BEMIDJI AREA SCHOOLS BEMIDJI, MINNESOTA

DATE: OCTOBER 16, 2017

TO: BOARD OF EDUCATION

FROM: KATHY PALM, DIRECTOR OF CURRICULUM & ADMIN. SERVICES

SUBJECT: APPROVAL OF 2017-2018 CHALLENGED RESOURCE COMMITTEE

In accordance with **SBR 400-30-4** regarding the **Review of Instructional Material and Alternative Education**, a committee must be established to review any challenged materials. The policy requires 12 members on the committee: one member of the Board of Education, one administrator who will serve as chairperson, three teachers from the level of the challenged resource, two high school students—one 10th grader and one 11th grader, four residents of the school district, and one media professional.

Chair Kathy VanWert has generated a list of candidates for the student and resident members who would bring diversity of thought and rational thinking to the committee. Consideration was also given to having gender balance on the committee. The individuals listed below have agreed to serve as committee members. The school board is asked to approve the committee to serve on the Challenged Resource Committee for 2017-2018:

Chairperson and Administrator:	Kathy VanWert, Paul Bunyan Elementary & EIC Principal	
Board of Education Member :	Ann LongVoelkner	
Media Professional:	Erin Curran, Bemidji High School	
Bemidji High School Teachers:	Gina Bernard, English teacher Julie Maus, Social Studies teacher	The teacher group is determined by
First City School	Michelle Luby, English teacher	the resource level
Bemidji Middle School:	Amy Skala, grade 6 Language Arts teacher Mary Jo Sorenson, grade 6 Social Studies teacher	
Elementary:	Teresa Kuleta, Paul Bunyan, grade K teacher Susan Richards, Northern grade 3 teacher	
Bemidji High School Students:	Heather Werlein, 10 th grade student Samantha Edlund, 11 th grade student	
School District Residents:	Sue Bruns Bob Smith Travis Greenwaldt Maureen Whelan	

ACTION:

The motion was offered by ______, seconded by ______, and carried (______) to accept the 2017-2018 Challenged Resources Committee members.