Minutes of the Special and Executive Session of March 4, 2010

Prescott Unified School District Governing Board

A Special Session of the Governing Board of Prescott Unified School District was held Thursday, March 4, 2010, beginning at 8:00 a.m. in the Board Room and Conference Room A located at the District Office, 146 South Granite Street, Prescott, Arizona.

Board Members Present:

President Joan Fleming
Dee Navarro
Steve Campbell
Tina Seeley
Andy Newton

Others Present:

Kevin Kapp, Superintendent Andrea Mayer, Adm. Asst. to the Governing Board Taylor Robbins, Student Representative

District Personnel and/or Members of the Public Present:

None

CALL TO ORDER

President Joan Fleming called the meeting to order at 8:12 p.m.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Mr. Taylor Robbins led the audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

President Fleming asked Mr. Kapp if the agenda was in order. Mr. Kapp responded that it was in order.

Mrs. Dee Navarro moved that the Governing Board approve the agenda as presented. Mr. Steve Campbell seconded the motion.

Dr. Andy Newton voted aye, Mrs. Tina Seeley voted aye, Mrs. Dee Navarro voted aye, Mr. Steve Campbell voted aye, and President Joan Fleming voted aye. The motion carried 5-0

OPEN SESSION

CONSIDER MOVING INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION

Mrs. Dee Navarro moved that the Governing Board move into Executive Session, which will not be open to the public, pursuant to A.R.S. 38-431.03.A.1 for the purpose of interviews with final candidates for the position of Superintendent of Prescott Unified School District. Mr. Steve Campbell seconded the motion.

Dr. Andy Newton voted aye, Mrs. Tina Seeley voted aye, Mrs. Dee Navarro voted aye, Mr. Steve Campbell voted aye, and President Joan Fleming voted aye. The motion carried 5-0.

The Board entered into executive session at 8:15 a.m. with the following people present:

President Joan Fleming
Andy Newton
Tina Seeley
Dee Navarro
Steve Campbell
Taylor Robbins

RECONVENE TO OPEN SESSION

The Governing Board reconvened to Open Session at 4:51p.m.

POSSIBLE ACTION ON FURTHER REDUCING THE NUMBER OF FINAL CANDIDATES FOR THE POSITION OF SUPERINTENDENT

Mrs. Dee Navarro moved that the following candidates move forward as final candidates for Friday: Karen Stinson and Dave Smucker. Mr. Steve Campbell seconded the motion.

Dr. Andy Newton voted aye, Mrs. Tina Seeley voted aye, Mrs. Dee Navarro voted aye, Mr. Steve Campbell voted aye, and President Joan Fleming voted aye. The motion carried 5-0.

ADJOURNMENT

Hearing no objection, President Fleming adjourned the meeting at 4:54 p.m.