TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES FOUR O'CLOCK MEETING MINUTES DECEMBER 9, 2008

The Board of Trustees of the Tupelo Public School District reconvened in a regular meeting of the Board held in open session at 4:00 p.m. on Tuesday, December 9, 2008, at Tupelo High School, Performing Arts Center,4125 Cliff Gookin, Tupelo, Mississippi.

I. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by President Shawn Brevard who welcomed staff members and guests attending the meeting.

The following School Board members were present during roll call:

Members Present:	Mrs. Shawn Brevard
	Mr. Michael Clayborne
	Mrs. Amy Heyer
	Mr. John Nail
	Mr. Lee Tucker

Staff Present: Dr. Randy McCoy Dr. George Noflin Mrs. Diana Ezell Mr. David Meadows Mrs. Julie Hinds Mr. Jim Turner Mrs. Dale Warriner Mr. Bob Monroe Mrs. Kay Bishop Mrs. Jennifer Strunk Ms. Patrice Tate

II. RECOGNITONS

Members of the Superintendent Search Advisory Committee were recognized and presented with a "Golden Apple Award" in appreciation of their services during the Superintendent selection process.

Mrs. Brevard also thanked the Superintendent Network Communication Committee and the many TPSD staff members who assisted during the superintendent search process.

Additionally, Mrs. Brevard commended and thanked Dr. McCoy for his leadership and support during the year long superintendent search process

III. CONSIDER MATTER OF RECOMMENDING A NEW SUPERINTENDENT

Board President Shawn Brevard announced that after an extensive superintendent search process which began in December, 2007, when Dr. Randy McCoy announced his plan to retire at the end of the 2008-2009 school year, the Board was unanimously recommending that Dr. Randall R. Shaver be selected Superintendent of the Tupelo Public School District effective June 1, 2008. Dr. Shaver is currently superintendent of the Whiteville City Schools in Whiteville, North Carolina. Mrs. Brevard announced that Dr. Shaver served as a longtime English teacher and debate coach before entering administration.

Upon a motion by Mr. Nail, seconded by Mr. Clayborne, the Board voted unanimously to recommend Dr. Randall R. Shaver as superintendent of the Tupelo Public School District effective July 1, 2009, was made by Mr. John Nail and was seconded by Mr. Mike Clayborne and brought to a roll call vote as follows:

The President of the Board declared the motion passed.

Dr. Shaver signed his contract which was attested by Board President Shawn Brevard and Board Secretary Lee Tucker. A copy of Dr. Shaver's contract is marked EXHIBIT 1 and held in the Exhibit Book of this meeting date and incorporated herein.

Dr. Randy McCoy also welcomed Dr. Shaver to the school district and made comments regarding Dr. Shaver's qualifications.

Dr. Shaver was introduced to the crowd who welcomed him warmly. Dr. Shaver spoke a few minutes to the audience regarding achievement, excellence, expectation, and the necessity of continuing strong community involvement and support.

IV. ADJOUNRMENT

Following comments by Dr. Shaver, a motion was made by Mr. Clayborne and seconded by Mr. Nail to adjourn the meeting.

The motion carried and the President of the Board declared the motion passed and the meeting in adjournment at 4:35 p.m.

APPROVED:

ATTEST:

TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Shawn Brevard, President

Lee Tucker, Secretary