Board of School Trustees Hillsboro, Texas

## **1813 -** Minutes of the Regular Board Meeting August 12, 2019

The Board met in a Regular Board Meeting, August 12, 2019 beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the Hillsboro ISD Administration Office Board Room, 121 East Franklin Street, Hillsboro, Texas 76645.

Members present: Chris Teague, President

Gerardo Carbajal Ronny Harris Stephanie Johnson Amanda Scarborough

Members absent: Lupe Mancha, Vice-President

John Sawyer, Secretary

In attendance were: Superintendent Vicki Adams, Sheila Bowman, Angela Boyd, Paula Cox, Cindy Darden, Donald Gordon, John Hall, Keith Hannah, Patrick Harvell, Jo Hayes, Wendy Jones, Raymond Nors, Robin Ralston, Barbara Robinson, Dale Snyder, Cami Steele, Michelle Steele, Stephanie Tucker and Dustin McDonald from The Reporter.

Chris Teague, Board President, called the meeting to order at 6:02 p.m. with a quorum present.

The invocation was delivered by Stephanie Tucker. The pledge was led by Chris Teague.

John Sawyer signed his statement of officer form and the oath of office was administered to him earlier in the month since he was unable to attend the June board meeting.

Public Comments – none

Correspondence to the board – none

**15544** – Motion by Amanda Scarborough, seconded by Gerardo Carbajal to approve the consent agenda with no changes.

Vote: Aye unanimous 5/0

**15544** – Motion by Amanda Scarborough, seconded by Stephanie Johnson to approve the HISD Student Code of Conduct for the 2019-2020 school year.

Vote: Aye unanimous 5/0

Campus student handbooks were reviewed.

Hillsboro ISD Employee Handbook was reviewed.

**15545** – Motion by Gerardo Carbajal, seconded by Amanda Scarborough to approve the Resolution Supporting the City of Hillsboro's Application to the Texas Department of Transportation's 2-19 Transportation Alternatives Set-Aside (TASA) / Safe Routes to School – Infrastructure (SRTS) Call for Projects.

Vote: Aye unanimous 5/0

Lupe Mancha arrived at 6:07

15546 – Motion by Stephanie Johnson, seconded by Amanda Scarborough to approve the 2019-

2020 school breakfast and lunch prices.

	Lunch Prices 2018-2019	Lunch Prices 2019-2020	% Change	2018-2019 Breakfast Prices	2019-2020 Breakfast Prices	% Changes
HHS	\$3.00	\$3.25	8.33%	\$1.50	\$1.50	0.00%
HJHS	\$3.00	\$3.25	8.33%	\$1.50	\$1.50	0.00%
HIS	\$2.75	\$2.75	0.00%	Free	Free	0.00%
HES	\$2.75	\$2.75	0.00%	Free	Free	0.00%
FES	Free	Free	0.00%	Free	Free	0.00%
Adults	\$3.75	\$3.75	0.00%	\$2.25	\$2.25	0.00%

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

**15547** – Motion by Gerardo Carbajal, seconded by Stephanie Johnson to approve school district meal charge policy.

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

**15548** – Motion by Gerardo Carbajal, seconded by Lupe Mancha to approve Business Supply Center's bid on office supplies for the 2019-2020 school year.

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

**15549** – Motion by Lupe Mancha, seconded by Gerardo Carbajal to approve Dixie LP-Gas's bid on petroleum products for the 2019-2020 school year.

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

**15550** – Motion by Amanda Scarborough, seconded by Lupe Mancha to approve the Resolution Extending Depository Contract for Funds of Independent School Districts Under Texas Education Code, Chapter 45, Subchapter G, School District Depositories.

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

**15551** – Motion by Amanda Scarborough, seconded by Stephanie Johnson to approve the purchase of a new 72 passenger school bus using 2019-2020 funds.

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

**15552** – Motion by Lupe Mancha, seconded by Gerardo Carbajal to approve the board adopt an order calling a bond election to be held by the Hillsboro Independent School District in the amount of \$29,840,000.

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

15553 – Motion by Gerardo Carbajal, seconded by Lupe Mancha to approve a Resolution Establishing the Intention of Hillsboro Independent School District to Reimburse Itself for the Prior Lawful Expenditure of Funds for Capital Items.

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

## Reports to the Board

Director and Principal reports were given to the board in the packet.

## **Superintendent's Report**

- Facilities
- TASA/TASB Convention, Austin, September 20-23
- August 29<sup>th</sup> special called public hearing for budget & tax rate, 6:30 p.m.
- All staff will receive ethics training regarding the bond election on the 15th

President Teague announced the Board will now recess this open session and convene in a closed meeting to discuss the following item(s) listed on our agenda this evening as allowed by the Texas Government Code (and/or the Texas Education Code):

Agenda Item #22 as permitted by Gov't Code §551.074 – Personnel Matters Agenda Item #23 as permitted by Gov't Code §551.071 – Real Property

"No voting will take place in the closed meeting. Any action the board wishes to take as a result of discussion will take place in open session, 6:47 p.m."

President Teague announced the board has reconvened in open session, 6:39 p.m.

Approved by the superintendent through the summer hiring process per board policy were; Kelly Andrews, Christin Birch, Tiffani Chatman, Jonathan Cofer, Lesley Corvin, Kyle Cummings, Marlyssa De La Cerda, Thomas Fulenwider, Mirna Gardea, Carla Garrett, Angela Giannini, Tara Gossett, William Harman, Melinda Innis, Robert Innis, Natasha King, Bradley Kralik, Marks Lanham, Alexander Page, Brittany Pullin, James Russell, Andrea Rydell, Gaila Sanders, and Catelynn Smith.

The meeting was adjourned at 7	:30p.m.
President	Secretary