ALEDO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES REGULAR MEETING December 15, 2016

MINUTES

BOARD MEETING

The Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Aledo Independent School District was held on Thursday, December 15, 2016, beginning at 7:00 P.M. in the Aledo I.S.D. Board Room with the following members present: President Jay Stringer, Vice President David Davis, Secretary Hoyt Harris, Bobby J Rigues, Jennifer Loftin, Dr. David Tillman, and Forrest Collins.

AGENDA

President Jay Stringer called the meeting to order at 7:08 P.M.

President Jay Stringer determined a quorum was present at this time.

Jason Beaty, Principal of McCall Elementary, and student council students, led everyone in the pledges of allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags.

A moment of silent prayer or reflection was observed.

A video was shown with McCall activities.

Dr. Derek Citty, Superintendent, announced district events including the State football championship game, holiday break December 21 through January 3, January 16 is Martin Luther King Holiday for students and staff, Bearcat Academy on January 19, Board workshop on January 23 at 6:00 P.M. and the regular Board meeting on January 23 at 7:00 P.M. Dr. Citty announced the Board of Trustees Election timeline dates and reported on his meeting with Commissioner Mike Morath.

Lynn McKinney, Deputy Superintendent, and Dr. David Tillman recognized the UIL Cross Country State Qualifiers and the THSCA Academic All-State students. PTO Officers presented a check to the District for \$80,000 from this year's fundraiser and the Aledo Education Foundation presented the District a check for \$181,000 for teacher grants this year.

Jay Stringer, President, announced the annual board training:

It is a basic obligation and expectation of a sitting Board member to complete the required Board training each year. This information will be reflected in the Board minutes as Tier One, Tier Two, and Tier Three training and will be made available to the public.

In accordance with State Board of Education rules, each new Board member will receive Tier One training, which includes a local District orientation and a basic orientation regarding the Texas Education Code and relevant legal obligations. All sitting Board members will receive updates regarding the Texas Education Code after each session of the Texas Legislature, including each regular session and called session related to education.

Tier One Training (Post Legislative Training and First Year Board Members)

2016 was not a legislative meeting year therefore no Tier One training was required. Forrest Collins, first year board member, completed his Tier One Training.

In accordance with State Board of Education rules, the Board and the Superintendent team met on October 4, 2016 and participated and completed the Team of Eight Training.

All board members received the mandated 3 hours of Tier Two training requirements.

Tier Three (Discretionary Continuing Education)

The following Board members have completed the required number of Tier Three continuing education hours for the year: Jay Stringer, Jennifer Loftin, Hoyt Harris, Forrest Collins, Bobby J Rigues, David Davis, & Dr. David Tillman.

The following Board members have exceeded the required number of Tier Three continuing education hours for the year: Jay Stringer, Forrest Collins, Hoyt Harris, Jennifer Loftin, David Davis, Dr. David Tillman, and Bobby J Rigues.

Trustees, thank you for your dedication and time commitments in completing the required training for 2016.

President Stringer also discussed upcoming board training in Corpus Christi and suggested that Trustees go to the Summer Leadership Institute in Fort Worth this year for budgetary reasons.

Dr. David Tillman reported that Community Partners sent out the Fall newsletter, made a donation to the Education Foundation and they are looking forward to the Spring.

Jennifer Loftin gave the Education Foundation report and thanked all for their hard work with teacher grants totaling \$181,000 this year. She also thanked Donna Roe for working on the cow bells given out at the football games.

Bobby J Rigues reported to Trustees that the 85th Legislature will begin on January 10 and the main topics will include school of choice and school funding.

President Jay Stringer opened the floor for Public Comment. The following spoke about the elementary attendance zone boundary: Nick Johnson, Kathryn Carter, Lindsey Edwards, Robert & Holly Gustavson, Adam Kern, Rebecca Deatherage, Jason Breisch, Paul Swift, Pres McGee, Kelley Arnold, Rebecca Smith, Dagoverto Rodriguez, Nicole Reilley, Thao Tran, Frank Urquidez, Ben Harris, Douglas Case, Deborah Harris, Wes Miller, Daniel Tremper, and Jeff Waychesin. Michelle Grubbs spoke about cheerleading.

A motion was made by David Davis, seconded by Bobby Rigues to approve the minutes from board meetings on November 7, 9, 14, 28, 2016, the monthly financial report, the UT Tyler Innovation Academy Charter School, the Fire Alarm System Inspection / Maintenance agreement, and the McCall STUCO overnight field trip request as presented by administration.

Motion was:

- 7 FOR
- 0 AGAINST

President Jay Stringer introduced the Administrative Reports:

- ~ 2015 Bond Update Earl Husfeld, CFO, and Buford-Thompson Construction gave a construction update on elementary no. 5.
- ~2008 Bond Update Earl Husfeld, CFO, reviewed the expenditures approved to be made from available 2008 bond funds over the past several years.
- ~School FIRST Report Earl Husfeld, CFO, reported that Aledo ISD received the highest school FIRST rating of A Superior for 2016.

President Jay Stringer introduced Action Items:

A motion was made by Jennifer Loftin, seconded by Dr. David Tillman, to approve the Change Order for elementary #5 as presented by administration.

Motion was:

- FOR
- 0 AGAINST

A motion was made by David Davis, no second, to approve Elementary Attendance Zone Plan 10 as presented by administration. No vote was taken.

A motion was made by Jennifer Loftin, seconded by Jay Stringer, to postpone the approval of Plan 10 and continue working on the Elementary Attendance Zone Boundaries.

Motion was:

- 5 FOR
- 2 AGAINST (Forrest Collins and Hoyt Harris)

At 10:10 P.M., the Board was called to executive session by President Jay Stringer, after citing Texas Government Code Section 551.072 (Real Property), Location of elementary number 6.

The meeting was declared in open session by President Jay Stringer, at 10:17 P.M. with no action taken.

Trustee Comments/Acknowledgments – Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, didn't want to delay work but felt we needed more time, and thank you to Jay Stringer. Dr. Citty asked the Board to think philosophically on what you can live with in this decision because we need to move forward. He challenged them to find common ground and make a decision. Go Bearcats!

President Jay Stringer adjourned the meeting at 10:19 P.M.

SECRETARY_		PRESIDENT	
	APPROVED	, 2017.	