Minutes of Regular Meeting May 14, 2019 The Board of Education Unity School District

A Regular Meeting of the Board of Education of Unity School District was held Tuesday, May 14, 2019 beginning at 6:00 PM in the Board Room.

1. 5:30 p.m. Call to Order/Notice of Meeting/Roll Call

Members Present: Debbie Ince-Peterson, James Beistle, Kelly Kamish, Ryan Peterson, Sheryl Holmgren, Jeromy Cox

Admin. Team Present: Supt. Brandon Robinson

Members Absent: Pat Kastens

2. Approval of the Agenda

Motion to approve the agenda by James Beistle.

Second by Kelly Kamish.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

3. Consideration to Suspend Regular Session and Convene Closed Session for the Purpose of WI § 19.85 (1)(c) in considering employment, promotion, compensation, or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility.

Motion to convene into closed session by Sheryl Holmgren.

Second by Ryan Peterson.

a.Roll Call

Roll Call: Debbie Ince-Peterson (yes), Sheryl Holmgren(yes), Ryan Peterson (yes), Kelly Kamish (yes), James Beistle (yes), Jeromy Cox (yes)

b. Approval of Closed Minutes April 9, 2019

c. Personnel § 19.85 (1)(c) for the purpose of holding a statutory private conference pursuant to Wis. Stats. s. 118.22(3) for a professional staff member facing prospective contract non-renewal for budgetary reasons. Following that private conference, the Board will remain in closed session under Wis. Stats. s. 19.85 (1)(a) for the purpose of deliberations in determining whether to effect the contract non-renewal of personnel.

- d. Consideration of Notice of Final Non-Renewal of Certified Staff
- e. Adjourn Closed Session
- f. Convene Regular Session
- 4. Possible Action on Recommendation(s) from Closed Session
- 5. 6:15PM Board will travel to Unity ADP Center/CESA Headstart
- 6. 6:30PM ADP Graduation Unity ADP Center/CESA Headstart
- 7. 7:00PM Remaining Closed Session Items If Applicable

a. Action taken to update the compensation plan for District certified staff.

Motion to approve the compensation plan for District certified staff by Sheryl Holmgren. Second by Ryan Peterson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

b. The Board issued some final notices of non-renewal for certified staff members for licensure reasons. The Board is withholding the names of the recipients until they are notified.

- 8. **7:30PM** (Approx.) Citizens' Requests to Speak/Address the Board (Germane to Agenda Item) None
- 9. Reorganization
 - a. Election of Officers

President: A unanimous Sheryl Holmgren/Ryan Peterson motion approved for Debbie Ince-Peterson as the Board President.

1st Vice President: A unanimous Sheryl Holmgren/Ryan Peterson motion approved for James Beistle as the Board 1st Vice-President.

2nd Vice President: A unanimous Sheryl Holmgren/Ryan Peterson motion approved for Kelly Kamish as the Board 2nd Vice-President.

Treasurer: A unanimous Sheryl Holmgren/Ryan Peterson motion approved for Ryan Peterson as the Board Treasurer.

Clerk: A unanimous Sheryl Holmgren/Ryan Peterson motion approved for Pat Kastens as the Board Clerk.

b. Board Committee Appointments

No changes to the current Board Committee Appointments.

- c. Representative Appointments to School Standing Committees No changes to the current School Standing Committees.
- d. Election to Board Member to CESA Board of Control

A unanimous Sheryl Holmgren/Ryan Peterson motion approved for James Besitle as the CESA Board of Control delegate.

e. Appoint WASB Delegate and Alternate

A unanimous Sheryl Holmgren/Ryan Peterson motion approved for James Beistle to be appointed as WASB delegate and Pat Kastens to be appointed as WASB alternate delegate.

f. Appoint Recording Secretary for 2019-2020

A unanimous James Beistle/Ryan Peterson motion approved for Amanda Warner as the Board Recording Secretary.

- 10. Student Representative Introduction Elementary and Middle School State DI Team
- 11. Board of Education Member Update
- 12. Information
 - a. CESA Report

James Beistle presented. April 12th meeting was a discussion on shared services.

- b. Standing Committee Meeting Reports
 - 1) PSDC Ms. Sheryl Holmgren
 - 2) Curriculum Meeting Ms. Elizabeth Jorgensen
- c. Curriculum Report Ms. Elizabeth Jorgensen
 - 1) School Counseling Board Report
 - 2) Native American Studies Board Report
- d. District Administrator's Report Mr. Brandon Robinson

13. Consent Agenda

a. Approval of Minutes, April 9, 2019

Motion to Approve the April 9, 2019 Minutes by Ryan Peterson.

Second by Sheryl Holmgren.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

b. Approval of Vouchers

Motion to Approve the April 2019 Vouchers by James Beistle.

Second by Kelly Kamish.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote. (Ryan Peterson Abstained.)

c. Approval of Elementary/Middle School/High School Activity Accounts Motion to Approve the April 2019 Activity Accounts by Kelly Kamish. Second by Ryan Peterson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

d. Financial & Budget Report – Ms. Kara Holden/Mr. Brandon Robinson
Motion to Receive the April 2019 Financial & Budget Report by Sheryl Holmgren.
Second by James Beistle.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

e. Personnel

1) Consideration and Approval of the Resignation of Brittany Johnson, High School Science Teacher

2) Consideration and Approval of the Resignation of Calyn Johnson, High School Counselor

3) Consideration and Approval of the Resignation of Nicholas Johnson, High School Special Education Teacher

4) Consideration and Approval of the Resignation of Jacob Kobberdahl, High School Band Teacher

Motion to approve the Personnel items 13.e.1 – 13.e.4 by James Beistle. Second by Ryan Peterson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

5) Consideration and Approval of the Hire of Maureen Molina, Speech Pathologist Motion to approve Personnel item 13.e.5 by James Beistle. Second by Sheryl Holmgren.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

14. Action Agenda

a. Consideration and Approval of Student Accident Insurance – Ms. Kara Holden

Motion to approve the 2019-2020 Student Accident Insurance by Kelly Kamish. Second by Sheryl Holmgren.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

b. Consideration and Approval of Unity Childcare Center Construction, Financing, and Program

– Mr. Brandon Robinson

Motion to approve the development and administration of programming for Unity Childcare Center, with construction costs not to exceed \$950,000 by James Beistle. Second by Ryan Peterson.

Roll Call: Debbie Ince-Peterson (yes), Sheryl Holmgren(yes), Ryan Peterson (yes), Kelly Kamish (yes), James Beistle (yes)

15. Adjourn

Motion to adjourn by James Beistle.

Second by Ryan Peterson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote by 8:03 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Pat Kastens, School Board Clerk