator
- Robyn Dawson, Governor's Advisory Council for the Education of Gifted and Talented Children; University of Arkansas at Fort Smith, Education Renewal Zone Director
- Jill Clogston, Arkansas State University, Education Renewal Zone Director, Advanced Placement Summer Institute Director
- Melissa Starkey, Central Baptist College, Associate Professor of Education
- Dana Ray, DeQueen Mena Educational Service Cooperative, Teacher Center Coordinator
- Tim Smithey, Arkansas Arts Academy, Teacher; Arkansans for Gifted and Talented Education, President

Presidents and Chancellors of all four year colleges and universities were sent letters in January of 2024, inviting them to submit an application to host Arkansas Governor's School 2025-2027.

One university submitted an application: Arkansas Tech University. After consulting with the university regarding availability, a site visit was scheduled for September 13, 2024.

The site selection committee met for a brief online orientation to review the Rules Governing Arkansas Governor's School Site Selection and discuss logistics for the visits. The committee elected Summer Williams to serve as their chair and Jill Clogston to serve as co-chair.

The site selection committee reviewed the full application and made a site visit to ATU. Committee members utilized an evaluation form to make notes and score the areas listed in 13.08 of the Rules Governing Arkansas Governor's School Site Selection (proposed program director; dates campus is available for use; curriculum; minimum of part-time office operations; staff development activities; food services; library; dormitories; classrooms, labs, studios, theater, etc.; recreational facilities; maintenance and security; health services; and student rules of conduct).

At the end of the visit, committee members were given a private space to discuss their observations without university personnel present. Each committee member voted for their recommendation, in accordance with 13.09 of Rules Governing AGS Site Selection. Ballots were collected, and the committee's unanimous recommendation was for Arkansas Tech University as the host site for AGS 2025-2027.