BOARD OF TRUSTEES: ALEDO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

Resolution No. 10072024-3

RESOLUTION NOMINATING CANDIDATE(S) FOR THE PARKER COUNTY APPRAISAL DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS, PARKER COUNTY, TEXAS

Be it remembered that at a special meeting of the Aledo Independent School District Board of Trustees, a political subdivision of the State of Texas, held on the 7th day of October 2024, said meeting having been duly called in accordance with the laws of the State of Texas and the rules and regulations adopted by the Aledo Independent School District Board of Trustees, and a quorum having been present at said meeting, upon motion duly made and seconded, the following resolution was adopted, to wit:

WHEREAS, Section 6.03 of the Texas Property Tax Code provides that each taxing unit that is entitled to vote may nominate by resolution adopted by its governing body one (1) candidate for each position to be filled on the Board of Directors for the Parker County Appraisal District; and

WHEREAS, the Aledo Independent School District Board of Trustees, is a taxing unit that is entitled to vote for candidates for membership on the Parker County Appraisal District Board of Directors of Parker County, Texas and desires to make nomination as provided by Section 6.03 of the Texas Property Tax Code.

BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED, that the Aledo Independent School District Board of Trustees does hereby nominate the following as candidate(s) for membership on the Parker County Appraisal District Board of Directors:

Passed this 7th day of October, 2024.

Name: Forrest Collins Title: President, Board of Trustees

ATTEST:

Name: Jennifer Taylor Title: Secretary, Board of Trustees

PARKER COUNTY APPRAISAL DISTRICT

1108 SANTA FE DRIVE WEATHERFORD, TEXAS 76086 TELEPHONE: 817-596-0077 THANSON@PARKERCAD.ORG

September 18, 2024

TO: Superintendent- Dr. Susan Bohn

RE: Notice of Appraisal District Board of Directors Election - Five (5) Appointed Members

The appraisal district is governed by a board of nine directors. <u>Five directors are appointed by the taxing units</u> that participate in the district in the manner prescribed by Section 6.03. The Texas Property Tax Code requires the Chief Appraiser to conduct the selection process. The following steps outline the Chief Appraiser's duties in this regard:

Step 1: Before October 1	Notify each taxing unit entitled to participate in the selection process of the number of votes it may cast and request candidate nominations by resolution.
Step 2: Before October 15	Receive director nominations from each voting tax unit.
Step 3: Before October 30	Prepare and deliver a ballot listing all nominees in alphabetical order to the presiding officer of each voting unit.
Step 4: Before December 15	Taxing units shall determine its vote by resolution and submit to the Chief Appraiser.
Step 5: Before December 31	Count the votes, declare the candidates who receive the largest vote totals as elected, and submit the results to the taxing units and to the candidates.

To be eligible to serve on the board of directors, a person must be a resident of the appraisal district for the last two (2) years. An employee of a taxing unit participating in the appraisal district is prohibited from serving as a director unless the employee is also an elected official or member of the governing body of a taxing unit.

Each voting taxing unit may nominate one candidate for each position to be filled. There are five (5) seats to be filled for a term beginning January 1, 2025. Therefore, your taxing unit may nominate from one to five candidates. Nominations must be made in an open meeting and the presiding officer must submit the names of the nominees by written resolution to the Chief Appraiser before October 15. A sample resolution is enclosed.

The following persons currently serve as appointed members with a term expiring on December 31, 2024: Cody Lane | Jerry Durant | John Hinton | Richard Barret | Sterling Naron

Taxing Unit Voting Entitlement

Step 1: Before October 1, requires the Chief Appraiser to calculate and notify each eligible taxing unit of the number of votes it is entitled to cast by October 1.

TAXING UNIT	NUMBER OF VOTES
ALEDO ISD	930
AZLE ISD	285
BROCK ISD	225
GARNER ISD	30
GRANBURY ISD	20
LIPAN ISD	10
MILLSAP ISD	100
MINERAL WELLS ISD	5
PEASTER ISD	125
PERRIN-WHITT ISD	10
POOLVILLE ISD	45
SPRINGTOWN ISD	285
WEATHERFORD ISD	1040
CITY OF ALEDO	45
CITY OF AZLE	35
CITY OF FORT WORTH	55
CITY OF MILLSAP	0
CITY OF MINERAL WELLS	10
CITY OF RENO	15
CITY OF SANCTUARY	0
CITY OF SPRINGTOWN	30
CITY OF WEATHERFORD	255
CITY OF WILLOW PARK	55
PARKER COUNTY	1020
WEATHERFORD COLLEGE	370

Taxing Unit Candidate Nomination

Step 2: Before October 15, voting taxing units may nominate candidates by resolution before October 15.

Please return candidate nominations before October 15, 2024 by email to <u>thanson@parkercad.org</u>, or in person or by mail to our office. For any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Troy Hanson

Troy Hanson Chief Appraiser